We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,976)
Filter reviews
1,976 results
Traveller rating
953
590
248
112
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
953
590
248
112
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fuego restaurant warm cookies hookah lounge queen mary double tree water view fire pit downtown long beach beautiful hotel water taxi free shuttle pre cruise across the bridge carnival cruise hotel restaurant upon check downtown area
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,976 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel Maya is not worth the money. We had several rooms booked for a wedding and they actually had the brides room 2 buildings away from the family. The front desk is rude and not really concerned with the mistake. One of our rooms the sink was clogged, and there was blue tape in the bathroom where maintenance was fixing something. Noisy rooms because of thin walls. They even give you ear plugs. We will never stay at the Maya. The Residence Inn down street.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sherpa227973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thanks for your feedback and we apologize for any confusion. You requested to have all of your rooms in building four which we did however you also booked the presidential suite which is located in building two. We do not have any suites in building four so we were unable to block a suite where all of the rooms . Many brides request being away from everyone else as they get ready so it did not raise any red flags. The ear plugs are an amenity we put in every guest room not because of thin walls but as a courtesy to light sleepers. We also include sleep sound machines in every room. It is a common amenity in hotels these days.We will follow up with our operations team on your staff and engineering comments and feedback and see how we could have more effectively served you. We certainly strive to exceed your expectations and apologize if we failed. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

I booked a prepaid room at Hotel Maya through TripAdvisor-Cancelon. Upon arrival, I was told the hotel was "overbooked" and our room had been "downgraded". They said they would offer a partial refund IF I had not prepaid through a third party. They did agree to waive the $27/night guest parking fee.
The room was OK, but dark with low wattage, inefficient lighting and noisy when the air conditioner was running. The hotel setting is beautiful, but our room was nothing special and overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SFbySail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback. Please email me directly at Kristi.allen@hilton.com so I can look into it and address immediately as if you were told that, it is false information and we would never condone an agent telling you that. My apologies as we strive to exceed all expectations and it sounds like we certainly didn't in this case. I look forward to speaking with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Looking for a chillaxing hotel while in LA area that was closer to Disney and more interesting than Anaheim. The Maya was an interesting find and much has been written about it on line and in travel books. It is a little resort on the bay across from downtown Long Beach. Pretty fun pool area right on ocean with a bar and cabana. The hotel is in walking distance to the queen mary but not much else. However, the hotel offers a great shuttle service to downtown LB and was really accomodating to our needs and times. You can also take the water taxis which dock at the hotel. Our double Queen room was spacious with an ocean view. Kids laughed about the silly slippers the hotel gives out and insisted on keeping them to wear on plane home. The restaurant also was great and I would highly recommend the happy hour. Though many reviewers have commented on the docks, I never once was disturbed by truck noise. It is long beach and the docks and military history are part of the culture. And as is true gor all Hilton family brands.... great service from the staff.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thanks for the wonderful review and so glad you and your family enjoyed both Long Beach and the resort. Come back soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

I stayed here with my family. I have very average expectations when it comes to comeliness however the floors were disgusting. I cleaned a 3 foot section of the floor with a white towel and it was black. I asked staff to mop and they never did... completely unacceptable. If you want clean floors/rooms don't stay here

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank michaelstumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thanks for your feedback in regards to your stay. I apologize the floor cleanliness was below your expectations and will follow up with our housekeeping department immediately. As our floors are hardwood floors, we swift them daily and mop often but with exterior corridors and being right on the waterfront, the floors do get dirty quickly. Thanks for letting us know so we could address.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

The hotel wasn't perfect but it was fun. Fire pits, great service by the pool and right on the water in Long Beach. We loved the restaurant for lunch and breakfast. Our room was not exactly where we wanted, but they were quick to help us remedy it.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank JenniferC4734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thanks for the great review and glad you were able to pick the exact room you wanted. Come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews