We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifull cottage with style and luxury in...”
other travellers have booked this property
Glen Cottage, Exterior photo showing Patio area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glen Cottage, Exterior photo showing Patio area
Lounge showing sofa bed Contemporary gloss white kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Glen Cottage, Exterior photo showing Patio area
Lounge showing sofa bed
Contemporary gloss white kitchen
Bedroom with overhead reading lights
Bedroom with feature bath (and large shower)
Lounge showing Jacqui's Pink wall
Toilet with travertine tiles
The Castle Pub
Fox & Hounds Pub
Village Hall
Doctors Surgery
Carpenters Workshop
Ducks
Duck Pond
Our Church
The Castle Mound
Ducks in the snow
Yew Tree Avenue, Clipsham
Castle Bytham Sign
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castle Bytham, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jam69
Durham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautifull cottage with style and luxury in excellent location!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Another fabulous stay in this quality little cottage and we will be booking up for next year! This is a gorgeous hideaway from the pressures of work and all the little extra touches like bath robe, slippers and hamper are very special.
Thank you again :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for the return visit, and lovely review. It is very much appreciated.
Regards,
Mike and Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boppsey
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A little bit of luxury in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Glen cottage is a lovely luxurious retreat, like a boutique hotel suite with bijou kitchen. A welcome basket, fluffy towels, gowns and slippers are waiting for you. DVD players in both lounge and bedroom and a good DVD library complete the luxury, the zany candlelit bath in the bedroom allows you to watch from the bath too!
If this wasn't enough the village is both very pretty and extremely friendly. There are two real ale pubs, one which does delicious meals with amazing chips. There's a village shop just around the corner past the duck pond for breakfast supplies.
Mike and Jacqui are good hosts. Mike even researched local tea shops for me so I could go scone chasing on my bike! It's wonderful cycling country with many quiet lanes to explore and warm stone villages to visit...you can even go gliding at a local club if you are feeling adventurous!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2013
What a lovely review - perfect.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please stay again!

Many Thanks,
Mike and Jacqui
PS Thanks also for your suggestions (cafetiere etc - we will get them).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinnieBNe...
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice little cottage for a refreshing break in the East Midlands”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I stayed at Glen Cottage for four nights together with my husband and toddler daughter. The cottage is a converted barn with old stone walls that has been brought up to standard as luxury self-catering accommodation. There is a living area with gas burner, large comfy sofa, eating area and galley-style kitchen, bedroom with king-sized bed, feature bath and shower, and separate toilet. Outside is a reasonably private patio with chairs to enjoy a breath of fresh air when the weather is nice.
The cottage was spotless, the towels and bed were clean, and the kitchen equipment was also clean. The kitchen had a lot of different bits and pieces that are important, including sharp knives, plenty of saucepans and frying pans, multiple colour-coded chopping board, and also others that are useful that you probably won't use like a cocktail shaker and potato masher. The kitchen itself lacked some bench space and there is no dishwasher, however there was plenty of cleaning supplies including washing up liquid.
The property itself is close to the owners, which means that they are close by if there are issues, but could be a little too close for people who want to really get away from it all.
An important consideration for me, since I am a light sleeper, is how dark the room can be. I was lucky here because there was a blind and thick curtains over the window to keep the morning sun out of the room until I was ready to get up (or rather, my daughter was ready to get up). The bed was comfortable with both feather and synthetic pillows to choose from.
Before we left, I checked that they had a child's bed, however it seemed that the bed they normally used was currently not available for during our stay. The owners decided that they needed one for the cottage anyway, so when we got home after doing the grocery shopping in nearby Stamford, there was a new one waiting for us! Thanks Jacqui and Mike!
There are also other luxury items in the cottage like quality shampoo, soap and body wash in pump bottles in the bath and shower, slippers and bathrobes. The bath was also very nice and relaxing after a day hiking or biking in the area, or visiting some of the nearby medieval towns. There was a lot of information in the cottage about things to do including hiking maps.
One thing to be aware of is that there were different prices for the property advertised depending on the website. I ended up being quoted a rate that was considerably lower than what I was expecting, so if you are concerned that the cottage is out of your price range, contact the owner and ask directly what the rate is.
We enjoyed our stay in the cottage and would recommend it to friends looking for self-catering accommodation in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: High quality furnishings, clean
Liked least: A little crowded with too many chairs in the eating area and inside storage of cushions for patio
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Many Thanks for your most comprehensive review... the best yet! The information given will be very useful to all who read it. Thank you also for saying that the cottage is spotless, as I spend a lot of time cleaning it after guests leave - even for those who leave it as clean as you did.
Ref the dishwasher and washing machine - I'm afraid that was one of those decisions we made to give a decent sized living room, however we do offer a laundry service if required.
Ref the price, we are happy to offer a discount, particularly if it's a last minute booking, of if a hamper is not required. Our rates are also very good between 1st Nov – 20th Dec, and 28th Dec to 29th March (only £400 per week (£57 per night) which includes all heating etc and a nice hamper.
Thanks again for your great review, and we would love for you to visit us again!
Regards,
Mike and Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare K
Erskine, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little piece of heaven...”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay this summer, Mike and Jacqui were very welcoming. The attention to detail was to a high standard the cottage had everything you needed and more, the special features like the free standing bath and the little extras such as the slippers, dressing gowns and welcome hamper full of goodies. As the weather was wonderful we took the opportunity to spend a few days just relaxing in the garden. Castle Bytham has two pubs within walking distance and it is fairly central for travel I would recommend a trip to Stamford as it is such a beautiful town with lots of little boutique shops and definitely a visit to Burley House. We hope to be back for another holiday in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: could'nt fault anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2013
Hi, Many thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we're looking forward to seeing you both again soon!
Regards,
Mike and Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jul 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again too!
Regards,
Mike & Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing