We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Casa del Camino
Nearby Hotels
Laguna Beach House(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$386
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Laguna Beach Lodge(Laguna Beach)
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ranch at Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
US$341
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tides Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$285
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn At Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
US$341
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$298
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Montage Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
US$836
US$794
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$751
US$701
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arabella Laguna(Laguna Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
316
216
75
43
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
216
75
43
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bardownstairs restaurantsmall platesrooms are smallspanish stylehotel guestsacross the streetliterally stepsfree breakfastan older hotelquaint hotelocean viewresort feewatch the sunsetthe entire staffbeach accesschairs and umbrellas
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Great location. Friendly staff. Happy happy hoursome of the rooms are too small,so inquire about that. Not fancy, old style Spanish . The rooftop lounge is stunning although the Friday night we were there it was crowded with locals, no seats, no service. The bar downstairs was accommodating though and welcomed our well behaved four legged friends. Excellent happy hour specials. Complimentary breakfast in the morning is amazing! What more can I say?

Room Tip: Make sure you check on the size of your room. The one we stayed in was a king size with plenty of room but we have been put in a room there that was so small we were falling over each other.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisamfleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie G, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

We love everything that you did say about your visit with us! Next time you visit, please let us know ahead of time so that we can secure you a Rooftop table, we are able to add this perk for our hotel guests when it is available. Thank you also for letting your fur baby enjoy the visit as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

My wife and I didn't know when I made the reservation that the La Casa del Camino is the oldest hotel in Laguna. We really enjoy staying in places that have a history, and this hotel has got lots of it! We were also very impressed with the upgrades that were done in our room- the Casa Surf Room, especially the bedroom/bathroom area. The art was not something we would have in our home, but we enjoyed the whole theme. The bed was very comfortable and we could even see the ocean from our small window to the West. The old-fashioned crank out windows on the PCH side of our room did a decent job of cutting down on the noise from traffic, but next time we will try and get a room on the ocean side. The rooftop bar/restaurant was a real treat also. What a view! Plus we want to give a huge complement to all of the staff at the hotel. They were all nice and friendly and well-trained. The included continental breakfast in the morning was the best free breakfast we've had at ANY hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie G, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

We are so grateful for your compliments about our staff, your room and the restaurants. We look forward to helping you book that ocean side room, falling asleep to the sound of the ocean seems like the only thing you missed on your trip. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Friendly staff, comfortable bed, great location. I appreciated the mini fridge. Breakfast was hot, and could be enjoyed in a courtyard with a lovely fountain. I would have liked an option for real cream in my coffee or a cappuccino. I guess I’ll opt for the mimosa next time.

Room Tip: The machine in the room to regulate temperature turned on and off frequently and loudly. We turned it off and used the ceiling fan. I wish we could have figured out how to open the windows for more ventilation
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marykay_scheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie G, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you Marykay_scheid! We agree, a mimosa is always a good idea and we appreciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

My husband and I stayed at La Casa El Camino for a birthday weekend away. Just as the reviews said, the staff was amazing and very accommodating. Knowing it was a birthday celebration, they provided a bottle of champagne that was waiting for us in our room. We stayed in a surf themed room and it was spacious and newly redecorated. The Rooftop bar was just as pictured, beautiful views. I recommend getting a reservation a couple days in advance so you get a table with a view. The front desk was very helpful in getting us a table right before sunset on a night that was shoulder to shoulder up there.

The hotel is on the block of the beach, so a very short walk to a nice place to relax on the sand. Towels and chairs are provided by the hotel. We walked a couple blocks toward town and headed down to the beach there. We were able to walk the rest of the way to town on the beach, which you can't beat. It was probably eight blocks or so, but an easy walk. Except up at the Rooftop Bar, you can't see the beach from the hotel, but it was never advertised that way and we knew that when we booked it.

The hotel must take the reviews seriously, because we did not have any issues with things others said. The breakfast was hearty and warm, even though we didn't get there until 10:15. The room we were in was very quiet, we didn't hear other guests and the portable heater/AC unit worked very well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the surf themed room.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie G, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

We sincerely appreciate your review and loved reading it, darsweet. Thank you so much for sharing about your stay with us with your fellow travelers. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The location is perfect for ocean lovers. We sat on the rooftop watching the surfers. The ocean view is perfect! The front desk staff was very friendly! Our room was quaint... The only uncomfortable part of the room was the noisy, portable AC. Breakfast was delicious with interesting choices. They hold a cheese and wine tasting Monday - Thursday for hotel guests (which we missed)...

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie G, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We're sorry about the A/C! The portable options tend to be on the noisy side, but we want to make sure our guests are comfortable since our old building was not built with central A/C back in 1929. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews