We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Party ”
Review of Manuela

Manuela
Ranked #303 of 11,912 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

How do you find a place in Los Angeles for 14 friends - not LOUD - great food, atmosphere, perfect service - Manuela hit all the points. For a group of this size they have a menu to chose from that meets everyone’s taste buds and dietary restrictions. Each guest received a small menu showing everything they were going to be served, family style, which included our dog - you can “sit outside” even though “outside” isn’t under the stars.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2018

Manuela is right next to Hauser & Wirth gallery inside the building and connects to the courtyard. It's really like one big square of shared space. The place looks expensive but is reasonably priced. Staff is extremely pleasant and charming . Service was fast and the food is good though it didn't wow me. It's more for fashionable dining so servings are just right but if you wanted a fuller meal, the bill can get pricey. It feels more like meals that go with a glass of wine and conversation. As with the gallery, parking is a problem although I suspect many of the people around the area patronize the place. A lot of old buildings have given way to high rises and condos much like what happened in New York. This is definitely not the downtown from a decade ago. Small, trendy, unique boutiques now pepper much of the surroundings.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leok647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

We had a team dinner here and the food was so delicious! We shared a variety of appetizers and market vegetable which were all incredible. The venison burger and peach salad was superb. Highly recommend taking a seat at this hidden gem. It’s located in an old warehouse and he open air feel was unexpected. Only downside is it is difficult to park and valet was $12 but it’s worth it.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank daynimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Manuela is located in the courtyard of the Hauser & Wirth gallery and it has an open, industrial vibe inside an old brick building. I had read that it was an organic restaurant but I didn't realize that their garden is on the other side of the complex. They don't get everything from here but they grow some of their own vegetables and herbs.
The restaurant is casual and rustic with art displayed throughout.
The food was delicious and nicely prepared. We all had different things and everyone was happy. The biscuits are incredible and it would be easy to eat a whole by oneself. The drinks looked fresh and festive. I think it's a great place for a meal whether you are exploring the arts district or going to theater or just want to check out what's new in the downtown dining scene.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tarin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

The restaurant is essentially located in a large interior courtyard surrounded by a huge art gallery. Half of the restaurant including half of the bar is located outside with a very high roof and the other half inside with an open kitchen. The menu contains a variety of food choices including venison and deer - everything organic but certainly not California vegetarian or vegan. I had the duck breast and my wife had yellowtail - both were delicious and good sized portions. The appetizers and sides were varied, ceviche, cornbread, salads, summer beans, fingerling potatoes and more. Well spiced, flavorful and delicious cornbread with jalapeño. Very friendly and knowledgable server. Mid-range + pricing but good value.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nypoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manuela also viewed

 
 

Been to Manuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing