We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Stay as nice as the First!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
manhattan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Second Stay as nice as the First!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

My college daughter and I returned for a second time to Honor Mansion for a quick mother/daughter retreat. It was exactly what we wanted - restful, fun, pampering. Healdsburg offers a lot in a small space - spa, shopping, dining, historic buildings. We had a great hike in the Armstrong Redwood State Reserve and ate the best ravioli of our lives at Catelli's. The staff at Honor Mansion was helpful in making suggestions and sending a constant stream of little treats our way. Looks like we have started a tradition while our men go skiing - ladies head to Honor Mansion!

Room Tip: Tower Suite was a lot of fun - although the steps are steep: be careful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripster57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you so much for returning to the Honor Mansion and for taking the time to write us a review. We are so pleased that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and were able to spend some special time with your daughter. We will certainly enjoy hosting you for your ladies get-a-way the next time the boys go skiing! Until then, be well and enjoy!

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    30
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
564
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I are very impressed by the Honor Mansion. From booking till today when we returned, everyone at the Honor Mansion has been nothing but top notch. All the companies for tours they recommended and we used were outstanding and the restaurants were wonderful as well. Breakfast at the Mansion was great and the grounds have so much to offer not to mention how adorable the rooms are. We stayed in Vineyard Suite 1 (looked just like the pictures, if not better in person due to the ambiance) and our friends next to us in Vineyard Suite 2. Both rooms had everything you needed down to the little things almost all places do not think of, like a dark towel to wash makeup off with. We just loved it, all had a blast and will be back!! The appetizers and wine were a great extra treat as well!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you ever so much for your review of the Honor Mansion. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write and tell others of your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and that the staff was successful in making your stay a good experience. We appreciate that you chose us when we know that there are so many options out there. We do hope to see you again and sooner than later if possible. Enjoy the spring time!

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I cannot speak highly enough about this place. My girlfriend and I (early/mid-20s) had an amazing time. After receiving a tip from a colleague to stay at hotel healdsburg, I went on TripAdvisor and after looking at a number of options, chose Honor Mansion based on how strong the reviews were, and also because of the TripAdvisor discount featured on this site (we were staying on a Wednesday and Thursday, not valid for the weekend)

We were budget conscious, so we chose one of the more affordable options in the main inn (Dogwood).

As soon as we arrived, we were told of a complimentary upgrade to the Pool Suite!!! FANTASTIC! While we would have had a great time in the Dogwood room, the Pool Suite was just awesome--the extra room with two recliners, and the outdoor tub, it was just a real surprise and made us feel incredibly comfortable.

The staff was super helpful and very knowledgeable about the different wineries we could visit. The cookies in the lobby, the chocolate cake they provided for my birthday, the complimentary wine and welcome sign they provided on our arrival (in both the Dogwood room and the Pool Suite--since we had a choice of whether or not we wanted the upgrade) were all fantastic extras. Also loved the automatic fireplace.

The breakfast, as other reviews have mentioned, was fantastic. Given that we came during the week off-season, they were able to bring us breakfast to our room rather than provide it in the dining room, and this was another "upgrade" that was much appreciated. The breakfast was quite delicious, particularly the granola with fruits. There was a big issue with one of the dishes they provided--the pineapple french toast--it was very poorly made, but given the high quality of everything else, we saw this as an anomaly and it was easy to forgive this.

We also took advantage of their DVD collection, which had a lot of great DVDs. Other than that, we used some of the complimentary free wine tastings we got to visit a number of wine tasting booths in downtown. For dinner one of the nights, we found a binder of information on all the restaurants in the area very useful in making our decision on where to get food from.

This is a hidden gem and won me a ton of brownie points with my girlfriend for finding this place. Thank you Honor Mansion, and thank you TripAdvisor!

Room Tip: SPLURGE FOR A SUITE! Pool suite was fantastic. Bonus here is the outdoor hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amukherj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for the Honor Mansion. Please thank your colleague for us for recommending Healdsburg. We are happy that you found us and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I truly apologize for the “Pineapple French toast”. I can’t imagine what happened as we truly do get many compliments on it every time we serve it. It has been on our menu for almost 2 years and you are the first to mention not liking it. I will personally make sure that it is tested the next time we serve it for quality control. I’m just thankful that it didn’t hinder your stay in any way but I do understand you being disappointed.

As you mentioned, sometimes in the slower season we are able to offer upgrades and we are pleased that you enjoyed the Pool Suite.

Again, thank you for your review and for mentioning the French toast so that we can fix the issue or at least improve it.

We will look forward to your return!

Warm regards,
Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Honor Mansion every year for the last five years. We hope we can continue going for many more years as we absolutely love staying there. Cathi, Steve and the staff are so welcoming and helpful. The accommodations are very relaxing and you can chose from many activities on the grounds and in the area. The breakfasts are something we always look forward to. Healdsburg is a very charming small town with great restaurants and shops. The Sonoma wine country is wonderful in that many of the wineries are small and if you visit in the low season you often get to meet the owners and/or winemakers. We have spent time at wineries where we were the only people there which offers a chance to really learn about the wines and the inner workings of the winery. There are other small towns worth visiting as well. Armstrong State Park has giant redwoods and is very quiet. We go there every year and continue to marvel at its beauty. We truly enjoy this marvelous part of California.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the main house, a suite and the cottages. Our favorite is the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomPut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review and for taking the time to write it. It’s always a pleasure having you return, we feel as though we are greeting old friends. We are truly grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and we will look forward to the years ahead. Until then, be well and enjoy this New Year!

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had a great time in Sonoma this weekend. We are not usually big fans of B&Bs but our stay at the Honor Mansion was fantastic. The facilities were first rate, the staff was friendly and extremely helpful, the breakfasts were delicious, and Steve Fowler, one of the owners, was very helpful with suggestions on wineries to visit. Healdsburg and the Honor Mansion are in the center of Sonoma and a great point for the best in wine tours, food, and fun. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Honor Mansion. We appreciate it greatly and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service we provided. We will certainly look forward to your return!

Warm regards,
Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
1.3 km away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
17.3 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
14.5 km away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Property: Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Address: 14891 Grove St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4821
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Healdsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Healdsburg
#2 Green Hotel in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing