We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean View Location”
Review of Fort Ross Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fort Ross Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Wonderful hosts, Chris and Alicia; great ocean views from room and short walk to cliff area to watch wonderful ocean as well as sunsets. Room was very clean and comfortable with nice patio area with good ocean view. Added touch with mini cutting board, cheese cutting knife, wine opener and candle. The bath tub was very deep. Great place and definitely recommend!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank melroyval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAliciaH, Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thank you so much for the great review! We strive for total guest satisfaction here at the lodge! There has been some great sunsets! It's great to hear you had a great time and got a chance to enjoy our old fashioned hospitality! Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2018

Took an anniversary trip and celebrated it at Fort Ross. Lovely setting, comfortable accommodations, and a bonus hot tub area. Relaxed atmosphere with walking trail lastirng right to cliffs overlooking the ocean. Could not have asked for a better place to spend our anniversary. Thank you Chris and Alicia for being so hospitable.

Room Tip: Read other reviews about bringing plates and utensils. Definitely advise this. A little prep goes a...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kangatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAliciaH, Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Happy Anniversary again! We so appreciate the kind words, and it was our pleasure to be of service! We are so happy we met expectations and you had such a wonderful time!
We look forward to you being our guests anytime! Thank you for the great review! Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

My wife and I have visited this property at least 4 times since 2012 -- we're obviously fans. What brings us back are the wonderful views, distance from "civilization", excellent rooms, and the complete and utter peace and relaxation that come from the combination of the previous along with unobtrusive property managers. Basically, we just want peace and quiet, and this place delivers quite nicely. Excellent food is a short drive away, along with beautiful local places of interest and wineries; however, I'm partial to the utter simplicity of enjoying champagne with the door cracked-open, whilst a roaring fire blazes near. Yes, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Newspapers are politely offered in order to help start the room's fire. Don't let pride get...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MrFitzWDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAliciaH, Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Happy new year! Thank you so much for the great review! It sounds like we hit a home run and were able to meet your getaway expectations! We so appreciate you being loyal lodge guests and your feedback is very welcoming! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Rather secluded on Hwy 1, right above the coast, with great views and serene surroundings, the lodge offers very nice rooms, some with fire place and firewood, and/or hot tub. Each room comes with a microwave, a mini-fridge, and a BBQ with charcoal provided. Nevertheless, you are on your own for plates, utensils and... food (there is a small store across the street, more if you forgot something). We spent a wonderful afternoon and a relaxing night in a cozy room on The Hill. Hosts were very friendly and helpful - we will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EUWorldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAliciaH, Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

We are so glad you found us out here on the coast for a night of relaxation! Its sounds like you had a great time and got to enjoy all the amenities of the lodge and its coastal surroundings! Thank you so much for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Gorgeous rooms right on the coast with ocean views, and a fireplace. Some rooms have private hot tubs. Perfect for a romantic getaway. Be advised that there is no cell service in the area, but they do provide free wireless.
Since there is no restaurant on the premises, one has to go either 1 mile north, for dining, or 15 miles south on winding Highway 1.
A BBQ and charcoal are provided for each room, but the guest has to be prepared in advance by bringing their own food, plate-ware, and utensils.

Room Tip: Room 5 and 14 have the most privacy and a hot tub.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zoidsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAliciaH, Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you folks for taking a minute to let other travelers know of your experiences here at the lodge! Very true there is no cell service out here, that's in some ways the joy of it depending on who you ask! We so thank you for the great review and welcome you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
1.4 km away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
146 reviews
30.7 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,781 reviews
22.4 km away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
540 reviews
35.4 km away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
33.3 km away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Ross Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Ross Lodge

Address: 20705 Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450-9743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Price Range: €134 - €190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Ross Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 cozy, romantic rooms on the beautiful Sonoma coast. Each room is individually decorated and has all the comforts of home. Most rooms offer: Ocean View, Fireplace, private patio with BBQ, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, satellite TV with HBO, and DVD player. Some rooms offer private patio hot tub, or in room jacuzzi tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fort Ross Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Ross Hotel Jenner
Fort Ross Jenner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing