We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Pearl”
Review of Casa Civitas

Casa Civitas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$28
Cuisines: Gastropub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

If the Alburni Mountains were the oyster, then Casa Civitas is the pearl inside. This unassuming restaurant. located just outside the Grotte di Castelcivita, shines with delicious homemade food. Went just after Easter and loved every bite. Definitely try the cannelloni beans with mushrooms. It's a side dish that could definitely be a meal by itself. Then, of course, the homemade pasta --- had the ravioli, could have had the cavatelli. Both were cooked perfectly. The two appetizers were good too --- the cheese plate and the meat plate. Perfect starters to filling lunch. Oh, yes, don't miss the bread with oil --- a homemade extra-virgin oil made from olives grown on the family's property. Licked up every drop of this golden juice and even took home a gallon!! Family waiters are friendly and attentive and prices are amazingly reasonable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Civitas_M, Direttore at Casa Civitas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear customer,

thanks a lot for your accurated description of your experience at Casa Civitas. We serve the food produced in our farm and serve it through our traditional grandma's recipes. We want to involve customers in a traditional food experience of Castelcivita, that's our mission and we are glad you appreciated it.

Sincerely,

Casa Civitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

Me and my wife were traveling to Grotte di Castelcivita and didn't even know about this restaurant.

It was a pleasant surprise for us. In such a place, family restaurant with wonderful kitchen.

We have chosen traditional dishes of the region. Meal and service was excellent quality. And the prices were decent.

We would recommend to visit it to everyone going to Castelcivita.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank petkeviciuspetras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Civitas_M, Proprietario at Casa Civitas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear customer,
thanks a lot to be our guest for one day as well as for recommending us with such kind words. We are glad you enjoyed any aspect of our job and particularly our traditional recipes.
Best regards,
michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We had visited the cave of Castelcevita and sat down for a drink and lunch. Your would expect a "tourist experience", but we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and friendliness of the service. Certainly recommended. We would go there for a lunch or dinner if it were somewhere else!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Ingrid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Civitas_M, Proprietario at Casa Civitas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Ingrid,
thank you for sharing your good experience to Casa Civitas. We are a traditional restaurant tough we are located next to the caves. Thanks for underlining that aspect.
Sincerely,
michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Eating in this small, intimate farm restaurant was a pleasure. It's obviously a well run business with a definite notion of good service owned by a family who take real pride in making your meal a lovely dining experience. Our waiter was solicitous and it was fun to share conversation with him (especially when we found out that both he and my husband attended the same university). It was so nice after the very impersonal service for quite standard food in busy Roman restaurants to meet someone who really wanted us to try the fabulous-tasting food they produced (the nut ice cream was exceptional).

There is an outdoor section, but we ate inside simply because outside was full. Every item of food was delicious and we shared the taste sensations as a family. The whole meal was 58 Euros.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Afric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Civitas_M, Proprietario at Casa Civitas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear family,
I remember of you, 4 people rom England who ate to us.
Good hospitality and authentic food from Castelcivita are what we want offer to our guests, so we are very glad you felt comfortable with us, talking and tasting.
Best regards from Casa Civitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Really lucky to have stumbled on this eatery. Situated next to the grottoes was just perfect for lunch. Dishes all using local ingredients and their own olive oil. My ravioli was the best I've had in Italy.Very friendly and passionate about their food.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank r_burling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Civitas_M, Proprietario at Casa Civitas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear guest,
we do our best to be authentic, cooking the tipical food of our village. Thanks a lot for appreciating and sharing.
Best regards from Casa Civitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Civitas also viewed

Sicignano degli Alburni, Province of Salerno
Controne, Province of Salerno
 
Perdifumo, Cilento and Vallo di Diano National Park
Castelcivita, Province of Salerno
 
Sala Consilina, Province of Salerno
Buccino, Province of Salerno
 

Been to Casa Civitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing