We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Great Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night while on a business trip - the room was very lovely, very edgey, very clean, very accommodating. The staff was over the top and very helpful == I encountered the general manager during my stay and he was too wonderful for words

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieSanDiego51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    279
    77
    22
    34
See reviews for
189
310
55
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tenn.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed at the Avia Long Beach for a business trip last week. The location was great, in walking distance to many good restaurants along Pine Street.The price was reasonable and the room was very large, clean and comfortable. The amenities were much nicer than I expected.

The staff was also very nice and helpful. I ordered breakfast to my room two days, which was very good and on time (but a little pricey).

The only problem with the hotel (and this is very minor) is that you had to use your key card every time you went up in the elevator, which was a little inconvenient, but I suppose it is a safety issue.

I would definitely stay here again on business.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VUKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Worst front desk staff in the history of hotels. Didn't care. Snotty. Nasty. Awful. The head guy in charge was the biggest wimp I have ever encountered. They could have cared less about me and my children. Do NOT STAY IN THIS DUMP

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank woofy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This is the second Avia Hotel at which we have stayed but the first since Hyatt took over the chain in September 2011. The general vibe has not changed, although by joining the standardization afforded by joining the larger chain, the service may be better. It is a comfortable, modern hotel in the best location for Long Beach; easy access on and off the Long Beach Freeway (I-710) and within walking distance of most downtown attractions. It does not come cheap for standard business class hotel amenities. Although it looked new, the furniture in our room was a little worn from age and use. Breakfast was good and inexpensive for a hotel. Service was very good and there is free wifi and access to computers and printers to print boarding passes. The garage is next door and cost only $7.00 a day. It is easy to pull up and unload, although there are no doormen or help. There is a pool and rooftop bar that is highly touted as a happening place, although the times we checked it out, it seemed dark and closed. Be aware that this is a popular locale for events and parties, and is in the middle of the entertainment district. The weekend we were there, there were multiple parties and events in the lobby, lounge and meeting rooms. It was very loud and boisterous to the point that if you were not attending these, you would not want to be downstairs. This is partly due to the fact that it is a small facility and the party-goers spill out into the lobby. I was worried that we were not in a high floor room. I had been concerned about street noise. That was not a problem since the windows were well insulated in our second floor room. We did hear music coming from the lobby. It would probably be best to ask for higher floor rooms on weekends. The staff was young, helpful and enthusiastic. The choices in Long Beach are relatively limited, but I think this is a good hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Probably higher rooms are better and those facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rialto, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is an excellent place to be during Christmas. The place is quiet, relaxed, and peaceful. I was not a fan of the dinner being offered, so I headed over to a eatery within walking distance (less than a block away). The food at the eatery was good, but the drinks were even better! The hotels pool does have a great view of the surrounding city. The rooms! OMG so nice, along with the bathroom and the shower were the best. I had a semi view, but only stayed one night so that was not a problem.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 km away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#6 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#5 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.4 km away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach

Property: Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Address: 285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing urban sophistication and easy beach culture, AVIA is Long Beach’s must-stay boutique hotel. With 138 rooms + suites, AVIA dons details like lush beds with Italian-cotton coverlets and marble bathrooms. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the Kitchen + Lounge. Soak in the sun or stars on the hip and haute Rooftop 360° with pool and spectacular views. Located downtown and an easy walk from the Long Beach Convention Center, historic Pine Avenue and Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing