We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spa didn't work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn of Long Beach
Ranked #7 of 11 Long Beach B&B and Inns
766buckeye_bob
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“spa didn't work”
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Wanted a place with outdoor spa. the manager told be to check out the spa a told me the location, which I did. He sent me back again to turn it on, the jets worked. The manager then gave us a room right next to the spa which had a sign that it was open to 11PM. My brother went to use the spa a couple minutes before 10PM, then came back and said it didn't work I verified and then call the front desk, the manage said it didn't work and said he wouldn't do anything about it. The manager seemed more interested in visiting the locals in the loby than helping guest. the room was in need of update, carpet shot and the cont breakfast was a joke .

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 766buckeye_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    12
    9
    13
    15
See reviews for
8
11
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2008

Walking distance to "everything", Pine St tourist area restaurants, Aquarium, Conv center, Ocean Dr, etc. The FREE LB city shuttle right across the st. Front desk staff and maids super nice. Appreciated the free internet wireless from my room. VONS across the street, OLD and dirty looking, bums hanging out in parking lot which has a guard. It's handy for bottled water, etc. They mentioned the breakfast no longer "upscale" which I didnt see anyway. Went across the st to "The Americana" restaurant, good food/prices. I would stay there again for the location and fair pricing.
Towels are thin/cheap, need better quality. Carpeting needs changed (old drab red) to look like the picture they have in their front window (bright clean green).

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PlanesTrainsRVs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County, CA
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2008

We found the motel to be clean, but not upscale. About like a Motel 6; but I thought it was friendlier and therefore more comfortable.
We were there for the AKC Eukanuba Dog Show and the dogs were welcomed.
The staff and management were very pleasant and went out of their way to be helpful. I felt quite safe in the neighborhood which was quite charming with several restaurants within walking distance. Around the corner, on the same block, there were both a Courtyard Marriot and a Best Western. Free coffee and hot water were available in the lobby at all times, and the selection of breakfast snacks was adequate to our needs.
Besides a microwave and refrigerator in the room, the improvement I would make would be pillows with a little more substance to them.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — dog friendly, close to Convention center, nice neighborhood
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanosecond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

DIRTY ROOMS- Their walk-in rate was lower than their on-line rate. Save $30 and DON'T BOOK ON-LINE. Save your self respect and stay somewhere else. The County sends their homeless here with reoom vouchers. Even the homeless deserve better.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank penguin93292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Long Beach hotels

tacoma
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

Stayed here three nights, hotel is aging, but a good choice for the price. includes juice and muffin cont breakfast.
Downtown Long Beach has deteriorated over the years, but had no problems and felt safe enough.
Lot of great restaurants within walking distance.
Staff was helpful, would stay here again on return visit.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frozone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.8 km away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,062 reviews
0.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,385 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
915 reviews
0.2 km away
Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
Courtyard Long Beach Downtown
#15 of 58 in Long Beach
408 reviews
1.0 km away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn of Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn of Long Beach

Property: The Inn of Long Beach
Address: 185 Atlantic Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802-5121
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn of Long Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn of Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Of Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing