We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2017

It was a very nice stay. It was obvious updates have been made and the property was clean. The staff were AMAZING! Especially Glenna who did everything she could to make my stay amazing...Location is very convenient there is plenty to do close by both food and shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KatieH341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

We came for a college visit of UCSD, which is super close, and booked a studio for use by three persons. The place is a multi houses complex that have individual rooms / studios. Walking towards our room we unfortunately had to pass smokers that blocked the passage way from the parking area, not pleasant...the signs of no smoking within 25 feet mean obviously nothing. When we checked into the room we only had one king and the sofa bed was not made up nor was their any gear to set it up. We had clearly marked three persons in the reservation... So, another run down to reception to get everything, not what I bargained for arriving late after a long day. The room is a bit long in the teeth and surely could use some upgrading, especially in the bathroom. My bedside light did not work (and I only found out the next morning that a plug had been pulled by the previous user that powers the bedside lights... you cannot know this nor see this at night as the lighting overall in the room is poor).
Breakfast was very busy and the staff had a hard time catching up. Waited 10 min for my first cup of coffee, Juice dispenser did only dispense watery substance not orange juice. The scrambled eggs were bad ( I guess made from something else but I am not sure from fresh eggs). Not a vey nice experience.
The kicker is a $18/day parking charge (about 10% on top of room charge) which is the first time I paid something like this at a Residence Inn as a Marriott Platinum member....

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everardoaguilar, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear cbroo,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn La Jolla. I want to apologize for not meeting yours, and certainly our own expectations for your visit. As a Platinum Elite member, we value your opinion as we respect the amount of travel and time away from home you go through each year. I will certainly bring to the attention our shortcomings of your trip with our staff to ensure these types of issues are better able to be prevented in the future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 weeks on business travel & absolutely loved it. Can't beat the location. Grocery stores & shopping centers within walking distance. University of California & the beach also a short walk away. Tons of things to do that are close. Enough about the surrounding, let me get to the hotel. The staff was extremely courteous. The room was very spacious. Free breakfast buffet every morning. Free evening dinner & snacks Mon through Wed. Loved using the outdoor hot tub when I got the chance. Only thing I would change about this hotel would be to have the pool heated. Really wanted to sleep but pool was a little too cold for me. Other than that, this is a 5 star hotel in my book.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

we have stayed in a residence which had a king and a queen size bed, full kitchen nice living room and two bathrooms. there is a good restaurant very near called Rock Bottom and it also delivers, in case you are to tried to utilize the full kitchen. housecleaning services are very good. The front office and the patio behind is nice for quick relaxing and we used the fire pit awaiting our laundry.

they offer free breakfast but it was less than adequate, we checked it once and never bothered to walk there again.
Amount of car parking fee is 18$/day and they are keen to check it.

Room Tip: stay close to reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Can O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Residence Inn La Jolla is still a nice convenient place to stay, however, during our last two stays we have noticed that the complimentary breakfast is like any other hotel, when in the past they set the standard in our eyes. I do not know if the breakfast area is under new management, however, here are just a few of the changes: Whole fruits used to be bananas, apples, and oranges, today only bananas; fresh cut up fruit, according to staff they ran out (8:20 AM); Yogurt, used to have several individual servings of 2 or 3 brands with several flavors, today two flavors bulk; no longer have pastrys. It may sound simple, but the price of a stay has increased and the quality/quantity has deteriorated.

Room Tip: Nice location and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.5 km away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,422 reviews
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
3.5 km away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
2 km away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
4.2 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Address: 8901 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1625
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: €124 - €273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel puts you within walking distance to the University of CA San Diego campus and less than 2 miles from Scripps Memorial Hospital. From our extended-stay hotel, guests can also visit many local attractions such as breathtaking beaches, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. This all-suite hotel in La Jolla also offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. Guests can start their day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. All of our suites in La Jolla offer fully equipped kitchens, with full stoves and ovens, and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing