We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dixie Hollywood
Ranked #121 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Nothing like the website suggests. A lot of construction work going on which we were not warned about. Told that we were being upgraded to a better room as we were on honeymoon but the room appeared worse than the room where we stored our bags initially. I assume they haven't renovated all the rooms yet. No wardrobe or anywhere to hang clothes. Due to renovation they do not have a breakfast room and only a cup of coffee and a danish were put on as a result. When we asked the staff about travelling around LA and getting to the airport only the most expensive options were mentioned (I believe they get a commission for car rental and airport bus / taxi) we had to find alternatives on the net. Wifi is very slow in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room upstairs. Breakfast at Angel's diner was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 394 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

The Dixie was referred to me by another hotel in the area that could not accommodate my future in-laws and my entire “new family” for our wedding. I was a bit hesitant being this place USED to be a run down Days Inn. WOW!!! HAS THIS PLACE CHANGED (for the better)!
Matthew the manager was AMAZING!! Before my party arrived, he took me for a tour of the hotel, showed me numerous room styles and was more than helpful with everything from making sure the grandmothers were comfortable and I was at ease. The best part was the fact the hotel has been renovated and redone from top to bottom and looks like a clean smooth retro-chic boutique hotel you would find somewhere else. The fact it is riiiight across from a Ralph’s supermarket and the rooms come with a mini-fridge and microwave is an added convenience. See! You can have the comforts of home in a hotel. I highly recommend the Dixie and hope you have as wonderful experience as us.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank 4atravelscene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My room was great and I will definitely return. I usually stay in oricey downtown LA hotels a LOT so I have much to compare to the Dixie. First, my room was exactly as depicted in the first photo. It was welcoming, very comfortable and spacious, and very clean and comfortable. Staff is very friendly and the manager Israel is very commited to customers. Beds comfortable; bathroom had nice touches, modern accouterments. Neighborhool is fine during the day and pool looks very inviting. I am a psychologist staying there on business and no problems gettin work done and parking free and good restaurants nearby. IGNORE the less than 5 star reviews! If I had found any difficulties the manager would have immediately addressed them.

Room Tip: Just ask at front desk. Very accomodating staff. Photos dont even do the room justice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wendysaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid January and were just needing somewhere relatively close to where we would be visiting. Although on Hollywood Boulevarde it is not ideally located - we had a hire car so this was not a huge problem. The neighbourhood doesn't feel very safe and we didn't do a lot of walking around the area in the night as a result.
The rooms are large, clean and have all the necessary facilities, including a fridge and coffee maker. Although the rooms feel a little dated, they still do the job.
The included continental breakfast was quite disappointing - plastic bowls and cutlery, dry break, orange fizzy drink in place of juice, and standing room only. It was fine for a bowl of cereal and to be on your way, but most definitely not a highlight or a reason to book this hotel.
The staff were friendly and overall it was a fine stay, but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgnmng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

4 of us stayed in a double room, it was spacious enough and clean, but very noisey. The area wasnt great and eventhough its on Hollywood Boulevard dont be fooled. The area was quite dodgy and mainly thai/korean/chinese places. I would not walk around on the night. There are no restaurants or nice places to go to that are close by so driving is a must. However there is a diner next door that was quite busy in the morning and was very nice, we only went once due to it being too busy.
The free breakfast was quite good, enough to keep you going but gets busy, the pool seemed nice but we didnt go in and the staff will book taxis for you if you need to.
it is a 20 minute walk to the walk of fame, you go left out of your hotel and keep on walking, no signs to tell you this.

If your wanting to stay in a cheap and clean hotel that is not close to many things then this is the one as its friendly and clean but I would recommend staying closer to the attractions or not in the centre at all.

I would also recommend going on the movie stars homes and hollywood tour and also if your wanting to go out drinking around clubs go on the Hollywood club crawl tour which you can find on hostelworld.com its a bargain and the tour guides where amazing. very organised.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 29Kayleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#119 of 354 in Los Angeles
685 reviews
Hollywood
Villa Delle Stelle
Villa Delle Stelle
#110 of 354 in Los Angeles
199 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#88 of 354 in Los Angeles
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#145 of 354 in Los Angeles
439 reviews
Hollywood
Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dixie Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dixie Hollywood

Address: 5410 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-3406 (Formerly Days Inn Hollywood)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: €107 - €211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dixie Hollywood 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dixie Hollywood Hotel is located in the very heart of Hollywood California, a stone's throw from the Hollywood Walk of Fame. A tribute to sophistication and elegance, The Dixie Hollywood Hotel prides itself on its attentive service, guaranteed to make visitors feel at home. A stellar location puts the best of Hollywood's attractions, like the Hollywood Bowl, Universal Studios Hollywood, Greek Theatre and Griffith Park within easy reach by the use of the Metro Subway located directly next door to The Dixie Hollywood. Discover a vast range of boutique stores, Hollywood studios, and celebrity restaurants virtually blocks away from the doorsteps of The Dixie Hollywood. Relax at the pool in front of the world famous Hollywood murals with a refreshing lemonade and a book before heading out for the night. Perfect for families, couples and singles, every one of the Dixie Hollywood's 70 rooms and suites are decorated with a hand painted Hollywood themed mural, alpaca headboards, crisp, white high thread count triple-sheeted bed coverings, all accented with warm minimalist dark wood furniture and sparked with brushed stainless accents. A large flat screen TV along with ambient recessed lighting together create the perfect setting to enjoy a late night Hollywood flick in the comfort of your room. You'll discover The Dixie Hollywood to be a relaxing launchpad for all your adventures in Hollywood, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dixie Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dixie Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Days Inn
Days Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing