We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views and comfort- The Little River Inn”
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

There are many good reasons to choose the Little River Inn.
• Great ocean views
• Good restaurant on site
• Room service
• Comfy beds
• Bar with ocean view
• Path down to beach and to hiking trail up a pretty creek
• DVDs/VHS/board games to borrow
• Gas station/well stocked market across the street
We were there for a special occasion- thank you for the card & chocolates on arrival.
Special thanks to Ben Patterson. Our deck view was lovely so we ordered room service dinner every night. Ben was our waiter. He volunteered to bring a card table so we could spread out and enjoy our meal together. Turned out to be a big plus- we had brought a favorite board game but decided there was not a good surface to play on. Ben left the table there for our whole stay. He made us feel so welcome every night- brought extras like horseradish, carafe of water with lemon slices, and a tablecloth (so our card table felt elegant); always with a genuine smile and not only with a can do attitude but also the thoughtfulness to offer extras. Thanks to Ben, the service was a cut above on this visit. Hope The Little River Inn knows what a fantastic employee they have in Ben.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FeltonTraveler4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 473 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed five nights at the Little River Inn in January '12. This place was exactly what they advertised both online and on the phone. A beautiful view of the ocean, wood burning fireplace (with wood replaced daily), an oversized bathroom, gourmet restaurant, and a very nice bar. We would explore Mendocino and Fort Bragg during the day (both quite close) and usually have dinner in the restaurant at the hotel. The staff were wonderful and helpful. Although we don't play, there was a very nice golf course behind the hotel.

This is a hidden gem and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheTravelingGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We drove into Little River Inn not expecting there to be any vacancies......thankfully there was! The welcome we got from the ladies on the front desk made us feel like family returning home. The bedroom was exceptionally clean, well decorated / furnished. There was a wide choice of meals on the menu for dinner in the restaurant - which turned out to be both delicious and excellent value (the fact that all the tables were occupied says it all!!).
Finally, what made The Little Inn an excellent place to stay in was the fact that we were able to sit on the verandah, drinking a glass of wine, reading, then watching the sun set on the Pacific Ocean. Bliss!

Room Tip: All have ocean views. Our room on the second floor was one of the basic rate ones.......so shared ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acrosstheUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Midway through a road trip spent mostly in functional chain hotels, the Little River Inn was an absolute delight. Not least because our room opened onto a lovely decking area, which looked straight out to the ocean just a few yards away. After a busy day (which I know most people who stay here won't have had), being able to sit with a cold one and watch the sun go down was bliss. To make things even better, the restaurant was very good and - if you don't want to splash out on that - so were the bar meals. And Mendocino, with a decent selection of alternative eating places, is only five minutes drive away. Overall - a very nice place in a great location, with a warm welcome.

Room Tip: Not sure if they all have ocean views. Might be worth checking to make sure yours does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This isn't an inexpensive motel by any means, more like little cottages, especially if you travel with your pet. They have wood burning fireplaces, a small kitchenette, decks, spectacular ocean views from many of the units and very friendly staff. You can take a private path over to Van Damn Park and take walks and hikes from there, or scoot across the road to the beach and watch the birds foraging where the river meets the ocean. The on site restaurant is great, and you have a golf course at your fingertips!!! What more can you ask for? Hope for sunshine as opposed to fog which is pretty prevalent for the area. But, that is why everything is so lush and green, even during a winter that has been pretty dry.

Room Tip: I would rather not have the units closest to the road, but there are only two of them so just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
17.5 km away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
640 reviews
3.9 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
641 reviews
3.8 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
501 reviews
21.3 km away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
457 reviews
21 km away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Address: 7901 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range: €160 - €206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing