We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
121
51
13
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
51
13
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiche resident ghost step back in time the owner french toast gold country gold rush fresh fruit scones lovely hotel only stayed one night cherries jubilee main street superb service an overnight stay wine glasses delightful place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Check in was fine (lady seemed a bit flustered initially) and room small but homely, and decorated to suit the historic nature of the hotel.

We ate dinner here which was average - my fish dish in particular was overcooked and missed the mark on flavour. The dessert was good though!

Breakfast was nice although some of the glasses for orange juice were dirty. Not normally something I'd worry about but the wine glasses the night before were also dirty - just concerning in terms of a lack of attention to detail.

WiFi here was terrible and kept dropping out - not ideal for making plans for the day ahead.

Overall ticked a few boxes and missed the mark in a few areas. We wanted to love the hotel, but sadly just didn't.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tomby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
national2, General Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you for your critique, but wish that you had commented verbally to us if you found us to be wanting. Not sure what you may have expected at check-in as our front desk personnel are usually very good at multi-tasking. Room was small? Our hotel is one of the 10 oldest in the State of California....think of western movies, etc. We would have hoped that you previously viewed our website and known that to be the case.

Dinner was average? Again, wish that you had commented and we would have totally redone your dinner. We take great pride in serving the finest in quality in our restaurant. Glasses were dirty? I assume that you mean they may have had some water spots on them. All glassware is washed, rinsed and sanitized. On occasion the dishwashers and/or servers do not see a water spot although we keep stressing the need to check every glass. Thanks to your comment, we have once again, met with all employees to stress the need for checking each and every glass.

Wifi is not an area that we have had many previous problems. We use Comcast and on a rare occasion the system will act up on us, but we have no control over that in this area.

Thank you, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

We had tickets to see Willie Nelson/Alison Krauss this last weekend at Ironstone Amphitheater in Murphys, and looked for a place to stay to spend the night-we chose the National Hotel to stay as it was fairly close to Murphys and was available. It also looked nice online plus the reviews were positive. We were not disappointed at all! Check in time is 2 pm but we arrived early and they were nice enough to let us check in before 2 as our room was ready. All of the staff were nice,helpful and friendly. We also had a wonderful dinner there before the concert-I had Chicken Jerusalem and my hubby had a Shrimp dish. We stayed in Room 2 and didn't have a visit from "Flo" while we were there but had a great conversation with a housekeeper about her experiences there. We will definitely come back and stay here!

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
national2, General Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you Denise for your feedback. We always try to make the visit for our guests as positive as we can. Indeed, this is one of the 10 oldest operating hotels in California and it has been completely restored. We really believe that we are serving the best possible dinners that is feasible in our area, with fresh herbs from our own garden; farm to table produce when feasible; freshly baked breads, etc. Thank you, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

What a fun town and great hotel. We love staying in Historic places and this Hotel was great. Antiques throughout the property. Modern conveniences and updated bathroom. They kept some of the unique time period aspects of the hotel like a soaking tub which was a big claw tub in a separate room. There is a restaurant and antique bar with a beautiful antique coffee maker. They were so accommodating and friendly. We got there early after a long day of riding on our motorcycle they jumped in and got our room ready sooner than expected and held our luggage while we waited. There is a cigar and whiskey bar that was unique and different along with several wine tasting opportunities. Fun place for kids to pan for gold and rocks directly across the street.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank susanepotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
national2, General Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Thank you Susan for your review. Indeed, this is one of the oldest operating hotels in the State of California and we thoroughly enjoy preserving the history of it. Again, thanks for visiting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

With only 10 rooms and living nearby we haven't stayed there but we have dined there several times, never disappointed. Great menu choices, superb service and nice ambience in this historic hotel. It's well managed by the owner/operator and a little off the highway in Jamestown.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
national2, General Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you Gary for your review. Indeed, over the past 44 years, we have worked to give the best possible service that we can. Incidentally, our wine list is the largest restaurant wine list of the "Sierra Foothill" appellation in the area, featuring a usual amount of 120 award winning varietals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night in this hotel, half way our trip to Yosemite.
A great stay, the hotel we liked as it has managed to keep his traditional gold rush atmosphere. Great hospitality, a personal tour, clean and tidy stylish rooms. The hotel has a lot history, great famous actors stayed there. We had diner at the hotel and liked the food that was presented.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GeertMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
national2, Owner at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for your response. We always attempt to present our historic hotel in a positive and accurate historic light. Indeed, the hotel is one of the 10 oldest in California, dating from 1859 and it is a pleasure to be responsible for a small part of our history. Thank you, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews