We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this place..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bacchus Guest House
Ranked #149 of 234 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Boracay, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this place..”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed for about a fortnight... lucked out finding this place. Kim and Dave are lovely warm, friendly folks.
The food in the rest is fantastic!! Really good!!
Good atmosphere in the bar at night...
And the rooms are fine and affordable..
Location - Perfect
Made good friends with the people we met here and they wer repeat visitors..

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romey85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    9
    0
    7
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
9
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in a fan room for 4 nights ($10 a night) and loved it here. The room is huge and clean, the bathroom in particular was massive; for once we did not soak the toilet every time we took a shower! The shower was always hot which was nice, as a lot of the places we've stayed at have run out of hot water by about 10am. The bed was really comfy and the room didn't get too hot which was a relief. They also have free Wi-Fi, which is always a bonus. Dave the English owner is a great host and helped us book a bus to Phnom Penh. He always made the effort to come over for a chat if we were sitting outside.The bar and free pool table out front are a great way to get chatting to other guests; there's a really nice, chilled out friendly vibe here that sets it apart from other hostels. They also do breakfast here, as well as lunch/dinner (the home made chips are particularly good!). This hostel hasn't been up and running that long but I think it's one of Sihanoukville's best kept secrets! We had friends staying in other hostels nearby, who were paying a few dollars more for small, pokey rooms. They were pretty peeved when they saw where we were staying! It's a 2 minute walk to the beach and to all the restaurants and bars from the hostel, but it's not noisy at all. The big supermarket next door was really handy too. We'll definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it. Thank you Dave! Andy and Sarah

Room Tip: They have air con rooms for $16, and the fan rooms ranged from $8-12. We went in peak season and pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Arrived in Sihanoukville 15-19th October 2011 and went on the recommendation of the Lonely Planet Guide and got a beach front hotel for $20 a night. Went in search of a place to watch the football and stumbled on The Bacchus Guesthouse 1 street back from the beach. I asked Kim behind the bar to have a look at a few rooms as it was only $6 a night. Was surprised at how nice the room was and became a resident for 4 nights after moving from the beach front. You pay a premium to be right on the beach. Food was excellent, couldn't complain about that, drink was cheap and Kim, her sister and her brother were very pleasant. Free pool table which we pretty much abused. Only fault which isn't really a fault of the hotel was the destruction of the building next to it. Across in Cambodia, destruction is brick by brick and the workers stay on site until the job is finished. Obviously the destruction of the building is not always going to be the case.

Hotel was busy with the bar pretty full at night but not too rowdy or noisy. Hotel had a laundry service and visa service for Vietnam. Internet cafe next door and also a large supermarket next door. There were a few eating places in the vacinity also which were rather good. Beach was a 2 minute walk away. When I go back to Cambodia, Sihanoukville tis is the only place I would stay because of the experience from the last time

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cthomson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This place is absolutely amazing!

The rooms are spacious and offer both air-con and fan rooms. The proximity to the beach makes this an obvious choice,not a hundred meters and you are right in amongst it! The place is fantasticly run and offers great food cooked by Daves (the owner's) wife.

The Bar out front is always humming along with people and a good story is never far away.I was initially only going to stay for 3-4 days but ended up staying for just over two weeks. I Highly reccomend this place as a must stay when in Sihanoukville.

Thanks to you both, you really made my stay at Bacchus a highlight of my trip! I'll be sure to come back as soon as i can!

Darian Willis

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed there for two nights, it was a disappointing experience.

There were stains on the bedsheet and towels, the towels had holes, instead of duvets only a larger-size towel was provided. The room was smelly when we entered it. There was no warm water and the a/c was too weak to cool the room.

You can get a much better value by shopping around in that area, either newly-build guesthouses or even rooms with ocean views for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JiJi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SihanoukvilleDave, Owner at Bacchus Guest House, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
sorry to read about your disappointing experience. We are now making an improved effort to ensure all bedding/towels are spotless, and our cleaner has been replaced. We provide a blanket on the bottom of each bed - but unfortunately we have no intention of ever supplying duvets. The a/c rooms have been checked and there is not a problem with the a/c (i have had complaints about this before, and the window had been left open, but the guest has not realised as the mosquito mesh was pulled across the open window). I would ask guests if they have any issues to talk to us during their stay, and then we can deal with it there and then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sihanoukville hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.0 km away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#8 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,466 reviews
0.0 km away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
0.0 km away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Zana Beach Guesthouse
Zana Beach Guesthouse
#23 of 234 in Sihanoukville
99 reviews
0.0 km away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
699 reviews
0.0 km away
Golden River Bungalows
Golden River Bungalows
#48 of 234 in Sihanoukville
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacchus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacchus Guest House

Property: Bacchus Guest House
Address: Occhetual Beach Road, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western/Khmer managed budget guest house located directly behind Serendipity beach. Offering clean/comfortable rooms in a great location. All nightlife/beachlife within a 2 to 3 minute walk. Popular and cosy little bar and restaurant offering range of Western/Thai and Khmer food. Full range of travel and tour services available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing