We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great find in Sonoma” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Citti

Cafe Citti
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Kenwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$16
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Italian trattoria in the heart of the wine country. Owned and operated by Luca and Linda Citti. Fresh pastas, focaccia, soups, salads and dessert made on the premises fresh daily. Specializing in northern Italian cuisine from the region of Tuscany where Luca was born and raised. Family atmosphere, casual dining. Patio seating available as well as take out for a picnic lunch at a nearby winery. Recently featured on Food Network's Diners, Drive-ins and Dives with Guy Fieri.
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
376 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great find in Sonoma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

No glitz or pretention here... Just good food in a wonderful atmosphere... You actually order at the counter and they serve you at your table... Don't let that put you off because this is a terriffic place.

Wholesome, fresh and delightful food... Mediterranean with a leaning to Italian. Great selection (not large... but works) of wines not only from Sonoma but all over the world...

I have been here twice and came away away with a smile on my face.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ggcaiazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    146
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Level Contributor
187 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Maybe we ordered wrong? Disapointing lunch.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stopped for lunch at the suggestion of the desk at Gaige House. Place was packed. You order at the counter and they deliver to your table. Most diners seemed to be enjoying pasta, pizza. I ordered a calamari salad, my wife a smoked chicken salad. We are trying to cut back on the carbs. The slads lacked a fresh taste and the sesoning in both was off in a way difficult to describe. Maybe we would stop again, order differntly.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ucddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
212 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We were so looking forward to this dinner in October, 2011. We had had a sampling of Citti's food at a barrel tasting at the winery next door to it in 2009, and had seen it featured on the Travel Channel and the Food Network. However, on this night anyway, we found it to be mediocre. We went early in order to avoid a wait; we were seated with very little wait by dining outdoors. The patio was nice and there were heaters, but we ate with our jackets on and we were still pretty cool. The salad was nice and fresh/crips, but our entrees were nothing special. My husband had the Risotto and I had gnocchi, which I had had the previous night at a different restaurant and LOVED. This was a very disappointing choice -- it was too soft and mushy and the flavor could best be described as blah. The wine list was rather limited and overpriced compared to other restaurants. They had a selection of some very nice Italian wines, but they were pretty expensive. Service was OK, but not exceptional in any way. Our bill for one salad, two entrees, bottle of Italian wine, and tip was around $100. Hate to say it since I really wanted it to be good, but I wouldn't recommend this one . . .

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArkieFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfort Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Great homemade pastas & sauces. Great service. A little different in that you walk up and place your order and then are seated. After that it becomes a traditional restaurant service. Great stop during wine tasting. we appreciated that they were open for such a late lunch [3PM]. Beware they do close between 3:30-5:30 to get ready for dinner service.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rustydog0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food in Sonoma County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Great home cooking reminds me of my grandmas holiday dinners. Tortlini soup, 5 kinds of sauces, great wine, outdoor dining, you won't want to leave. Luca and Linda make you feel at home. Don't forget desert!! This has to be my all time favorite italian restaurant. I do not give out 5 stars very often, I highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RicoSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Citti also viewed

Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 
Kenwood, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 

Been to Cafe Citti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing