We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn, funky town, great combination of wine and woods”
Review of Sonoma Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Charming inn, funky town, great combination of wine and woods”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Location is great for Russian River/Healdsburg wineries and the North Coast. Two hour drive from SFO. Korbel next door and hundreds of other wineries a short drive away. First time to the Russian River area and we couldn't have chosen a better spot for a home base. Brian and Dana were wonderful hosts--always ready to give tips to those interested, but never overbearing. They obviously put care and thought into everything about the place from their own "tour guide" binders with valuable local knowledge to the guest kitchen (full of dishes, glasses, and utensils with bottled water, juices, teas, cookies, candies, and picnic supplies). There was also the hot tub with towels awaiting, wireless internet, and NY Times, books, DVDs to share in the living room, and well-kept grounds with several seating areas.

The breakfasts were lovely, enhanced by their own eggs and veggies. They included a good assortment of things and there was variety each day--excellent quality ingredients, well made, and attractively served. Also, individual guests' dietary requests were handled with aplomb.

We stayed in the smallest room (Wisteria). Felt it was beyond cozy...too small. No comfortable place to sit or for two people’s weekend bags. The shower was a little problematic. I'm a light sleeper, so we had to keep the only window closed at night to keep the River Rd noises out. Fortunately, the room stayed very cool. Comfy bed and linens. If you're okay with only a place to sleep, this room works. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. We will choose a different room next visit.

Room Tip: Probably not the Wisteria room...unless you just want a place to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    50
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
183
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

A coworker/friend and I stayed at the Inn for a long weekend getaway at the end of a business trip. We arrived later than expected, but Brian and Dana were very accommodating, ensuring we had an available key and knew what to do once we arrived.

The Inn was beautiful - well appointed and taken care of. The common areas were comfortable and tastefully decorated. Our room, the Oak room, was charming and cozy.

Brian and Dana were kind and gracious hosts - and the breakfasts! Oh, the breakfasts! Breakfast custard, a lovely fruit blend and a tasty sausage. Extra tasty, super fresh eggs with home grown chiles, more sausage, and more delicious fruit. And the cookies!

The Inn made a lovely "home base" for our adventures to Healdesburg and San Francisco. Our only regret was that our flight left so early that we missed our last day's breakfast!

Room Tip: The best room depends greatly on your needs - there's a great variety!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April7901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The inn is centrally located near the redwoods, russian river, resturants and wineries. This is a charming, inviting inn with delicoius beaskfast and personal attention from inn keepers Brian and Dana. I would definitely recommend this inn for a beautiful and relaxing travel destination.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonfly094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Dana and Brian run a lovely country Inn. Everything was clean, beds were comfortable and breakfasts were outstanding. Dana is a wonderful cook and he and Brian are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a cottage that had a spacious bedroom and was well appointed. The main house living area is very charming and great for reading and relaxing. This inn is a very good value and is a nice change from the typical wine country location. Did I mention the excellent breakfasts :-) Also, if you can visit the Farmhouse restaurant right down the street- make reservations. Pricey but a dinner to remember.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauracoPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed for two nights in late June. This B&B is near the western edge of the Sonoma wine country and if you are looking for a fancy town to shop at, go farther east. Geurneville is very eclectic and much more of camping, swimming vacation type of town (with a Medical marijuana dispensary to boot). There are still patches of redwood forest nearby and this, as much as the vineyards gives Geurneville its character. There are wonderful wineries close by and the hosts, Brian and Dana will guide you to some of the best. Dana is a fabulous cook and his breakfasts are top notch. The Inn is in an unpretentious building, but it is very tastefully furnished - not overdone. There are some quiet back roads to walk along in the shade of the redwoods and the setting is really nice. I really liked this place, but I have one reservation and that is the road noise. The Inn is quite close to River Road - a two lane highway and the traffic is pretty significant throughout the day and into the evening - and it moves. The cottages are farther from the road and probably quieter. We did ok with good quality ear plugs, but would have had a tough time sleeping otherwise. If you live in the city, this may not be an issue, but our home is in a pretty rural setting so we have grown accustomed to the quiet

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
7.0 km away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
691 reviews
21.9 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,434 reviews
13.9 km away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
513 reviews
2.2 km away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
413 reviews
3.6 km away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Orchid Inn

Property: Sonoma Orchid Inn
Address: 12850 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9276 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoma Orchid Inn - it's all about location, stylish comfort and convenience. Exit the urban scene for an escape to the country. The redwoods rise, the vineyards yield fog-kissed premier Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, the coast beckons, and the scenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonoma Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Orchid Hotel Guerneville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing