We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
318
155
35
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
155
35
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heisler park outdoor fireplace pool area bbq area across the street within walking distance two blocks parking is tight short walk road noise pageant of the masters full kitchen nice pool bars and restaurants one night stay grocery store home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2017

It was my son's 21st birthday, we reserved 2 rooms for one night, one for him and his friends and one room for my husband and I. It was perfect, reasonable rates, staff were amazing ( friendly and very accommodating, Rooms were nicely decorated and clean, walking distance to Von's , Starbucks, great restaurants. I would stay there again!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

We're grateful to have been part of your son's 21st birthday and are glad you guys enjoyed your time here. Thank you for choosing The Tides and we look forward to hosting you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We found this place by accident and can't wait to return. Everything from the location to the room and furnishings were amazing. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. The rooms take you back in time and make the entire experience unique. We were walking distance to the beach and restaurants which only added to the stay. We were only sorry we did not use the fireplace by the pool. Looks like we need to go back!

Room tip: Some rooms have an amazing view of the ocean.
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ilene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Thanks sooo much for your kind words Ilene and for taking the time to give us your feedback. It means a lot to us. It was a pleasure hosting you and your husband and we're so happy you enjoyed The Tides and beautiful Laguna Beach. We look forward to your next visit with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I want everyone to know that I look for the best in every situation and have never posted a negative review, but I feel obligated to share this with others. We were looking for a boutique hotel in Laguna Beach and chose The Tides based on TripAdvisor reviews. It was a poor decision. I'm wondering who writes these reviews? The rooms were the exact opposite of the reviews. We were assigned a room with a queen bed for 2 people, as no king beds were available. The room was on the ground floor, near the street and the noise was deafening. Upon entering, we were accosted by a strong, musty smell. The decor was dated, with frilly curtains on the windows and a dusty air conditioning unit protruding from the wall. The lock on the large front window was broken, so the window could easily be opened from the outside. Worst of all was the bed, which felt like a sheet of cardboard had been spread across the top. There was no possible way we could sleep on it. We promptly returned our keys to the front desk, forfeited our $150 and left to find more suitable accommodations.

Date of stay: January 2017
3  Thank katesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Hi Katesol,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your candid feedback on your recent visit to The Tides. To answer your question, the reviews posted on TripAdvisor are from verified guests that have stayed with us, the same way you wrote your review.

You booked your room last minute on a very busy Martin Luther King Jr. weekend where most hotels in Laguna Beach offered rates of at least $200+ for that Saturday night. The phone app you used offers competitive non-refundable rates, however, the catch is that you do not get to choose your room type. We gave you the bigger of the two rooms we had available at the time. We're not sure what you were expecting as our website, along with other 3rd party websites, provide pictures of our property and guest rooms.

Our property has exterior corridors and we are located on Pacific Coast Highway. We wish we could control the road noise more, but it is out of our control. We do offer double pane windows and complimentary ear plugs in all guests rooms for sensitive sleepers. We're happy to offer individual air conditioning/heating in our guest rooms as some beach properties do not have them.

We appreciate and are grateful for all of our guests and are always more than happy to answer any questions the best we could prior to you making a reservation to see if we would be the best fit for your accommodation needs in Laguna Beach.

The Tides offers old Laguna charm that is affordable and clean and while we understand everyone has their own preferences, we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and sad that you could not enjoy the conveniences our property offers. One of the things our guests love is that we are right across the street from beautiful Heisler Park and only a short walk to downtown Laguna Beach where you can find shops, restaurants and art galleries among other things. Most say we are far enough from the "craziness" but close enough to walk. We're sorry there wasn't anything you enjoyed about The Tides but want you to know that we very much appreciate and value your feedback as it will help us to continue to improve.

Nevertheless, we hope you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Laguna Beach :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The Tides is an older motel located in north Laguna Beach. Our first night we had a room right on the street which we found dark and damp however we were moved to a nicer room the rest of our stay. I believe it was room 108 which is close to the heated salt water pool. The staff are excellent and will go out of their way to make sure you are happy. Make sure you book a room with at least a fridge and microwave. They provide dishes, cutlery dish soap and tea towel. We did our dishes in bathroom sink and enjoyed the large stainless steel gas BBQ they have. We also ate dinner at the stone bar around the BBQ. The gas fireplace is a nice touch. They turn it on everyone night so have a nice relaxing night. The pool is also located in the same area so you can have some fun with your family. You can walk to the grocery store around the corner as well as downtown for the beach,, shopping and restaurants. I would recommended motel as it had everything wee needed and was priced right for us.

Room tip: Rooms on the main level are close to pool and BBQ however you will get noise from rooms upstairs. Do not book the rooms on the roadway.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us Cathy and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback :) We hope to be able to host you and your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

A wonderful oasis in this wonderful oasis in California. The staff were delightful and the accommodation was perfect. Our two rooms formed a suite and we were most impressed with the facilities provided. The pool and outside seating area with gas-fire provided a lovely relaxing and entertaining area only 5 mins walk to Main beach past numerous restaurants that meant we didn't need to use the very good kitchenette facilities in our room-other than the spacious fridge and coffee machine.
This hotel is great value for money and would certainly recommend this to any visitor to Laguna Beach.

Room tip: rooms on second floor had best views
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 80jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback, it means a lot to us :) It was a pleasure meeting you and your wonderful family. We're so happy that you enjoyed our spacious pool area and convenient location. We hope to be able to host you again in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews