We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Accommodations and Hospitality”
other travellers have booked this property
Full 2nd story apartment with amazing desert views.  Your home away from homell
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full 2nd story apartment with amazing desert views.  Your home away from homell
Your private sundeck awaits you.  Great for sunning during the day and stargazing at night. Northern view from deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Full 2nd story apartment with amazing desert views.  Your home away from homell
Your private sundeck awaits you.  Great for sunning during the day and stargazing at night.
Northern view from deck
Southern view from deck
Comfortable queen size bed
Bedroom window faces south for views of JTNP
Two futon couches in living room fold out to double beds
Flat screen TV,  Dish network, DVD player, WIFI, movies, and books for your entertainment
Dining with a view seats 5 comfortably but 6 can fit
Full kitchen if you don't want to dine out
half bath upstairs
Ful bath downstairs with different colored towels so each guest can identify their towels
Guests park in covered parking under sundeck
The views are amazing.
Watching the sunset from the front yard
'Lois' our resident Desert Tortoise shows up in the Spring
The Cactus Patch
Cacti blooming
Sit around the firepit if it's not too windy for a fire
We have a beehive on the property, far from apartment and has a sign
Your hosts: Gayle and Tom
Without makeup
Just pull the BBQ outside and grill your dinner
We provide water bottles.  Just leave them on the sink and I clean and refill for next guest
Our home is next door to the apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Joshua Tree, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sara V
Edmonds
2 reviews
“Great Accommodations and Hospitality”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at the Cactus Patch for 3 days while doing a photo trip of Joshua Tree.
There were 3 of us and it was a comfortable size!
The place was extremely clean and cozy! it was fully stocked with towels, all the kitchenware we needed, blankets, pillows, coffee, and even fresh lemonade and dried fruits from Tom and Gayle's fruit trees.
Tom and Gayle were great. Tom recommended great places for food ,hiking and photo opps. They are very down to earth and great people!
We even got to have a nice fire in their fire pit while looking at the stars.
I would recommend the Cactus Patch to friends and we'll definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tom and Gayle
Liked least: Older building, but great!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. It really does help us with making sure that we are meeting our guest's needs. We loved hosting y'all and definitely look forward to hosting you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S
1 review
“Wish we could have stayed forever!”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The entire experience knowing we had the Cactus Patch to call home was enhanced in ways that I couldn't have expected. The vibe of the property, how the rental unit is situated, and the Zen of the hosts made everything magical. Joshua Tree Park was great and all, but The Cactus Patch is a world on it's own. Hospitality was really above and beyond, I'm going to head back hopefully sooner than later, if only to bring a nice bottle of whiskey to the owners. Truly loveable people who've created an especially lovable place to call home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The many different areas to relax.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Cactus Patch! I know that time is valuable, and I appreciate you giving us some of your time. I love the way you described the vibe of the property..... It's very hard for me to put into words "how" The Cactus Patch "feels". We would absolutely LOVE to host y'all again!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJ_from_A...
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014

What a great place. Close to the park and located in a nice, peaceful area. I brought my telescope and was treated to some really amazing dark skies. Gayle and her husband were awesome. Really great people and they even came up on the deck and checked out the stars with me one night. The lodging itself was also great with all the amenities you need. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice, peaceful place to stay in the desert with great hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review The Cactus Patch. We really enjoyed hosting you and would love to host you again! We really enjoy interacting with guests that want to share their time with us. Looking through your telescope was amazing! Thank you again for staying with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maia Z
Malibu, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable, homey, friendly!”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying here! Gayle and Tom were perfect hosts--they even baked us cookies! They also gave us advice about where to go hiking, and they supplied walking sticks, maps/books, water bottles, and flashlights. The apartment is roomy, comfortable and impeccably clean. It feels more like staying with a family friend than staying in a vacation rental. Thanks Gayle and Tom--we will definitely be coming back here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2015
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write this kind review. We really do try very hard to make our guests have a "perfect vacation". Happy Trails!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for any groups - strongly recommend”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We recently had a company trip to Joshua Tree and decided to stay here - easily the best choice we made about this whole trip. Tom has been a great host and we definitely felt comfortable right away.

Place is clean and well kept, very quiet mainly because there aren't really many neighbors around. You basically get the best of both worlds (nature and civilization) and can stay comfortable while kicking it around bonfire and seeing stars.

You can drive to Joshua Tree national park within 10 min from here and it's only 2 hours from our office in LA - we will be back again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us! Our goal is always to help our guests have the perfect place to stay for their desert getaway, and we love hearing wether we met those goals, and if not, how we can do better in the future. Y'all really impressed us with how you went above and beyond in leaving the apartment clean. We couldn't ask for better guests and really look forward to hosting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing