We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,947)
Filter reviews
1,947 results
Traveller rating
935
588
245
109
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
935
588
245
109
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fuego restaurant warm cookies hookah lounge queen mary double tree water view fire pit downtown long beach beautiful hotel water taxi free shuttle pre cruise across the bridge carnival cruise hotel restaurant upon check downtown area
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 1,947 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We went for an overnight pre wedding cruise party. Hotel has a nostalgic feel, the event was great, right on the water, beach seating and a great evening view. We went to the restaurant "Fuego" later in the evening, food was delicious and we were still able to have the the great view we experienced at the party. The room had all the amenities, plenty of room, clean and well maintained. The hotel and restaurant staff was great... we will be returning.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for the beautiful review and we are so glad you enjoyed the event and dinner in Fuego. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Hotel Maya is a unique, open-air hotel by Doubletree. The layout of the hotel includes the main building with the hotel bar, hookah lounge, business center & reception. There are 4 other buildings that consist of the hotel rooms. Lots of things to do, including giant chess/checkers, bocce ball, swimming, hot tub, etc. But this hotel is not living up to its potential at all!

For example, around 9:30pm each evening, the staff goes around and puts out all the fire pits, saying they have to do this to keep the noise down.....yet the hotel bar and the special event space is booming loud with drunk guests and music until well after midnight each night. It's just odd that you would make people leave the common outdoor areas early in the evening over concerns about noise when all they are doing is having a glass of wine and watching the view.

Also, it seems this hotel likes to book a LOT of special events, including wedding receptions, etc. As a result, if you're just a regular hotel guest, your needs are going to be overlooked. This includes parking. Also, if you want to use the common areas, if there has been a party, expect dirty dishes, cups and glassware to be strewn all about the outdoor seating areas. Perhaps the staff needs to worry less about putting out the fire pits at 9pm and instead use that time to pick up the dirty dishes and leftover food before the temperamental raccoon scavenges through the rubbish. Obviously this little guy, that we saw on numerous occasions perched upon one of the balconies, knows he can get a quick easy meal due to lack of attention from the staff in cleaning up like they should.

Also, in the pool area, the cushions look like they've been leftover from a war zone, where perhaps first aid was rendered to severely injured patients. They are worse for wear and in desperate need of replacement.

The rooms were just okay, typical of most Doubletree locations. But the bathrooms are tiny with little to no shelf space for your toiletries. The toilet in our room was slow to flush and I was concerned it might overflow at any time.

The things this hotel needs to do to live up to its potential is to clean up common areas in a timely manner after an event, stop overbooking special events that create chaos, parking issues and noise issues for other guests, replace the pool cushions and understand that enjoying the grounds during the early evening hours is part of the vacation experience, so why close down those areas when you let the bar and special event room blast music until after midnight?

The cost of this hotel compared to the service and amenities is just too high. At the rates they charge, you would expect a cleaner hotel with better service.

Room Tip: Not all water view rooms have balconies, so be sure to ask about your room if a balcony and sitting outside is important to you.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BFRANK19652008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your comments and some very good feedback we can follow up with the team on. We always strive to exceed our guests expectations and it appears we failed in your case and I apologize. The pool cushions are being pulled and washed as we speak as it is a constant battle to keep the sunscreen stains off of them. in regards to the common areas, all of the fire pits are supposed to be turned off around 10pm as a courtesy to the guests whose rooms are right off of the fire pits. There are two fire pits, one in Fuego and one in Jardin that are not next to guest rooms that are left on for late night enjoyment. I apologize you were not informed of this. Again thank you for the great suggestions and we will follow up with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here. Excellent customer service, unique look (felt like a getaway), and we loved that there was an aquabus right outside our room to take us to restaurants and shops without having to drive anywhere. We absolutely enjoyed our stay. The only disappointment was the gym (tiny room with free-weights and a couple cardio machines).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 239ericy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thanks for the great review and Happy Anniversary! Though the hotel feels big because we are on 14 acres, we only have 199 rooms so the fitness center with 10 machines is a fairly decent sized gym. Luckily it sounds like you spent most of your time enjoying Long beach which is always more preferable than working out. :) Hope to see you back ehre again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

My Hilton Benefits were never discussed. When I found out the room was on the first floor, I requested a different room. They said they were completely booked and could not move me. I was unhappy because I asked for a quiet room with a view, but what I got was a view of a wedding party right outside the bedroom/patio with a large speaker pointed right at our room. This wedding party was scheduled to go on for several hours. Hardly the quiet room I requested. I called the front desk and complained, and lo and behold, they suddenly found another room to move us to in another building away from the wedding party. The room we were moved to had a nice view of the bay/marina and we could walk out to the fire pit which was nice. However, it makes me think they were not being truthful when they said there were no rooms to move us to when we checked in. Also, I noticed some problems with this room that should be addressed. This is the first Hilton property at which there were bundles of wires coming out of the wall and laying on the floor by the nightstand. Seems like the could have hidden them somewhere. Also, the television had one bolt coming out of the wall support that I could stick my finger behind, which makes it unsafe, and there was an electrical cover behind the desk that didn't fit the plug behind it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 823donaldl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for your review and feedback in regards to your stay. We always strive to exceed our guest expectations and it appears we failed in your case and I apologize. If we are sold out, all rooms are booked and probably already assigned at check in. Guests can now check in online and select their rooms with the Hilton App. This was probably what happened and why there were no rooms available. The staff in an effort to make you happy probably had to take the room of another guest who hadn't arrived yet but had already selected the room and then give it to you. I will follow up with the oeprations team to review your comments as we always strive to improve. Thank you again for choosing Hilton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Went there for a family wedding...rooms were spacious & clean with a gorgeous ocean view from our balcony. The hotel did an amazing job setting up for the wedding. The food was delicious. Of course, the chocolate chip cookies all day long added to the hotel's appeal. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Overall, its was a very good experience. Highly recommend

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank doctorownedcarscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thanks for the great review and glad you enjoyed the wedding! We have the perfect space for family gatherings. Hope to see you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews