We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Chinese food in the heart of LA's Chinatown”
Review of Yang Chow

Yang Chow
Ranked #129 of 11,900 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central L.A
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We came for dinner and had a tasty dinner. As mentioned by other reviewers, yes, the Slippery Shrimp was very tasty as was the other dishes we ordered (Three Musketeer Chow Mein and Bean Curd with Pork) except for the Sweet & Sour Chicken, in which the carrots in the dish was uncooked but the chicken itself was good. We liked the pics of celebrities and memorabilia they had as their wall decoration. If you go, you may want to get a reservation so you don't have to wait, especially on a Friday or Saturday night.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NoStopSigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

One of the most remarkable things about LA’s wonderful Chinatown neighborhood is the dearth of good Chinese restaurants. I’ve been to a number of them. Most of them I’ve walked out afterwards without taking home the leftovers.
Then, there’s Yang Chow. This place is really good. As someone who lives near Chinatown it’s my go-to for Chinese food.
I recommend the Szechuan Chicken, Slippery Shrimp, and green beans with pork, but there’s lots of goodness all over the extensive menu. It’s as delicious as take out as it is eating in.
So get your chopsticks ready!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Dani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

We have been there because of the good recommendations and have been disappointed. The lunch menus did not taste very well and the soup tasted like water.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Fritz1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

The waiters were unbothered and when you ask them something they just don't care much. But the food wasn't even that good, don't know why is this place famous for, just for being a old restaurant located in Chinatown? It is definitely not authentic Chinese food. For being a Asian I know what I talk about. Won't even bother to come back. A big disappointment.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank vivianQute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Probably one of the best Chinese restaurant in downtown LA. Service is very fast and the food is superb. Slippery shrimp and Eggplant minced chicken at superb.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Masked-Caper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yang Chow also viewed

 

Been to Yang Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing