We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet food in a beautiful building”

A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Reserve with OpenTable
A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,249 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$65
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Callan Road
Description: The Lodge’s signature restaurant, A.R. Valentien, highlights regional San Diego cuisine served in an elegant, timbered indoor-outdoor dining room overlooking the 18th hole of Torrey Pines Golf Course. Executive Chef Jeff Jackson sources only the best local provisions, and the menu changes frequently based on seasonal fare available. The restaurant takes its name from a talented early 20th-century California artist whose works are exhibited throughout the restaurant.
Reviewed 29 April 2018

This is one of the top restaurants in San Diego housed in the beautiful Torrey Pines Lodge, built in the Craftsman Style. Even if you end up eating some where else, it is a pleasure just to experience the ambiance.

1  Thank Constance F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan N, Manager at A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for your kind words; we are so happy to hear how much you enjoy the architecture and the ambiance of the property. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2018

This is located at the actual hotel/lodge at the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Obviously the views are beautiful and you can see the golf course up close. Went for a business lunch - very high end food, service, atmosphere. You were able to select eating outside or inside. We selected inside - was a bit breezy and wanted to be able to hear for business lunch. With such elegant dining - you pay a lot and the appetizer sizes are small portions.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 19801DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan N, Manager at A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for sharing your recent dining experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the views and the cuisine. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We had a great waiter and very good seafood out on the deck on a wonderful evening. Everything was good, but it was expensive.

Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan N, Manager at A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for sharing your dining experience. We are pleased to hear you received great service from our staff and enjoyed the seafood dishes while dining on the terrace. We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Seasonal goodness with a changing menu. You can't go wrong with a dry aged steak and a big California Cab!

Thank Jeff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan N, Manager at A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoy our fresh farm-to-table menu. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The Lodge is beautiful, the atmosphere serene. The waitress and other staff who visited to say hello, were genuinely friendly and interested in us. I ordered Braised Sea Bass and was very disappointed with the very small size. It verged on the mean. The fish was ok, but a little dry. It sat on melted aubergine, and had a hazelnut sauce which was not stunning. If I remember correctly it cost around $26 or $29.
It wasn't as if my friends also had tiny portions - theirs (Chicken under a Brick, and Beef Burger) were suitably sized.
I would not recommend having fish if you're hungry.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Taiscemara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan N, Manager at A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your recent dining experience. We are pleased to hear the service and the dishes your friends ordered exceeded your expectations, however, we are sorry to hear that the Seabass dish did not. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we have shared it with the team. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines also viewed

 

Been to A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing