We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
19 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$824
Hotels.comUS$791
TravelocityUS$791
PricelineUS$824
Agoda.comUS$824
TraveluroUS$874
View all 22 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,670)
Filter reviews
2,672 results
Traveller rating
1,819
382
203
141
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,819
382
203
141
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splashes restaurant tower room there is no air conditioning sound of the waves ocean front high tide ocean breeze special occasion beautiful room get away southern california the ritz romantic getaway shops and restaurants beach access splashed surf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,499 - 2,504 of 2,672 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I have to admit, I had very low expectations before arriving, and especially, when I pulled up and got a glimpse of the 70s-ish brown exterior. As a Four Seasons lover, I thought I'd made a major tactical error in not choosing Montage or the Ritz. However...this hotel FAR, FAR exceeded my expectations. Our room hung over the Pacific Ocean and gave us a sunset view every single night from our patio. Yes, the crash of the surf is a little loud, but people who complain about drifting off to sleep, and awakening, to the sound of the ocean, perhaps don't have enough in their lives to worry about. With 2 kids under 6, we loved the convenience of having the beach and pool right there. You simply can't get any closer. A warm outdoor shower made sand-exfoliating off 2 boys as painless as possible. They were in and out of the ocean dozens of times each day and endlessly entertained. One gripe -- the pool truly is tiny. And kid-filled. It's absolute paradise for people with kids, but probably not for those traveling with an adult party. There were a number of surprise touches that delighted...s'mores over firepits was the highlight. Organized with individual boxes that included all the fixings even down to moist towlettes for our hands + hot chocolate with homemade whipped cream. Night Two was an enormous telescope with a kids astronomy lesson. The next was an outdoor movie night at the pool. This was just paradise for kids. And while not on par with a true luxury hotel in terms of furnishings or food quality, it was more than adequate and genuinely lovely. When you are surrounded by the Pacific Ocean, you don't need much more to create a stunning environment. That said, the Splashes restaurant was modern and nicely done; ditto on teak outdoor furniture; beach chairs and umbrellas that staff leaped up to arrange for you. We found every encounter with staff a positive one. Room service came in a snap and everything was very reasonably priced. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel for all those who love that "on the beach" experience and particularly for those with kids. One of the best vacations we've had in a while!

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sydney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights. It has the best location - right on the beach. The room (a Junior suite) was spacious and comfortable, with an awesome view. The hideaway bed for the kids was very uncomfortable, but in no time at all, 2 comfortable rollaway beds were delivered to our room. The staff were excellent - friendly and very helpful (front desk, concierge, valet parking, housekeeping, poolside, beach, room service). They made you feel like they couldn't do enough for you. Nothing was a problem for them. The manager's reception was a great bonus - complimentary, delicious food and drink. Nothing is cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunseekerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I just recieved a flyer for this hotel for summer rate of $475.00 per room for sea view. It reminded me of awful stay last year where I rented two rooms from my family. The ugly viewalbe parking deck below grade as you enter your tower rooms. The tired furniture. Small bathrooms. The beach that has erroded which I must admit is out of the hotel control. The Surf and Sand has lost class. Furthermore I felt the customer service was lacking in several respects. If you are going to spend this kind of money it is well worth looking at the St. Regis, Ritz, Montage. I used to love this place. They lost a long time customer who used to come

Date of stay: September 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irishchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We intended to stay 4 nights in a Jr. Catalina suite (room 440), but checked out after 1 night. At >$600/night, we felt this was way overpriced. The bedroom was nearly windowless/very small, and overall the fit/finish was not that great. Our "view" overlooked a gravel roof with seagulls laying on it with the ocean beyond. Not terribly scenic. The beach is quite narrow with the building right there, so you don't get a wide open or natural feel at all. The swimming pool is like a postage stamp. Generally, you can tell that this was an "old school" motel from the 50's or 60's that has been renovated, but the renovation doesn't really have a luxury feel at all. We moved to the Ritz Carlton - 10 minutes away - less $$ and not even comparable. The Ritz is full service, gorgeous, modern, on the water with spectactular views. the Beach is wide and natural.

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Beautiful hotel right on the beach with a pool

Expensive and then they charge extra for everything!
No free wifi here although the coffee place had pcs you could use for free - but that was not mentioned in the room info

Nice pool, good size room but housekeeping need a lesson in dusting
Access to our room went past a cupboard which was always open with rubbish/housekeeping stuff in.
Lots of steps & the hotel map is wrong. Staff also don't seem to know where the rooms are either.

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews