We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$361
US$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$329
US$319
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Laguna Brisas Hotel(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$279
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
La Casa del Camino(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$312
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$442
US$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$301
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Laguna Beach House(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$315
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Montage Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
US$893
US$852
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$977/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$847
US$767
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
299
149
35
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
149
35
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheisler parkoutdoor fireplacepool areabbq areaacross the streetwithin walking distancecharming roomtwo blocksparking is tightshort walkroad noisebeautiful parkpageant of the mastersfelt like homeart museumfull kitchennice pool
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

My two friends and I made a last minute decision to spend the night at the hotel and we were very glad we did. They had free onsite parking and wifi which was great! They provided a complimentary keurig and there was a mini fridge. The pool area was small but cute with a fire place and lounge chairs. Definitely a nice quick getaway where we could walk 5 minutes to the beach or a relaxing coffee shop. Occasionally we could hear our upstairs neighbors a bit louder than expected, and the views from the actual hotel were not great. But that really did not seem to be a big deal. We’re glad we stayed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ariel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

We're so glad you and your friends decided to stayed with us also Ariel :) Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're so happy to read that you enjoyed our complimentary WiFi and parking as we know parking is very limited in Laguna Beach. Many of our guests enjoy our pool area as well along with the short walk to Heisler Park across the street and to downtown Laguna Beach. We look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for choosing The Tides :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We recently stayed at the Tides last week and agree with the below reviews that it is in a great location and the staff is very nice but we had a very bad experience due to the loud AC unit in our room.

We were in room 105 (dog friendly) and the wall AC unit is located by the bed and made very loud noise all night long. They provided ear plugs but who wants to sleep in earplugs? Couldn't sleep at all. We thought about complaining... but the fact that they had earplugs by the bed indicated that they'd heard it before.

Overall, if you are looking for a dog friendly hotel with a kitchenette (and are a heavy sleeper) for a short stay...this might be your spot. It just wasn't for us.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank morr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback as we very much appreciate and value it. We're so happy to read that you also enjoyed our location and service but sincerely apologize for the noise from the AC unit in your room; we will look into correcting this matter. As a courtesy, we provide earplugs in all of our guest rooms as we understand every guest is a different type of sleeper. Nevertheless, we hope you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Laguna Beach. Thank you for choosing The Tides :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

I never expect perfection but I do expect that a place actually CARES about getting it right and The Tides does this very well, they have given thought to little details and you can feel it. I tend to only want to go to the ocean but their saltwater pool was a pleasure to swim in and the outdoor fireplace was very welcoming. Staff was wonderfully helpful, Julie (so easy going) and Larry (on the phone Anderson, Sara) all great. Location is perfect, walking distance to choice beaches and downtown (but not so close that it's teeming with people). We were in Room 101 which is on the PCH side though the kitchen, small living room and bathroom act as a buffer for the bedroom, but we didn't really notice the noise at all. Plus liked how the door to this room has a quiet entrance only shared with 2 other rooms. Was awesome to have access to dry beach towels, a thoughtful touch.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank nyccali2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback as we very much value and appreciate it. Your kind words mean a lot to us. We're so happy you enjoyed our heated salt water pool along with the fireplace. Our location to the beach and downtown is one of the things guests love about our property and we're glad you did too. We hope we have the opportunity to host you again. Thank you so much for choosing The Tides :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

This little motel was in a convenient location and has a lot of charm about it. We even used the bbq and staff were very helpful in assisting us with extras. We ended up staying another night.

Rooms may have been in the small side but who stays in their room when you are in such an exquisite location.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Vasogelato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

We're so happy to read you enjoyed the gas grill in our wonderful pool area. Thank you for choosing The Tides and we look forward to hosting you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

The location was good. Pool was good too. Although could do with some more sun loungers on occasions. Our room was generally nice. Attentive staff, couldn't have been more helpful (Julie, Anderson and their housekeeping team)

Would recommend The Tides as a homely nice place to stay.

Room Tip: 204 was a really nice room. Whilst being at the front of the hotel any Road noise did not disturb us. Bathroom was a little tight though. Kitchen could do with a makeover in the near future. But that said we had 9 nights and we enjoyed the stay.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review Lesley. We're so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Laguna Beach and appreciate and value your feedback. We hope to be able to host you again in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews