We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful oasis in a busy & crowded Laguna Town”

Old House Garden Cafe
Ranked #57 of 188 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Old House Garden Café, Located at 320 North Coast Hwy, is a beautiful historic structure. It has become home to a delightful teahouse, coffee hangout and a gorgeous restaurant. The Old House Garden Cafe has changed the ambiance and menu from the former Madison's Square Garden Cafe and transformed it into a sophisticated Zen-like locale. The peaceful sounds of birds in the trees and friendly conversation that has always attracted locals and tourist here is even more beautiful with numerous trickling fountains and mature trees shading its patrons from the hustle-bustle of our world.
Reviewed 19 August 2018

What a pleasant surprise to enter this garden oasis after battling crowds, traffic & parking. Great attentive staff that did not rush us. The tables were spaced far enough and interspersed with plants that you felt that you were in a private garden. The food was good and well presented, but the wine was priced to high. No dinner- they close at 5PM.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank funflowertrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2018

The good stuff: Lovely setting, attentive wait staff: Food pretty good-perfect eggs benedict. Fresh fruit served with breakfast, a definite plus. Good value. Food not overpriced.

While the food was decent, it needs to be steller. The eggs benedict, smoked salmon style was perfection. However instead of skillet potatoes with some kind of bell pepper which would have been just perfect, they served french fries. The former owner closed the restaurant. I think that In order for the present owner to be successful, the food needs to go one notch higher and then it's there. The wait staff is new but I think they work hard to be courteous and attentive. Everything is set for success for this restaurant. Good Urth cafe is right next to it, so they need to specialize in something different such as excellent protein. They are on their way, but they need to up the anti a bit.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Recently reopened as The Old House Restaurant, I think this is worth a try. Open for breakfast and lunch only. Their tea time items are fun to try. Today I had a three tiered tea time selection which contained a pancake item with bananas, a crab avocado open faced sandwich and a mini hamburger. This was split with a friend for a $26 total bill. There are smaller selections for less money. Certain menu items are discounted 30% during the week. They are finding their bearings with staffing but my two experiences there have been great. Very friendly staff. Lovely environment, especially on the quieter back patio.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We were there 2/12 in line to place an order in full view of the cook. He dipped bread with his hands into a huge 6 quart(?) vat of eggs making french toast (maybe also used for scrambeled eggs) It is at room temp by the stove and then spread raw eggs on everything he touched. A ham, some plates and the bent to the lower fridge and pulled out a raw chicken breast with those filthy hands and put it on the flat top grill. He wiped those filthy hands on the dirty towel at his waist and proceeded to plate dishes and continued to cook. He never washed his hands and everything he touched had raw egg and raw chicken on it. I told the manager, who was quite calm and reacted very little. Then we left. I couldn't find the number of the OC Health Dept. This is criminal.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Marhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

We were driving the Coast highway looking for a spot to eat and saw this quirky looking garden shop cafe. Very casual, order at the counter and food is delivered to your table. I had the Huevos Rancheros, my husband ordered a chicken breast sandwich. Service was quick, staff were very friendly and brought out a chip and guacamole plate while we waited. If I lived closer I would be visiting here on a regular basis, the breakfasts alone look awesome!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank scotchman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old House Garden Cafe also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Old House Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing