We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,297)
Filter reviews
2,297 results
Traveller rating
1,536
402
177
99
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,536
402
177
99
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit the ritz club level golf course indoor pool guest house valet parking beautiful resort the cliff navio restaurant tennis courts resort fee coastal view room wine bar play golf rose petals turn down service
Filter
Updating list...
1,856 - 1,861 of 2,297 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I attended a conference here for work and the ballrooms and catering was quite lovely. The hotel rooms have beautiful marble bathrooms and gas fireplaces and this whole hotel is located on the ocean (breathtaking views) and has a wonderful golf course. Great walking path along the cliffs (though not lit at night except by the moon. It is a wonderful place to hold a conference or for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLFERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This was only because the food was so surprisingly bad in a place where the view was shockingly good. We started with a $16 bloody mary that was the most unnoteworthy bloody ever sold. I've seen more flourish in a $5 bloody mary sold at a horse race track. The $16 cheeseburger had to be sent back on account of being burned and neither boy could/would eat it. The caesar salad was a disappointment. The potato chips were good and we thank the fine people at the factory where they came from. ALL of this was made up for with the unbelievable view of the Pacific Ocean and the fine terrace of the Ritz.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank CB1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Met up with friends from UK and CA - stayed on the club floor which was an excellent place . It enaled us to m eet up for cocktails and small talk before enjoying wonderful at the Nuevo restuarant.
Great food, great ambiance...a perfect place for lovers of all ages.

Room Tip: Club floor has great ocean view rooms with window seats, and great bathrooms.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have stayed at numerous Ritz locations and it's time I write a review so guests know what to expect. The location of this hotel is quite beautiful and would be a perfect retreat for a golf trip. The weather while visiting was serene and definitely made the experience more enjoyable. Overall, the hotel is very clean so if that's important then you won't be dissapointed, but the room we had was small. You are paying for that view of the golf course with a peak of the ocean.

We stayed in the terrace fire pit room and had fun making S'mores with our daughter. One negative point for the terrace room is that you are so close to the other guest rooms with fire pits and can hear everything they are saying.

Honestly, the Ritz service isn't the same at this hotel. The reception check-in was ok, but barely gave any information for our first visit to this location. We had amenities for the Amex fine hotels and resorts, but didn't receive anything here. It is the first time we weren't upgraded at a hotel under the program and we weren't allowed to pay the difference for the club level....even though this hotel still showed availability on-line that morning. It seemed as though reception didn't check status and was nervous about guests waiting in line behind us. This wasn't the usual Ritz service we receive and something was missing from employees. Also, we should have received a spa credit and that wasn't even mentioned. Completely dissapointed with our expected amenities and that ruined the start of our trip at this hotel.

We did enjoy the view from the terrace restaurant plus the food was delicious. Please keep in mind that part of the people on the terrace appeared as if they weren't hotel guests at all......just enjoying the setting. This spot is very overrun with tourists.

Our stay at the Ritz San Francisco a few night before was such a different experience! Check-in service was amazing, housekeeping was sweet, all staff said hello and the bellman went above the job description. The Ritz Half Moon Bay is not the same Ritz experience you might expect if you have spent time with this hotel group. Comparison of price plus service makes us appreciate the other Ritz locations.

Room Tip: terrace fire pit rooms are small
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firstreview931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Located on a picturesque cliff overlooking the ocean, our coastline view actually looking mostly at the golf course with partial ocean view. The view might be better on a higher floor but we are on the terrace room with fire pit. The furnishing is just what one would expect from the Ritz. It is an easy walk to the beach with good tidal pools. We saw starfish, sea anemones and small fish. It was Friday night and there was a bagpiper playing. The $8 hot chocolate is just delicious. Dinner at Navio was superb with reasonable prize ( better value than the $38 breakfast buffet). It was an easy drive from San Francisco. We also went to Natural Bridge Park about an hour away for the monarch butterfly that migrated there during the winter time. Tennis court, racquets, and wi-fi were included with resort fees. It is certainly ranked among one of the best hotel that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PP2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews