We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to call Sheriff on Mary, the 80 year old Owner of Inn”

Mile High Country Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mile High Country Inn
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Although the cabins are cute and quaint, and the prices are cheap, DO NOT stay at the Mile High Country Inn. I had to call the Sheriff on the owner of the property, (an 80 year old crazy lady named Mary) on 11-08-15 for invading our privacy and letting herself into our room at 830am. She let herself in while me and my daughter were still in bed, sat on the couch, and would not leave, demanding more $$...She was in our room for almost 2 hours, still sitting on the same stupid couch, until I took a picture of her. I did not feel safe to leave her in our room, not knowing what she would do. Sheriff said they have had incidents before with her, actually taking her in for mental illness evaluations. It was supposed to be a fun mother daughter weekend get-a-way, but she was too much for me! I will be contacting the BBB, as well as the City of Commerce for Idyllwild, and definitely leaving appropriate posts on Yelp and all travel websites. (Also recommended by the Sheriff) This lady should NOT be running a business, and if I can help another family avoid this from happing to them, then that's what I am going to do. DO NOT stay at the Mile High Country Inn!!!

Room Tip: DO NOT stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tonya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in the Red Robin room. The bed and chairs were very comfy. Old TV with DVD player. Free WiFi. Strange layout of cabin; bathroom on opposite side of cabin from sleeping area. Living area very dark. Back deck consisted of tiny area with two plastic chairs facing a fence. Nice front porch but not very private. Good ceiling fans in sitting and sleeping areas. Did not use whirlpool tub. No kitchen, only mini fridge & microwave, small table & chairs. Walking distance to town, shops, restaurants. Assigned parking. Cash only. Would return; nearly impossible to find a decent king bed in Idyllwild!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank maryandhumphrey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

It is not a room you really enjoy being in but it is a place to sleep and keep your beer cold. It's relatively clean with good linens. It's very close to town & restaurants. Cash only paid up front is the policy. The showers are mounted at about 5 feet high with only warm or cold water. It's well water with a bit of an odor as well. We were not unhappy enough to leave but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCMGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Poor rating for this place- no heat, stained blanket, inn keeper feels customer is second. I never rate anything but, this time feel prompted to caution other with no sleep and the feeiling of being ripped off.

Room Tip: None here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed in the Lilac Room. Unlike most of the other rooms, it has a shower instead of a whirlpool tub and more of a budget price. It's on the end of the block of rooms so it only shares a wall with another room on one side--very quiet and peaceful, and nice light from all of the windows. There's a mini fridge and a coffee maker, and it's within walking distance of town. It met all of our needs...the cozy feel of the room truly makes it feel like a mountain getaway. The only nice addition would be wireless internet for guests!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Idyllwild hotels
2.2 km away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#4 of 9 in Idyllwild
160 reviews
0.5 km away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#5 of 9 in Idyllwild
52 reviews
0.3 km away
Silver Pines Lodge
Silver Pines Lodge
#2 of 14 in Idyllwild
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Idyllwild RV Resort
Idyllwild RV Resort
#1 of 14 in Idyllwild
426 reviews
0.4 km away
Pine Woods Resort
Pine Woods Resort
#8 of 9 in Idyllwild
65 reviews
0.9 km away
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
#3 of 14 in Idyllwild
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mile High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mile High Country Inn

Address: 54605 North Circle Drive, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Region: United States > California > Idyllwild
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Idyllwild
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing