We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
0
5
4
0
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
0
5
4
0
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2010

The Hollywood Studio Inn is brilliantly located. Positioned on Sunset Blvd., directly below the busiest stretch of Hollywood Blvd., it's a fifteen minute walk or less to the centre of things. And surrounded by shops, restaurants, cinemas and other hotels it's a bustling and safe area.

The rooms are basic but have everything you need and there's plenty of parking and the rates are great. Simple as that.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LDN_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

I stayed there from April 10-15, 2010. Even though I arrived late at night (thanks to flight delays), the front desk staff were there and very helpful. The room facilities were basic, but they were clean and they worked. There was no landline phone in my room, but there was free wifi. So if you're coming from overseas and not bringing your laptop (which you can use to communicate via email, Skype etc.) with you), you need to be prepared for that. But for such an amazingly low room cost, it's hardly something and not really something you can complain about. The walls are quite thin and I could hear normal activity in the room next to me, though it didn't give me any problem sleeping when I needed to sleep. Car parking was plentiful and secure. If you need them, there are strip malls where you can buy stuff to eat and drink within 2-3 blocks.

The Google map is a bit deceptive. The distance to the 'touristy' bits of Hollywood is a little bit further than it looks. It took me 17 minutes on foot to the Egyptian Theatre (on the corner of Hollywood and Las Palmas), and I'm a reasonably fast walker, used to travelling on foot within English cities. If you're visiting to see the tourist side of Hollywood and don't mind a bit of exercise, you can leave your car at the motel and explore on foot, but be prepared for a fair bit of walking. Unless you're a very slow walker, Hollywood and Vine subway station to this motel will take you no more than 25 minutes, and from there, a lot of other places in LA are available without needing to rent a car.

The only thing I was not impressed with was that on my last day, I asked if I could stay in my room for a couple of hours after the 1100 check-out deadline. My flight was late afternoon. No way, I was told - out by 11 or pay for another night. The impression I got was that there wasn't exactly an influx of new guests waiting to move in, and that this was pure inflexibility. But this is such a great location for the price that this is a very minor complaint.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bedbugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

What to say about this place, we stayed 3 nights, the same man was on duty every day, he was very miserable. The room was musty and the linen had cigarette burns on it, our tv had no controller, and although we asked we never received one.

Location wise, it was very good, and i would recommend looking around this area if you have a car during your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beligerent_ghoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

great location being only 2 blocks from hollywood boulevard and on pick up route for tour bus. 2 repairs reported and fixed quickly. friendly staff. only downside was no phone in room.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grimbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Rolling onto the Sunset strip at 11:00 pm was a bit overwhelming. Being on a budget its tough to pick a place that doesn't look a bit schetchy. This place had a parking area that was protected from the street somewhat, I think thats why we picked it. The fellow working the desk was strange, not friendly, but not offensive. The price was good so we took the room. The good sized room was clean except for some hair in the bath tub. It smelled a bit funny but we quickly got used to it. The comforters looked like they came from another era, but they were new, wierd! The steel grate on the window made me feel safe. There was a minifridge and a free porn channel. This place was fine for one night but no more than that. Great location though, walking distance to hollywood blvd.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
3  Thank Tactic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews