We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS!!”
Review of El Mono Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lee Vining
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Mono Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I made a terrible mistake by following Trip Advisor reviews that rated this hotel as number one!! Not only rooms were extremely smaller, there are BED BUGS in the bed! I am writing this review in the middle of the night after being bitten by 2 big fat bugs that feasted on my blood. Disgusting!! And this is in room number 1 that has an attached broken bathroom, yes, the bathroom has a sink that clogs water and a shower that doesn't run hot water. I wonder if any of the people who wrote glowing reviews ever really toyed here sober. If you need peaceful sleep in a healthy environment, DO NOT stay here!!

Room Tip: DO NOT choose this hotel if you hate bed bugs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank Rhea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 252 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

After having read several positive reviews on this site, my husband and I decided to stay here as our starting point for a couple days in Yosemite. The park was filled, but El Mono had a room available with a queen sized bed and we decided to take it. You certainly couldn't beat the price. Only $55 (incl. tax). I had seen an unfavorable review or two and was skeptical about what to expect, but my husband and I were both very pleasantly suprised. The room was small (only room for the bed, a small side table and sink with mirror), but it was very clean and nicely decorated. The place itself was very quaint and had a lot of character with a nice front porch to sip your java, beautiful flowers and landscaping and nice cozy decorating touchs. The staff were super friendly and welcoming. They were able to provide us tips on the area and hikes to do in Yosemite. Even better, they had great coffee and really yummy homemade treats to top it all off. The only down side was that the bathroom and shower were not in the room, but I think that's a very fair trade off considering the price. We couldn't be more pleased and would definately recommend this to anyone considering a trip to this area. We would certainly return!

Room Tip: The only reason I have the room 3 starts is because of the size (very small) and because there wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenj1427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed here for one night and had a room with a bathroom. The room was small but clean with new bedding. The double bed wasn't very comfortable and the rather ancient looking heater took about three hours to heat up. Again, the bathroom was clean but there was no blind in the window and no heating in the bathroom itself. This place was fine for one night but we didn't want to stay any longer. Not sure why it's number one on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahandPaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We followed the Trip Advisor reviews, who rated this motel as their first choice in Lee Vining. What a disappointment. Rooms were extremely small and run down, only the fresh paint was holding them together. Asking $99 per room for this shack is a joke. I wonder whether any of the people who wrote reviews ever really stayed there.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Uwewagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This is an adorable little hotel and and an adorable little cafe. Both fall into the relaxing, indie, bohemian category with bright, cheery colors and calm friendly outdoorsy people--both workers and travelers. This is a wonderful little haven in the mountains to sip delicious coffee on their big cozy porch or in their little cozy cafe with beautiful Mono Lake to the east and the eastern Sierra Mountains to the west. Rooms are small but clean and functional with cheery colors and--for some rooms--a bright garden, chairs, and tables outside. You have to step outside and down a hall to get to the tiny bathrooms and showers, but they are clean and well-maintained. If I had to pick a place to stay awhile and write--taking day hikes in between for exercise--this would be the place. Cares just slip away at this little gem. Most reasonable prices in the area as well.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the first floor that faces the garden. Number 8 is nice (two twin beds).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Vining
0.2 km away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
622 reviews
0.1 km away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
261 reviews
34.7 km away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36 km away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
864 reviews
34.6 km away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
218 reviews
36.6 km away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mono Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mono Motel

Address: 51 Highway 395, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Region: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
El Mono Hotel Lee Vining

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing