We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Felt at home - but the view was better”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shell's Place

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Glencairn, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Stefan S
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Felt at home - but the view was better”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Spent three nights at Shell's Place in December 2014 and felt totally at home. The House was immaculately clean, Shelly was very friendly, the location offers breathtaking views and the overall setting made us feel totally at home. Free wifi worked well, and the owner's cat comes by to get a cuddle from visitors.

Would definitely recommend / go there again!

Important to know: the location is on a steep hill, so if you're into running/biking, the last 500m will certainly be an intensive workout. We loved it :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
The two of you are the fittest cyclists I have had as guests at Shell's Place. I am delighted it is not only me that finds this mountain quite a climb on a bicycle.
Tantra Meeouw enjoyed your company too. He is so wise that he only interacts with guests who make him feel welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarelHerb...
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Warm, friendly welcome host. Great home. Wonderful view and location. Ideal breakaway for holiday or getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre H
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Attention to Detail”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Stayed at Shell's place for a 3 night weekend in April. Immediately made to feel welcome. Were blessed with perfect Cape Town weather. Enjoyed sundowners on the deck. Very happy to have uncapped/free wi-fi available. And of course the bath is hard to explain. You will just have to book in and try it for yourself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeremie c
cape town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“home sweet home”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we'd like to thank Shelley for a mind blowing week at Shells place. On arrival at Shells place on a beautiful, sunny Afternoon, Shelley greeted us with a welcoming smile that immediately had my wife and I feel comfortably at home in Glen Cairn. Our grocery shopping had already been done for us, as kindly offered by Shelley at a minute extra cost! everything that we wanted was ready! A huge Living room with an outside Deck looking Down on to glen Cairn beach, and its surrounding mountains in the distance, and this is where we popped open a bottle of champagne that Shelley had chilling for us, to celebrate our honey moon, whilst admiring the breath taking African sunset.
There was no need for us to make phone calls to organize any of the activities that we wanted to take part in. We simply picked a few and Shelley booked them for us. We went mountain biking, Shark cage diving, tandem paragliding, and visited numerous wine estates in the area.
Everything was so well organized, from the fully stocked bar,to the in door fire place, to the free standing bath in our bedroom which by the way, also over looked glen cairn's magnificent sun sets.
when we come back next year, Which we certainly will, we'd like to bring our friends with us to experience Cape town, and to stay in Shells amazing guest house, which in our opinion, felt like home.
once again, Thank you a million! and see you next year :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: taking a bath, watching the African sunset and sipping a glass of south African Champagne, all at the same time!
Liked least: I can't say that there was anything to dislike about Shells place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk L
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Wow! What a view, we will be back next year if not sooner!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Thanks Shell! Your wine suggestions were superb, I'll never forget the views, even from the bathtub! My wife thought the wild-life was equally amazing, I never thought we would could have so much and so close to Cape Town and the Wineries. Not to mention the short train ride along the beach into the city was an attraction in itself. Magical, you'll be seeing us for our next anniversary as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Only the long flight to South Africa.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$133
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing