We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
84
35
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
35
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold country john wayne room historic feel rooms are small shared balcony historic building beautiful hotel main street king room filet mignon public rooms are jacuzzi tub stayed one night interesting history take home nice bathroom fluffy pillows
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018

This was our third year visiting Amador County for wine tasting. The two prior years we stayed at the Sutter Hotel in Sutter Creek but this time decided to try Jackson.
Sometimes "old historic" hotels present many problems, but the renovations done to this hotel were outstanding! We were in room #204 which had a balcony facing out the back toward the parking garage. It was great to have a balcony but maybe try to get at the front of the hotel even for a bit more money. As it was August and very hot, we appreciated being able to park in the nearby covered parking garage. And entering our room for the first time we were thrilled by the amazing air conditioning! The bed was luxurious with many fluffy pillows and comforter. The bathroom was lovely, excellent shower, bathrobes, and thick towels. There is no frig or coffee maker but they did offer a small continental breakfast which we were not expecting. The wifi worked great. The staff was very nice. We had dinner both nights at the nearby Brickhouse Brews although the hotel's steakhouse looks good and they have a beautiful bar. While in the area we went wine tasting at Deaver, Wilderotter, Runquist, and Iron Hub.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

My friend got married in Ione and she booked a block of rooms at the National Hotel. The staff was amazing and helpful. I stayed the first night in the brides room and the honeymoon suit has a very comfortable memory foam bed. Some of the rooms on the 2nd floor have a shared balcony which is great for big groups. The rooms are somewhat small so we used the shared balcony to do our hair and makeup. The rehearsal dinner was at the hotel restaurant and everyone enjoyed what they ordered. The bar has a great happy hour and a free cocktail hour that I wasn't able to attend.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank ktsimcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We stayed two nights on the second floor--John Wayne room- For a Historic feel, this is the place. There is a hotel history book on lobby counter. Very friendly . Breakfast offered. Downstairs is a nice restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

A wonderful old hotel in the heart of the Gold Country. Nicely renovated and updated rooms that still keep the historic perspective. Enjoy a complimentary wine and cheese hour in front of the a stone fireplace in the lobby. Nice bar area to enjoy a drink or dessert in the evening. Complimentary continental breakfast available in the morning.
Some rooms have a shared balcony and rooms are close so conversations can carry. But the hotel seems to attract a more mature client. So you find people who appreciate the history of a hotel established in the 1800's.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karenbR8768QD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

If you are exploring the Gold Country, I assume you love history. If so, this is the place for you to stay. The rooms are newly remodeled so are very comfy but they have retained the historic feeling. The public rooms are unbeatable. Gorgeous historic ambiance (restored not remodeled) with lots of wood and rock everywhere. We had a Jacuzzi tub overlooking the city....i was told we could see out but no one could see in....hope that is true or we put on a show.....lol

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SuzyFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews