We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice house for the Area- Good for large groups”

Review of Gillaroo House

Gillaroo House, Large Family Home, Walk to Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gillaroo House, Large Family Home, Walk to Beach
Gillaroo House, High Ceilings, Modern Home, WIFI Gillaroo House, Kitchen, Great for Familiy Accommodations
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Gillaroo House, Large Family Home, Walk to Beach
Gillaroo House, High Ceilings, Modern Home, WIFI
Gillaroo House, Kitchen, Great for Familiy Accommodations
Gillaroo House, Modern Kitchen, Ice Maker
Gillaroo House, Russian River, CA. Open Living Space
Gillaroo House, Wine Contry Vacation Getaway, Open Floorplan
Gillaroo House, Beautiful Vacation Home, Open Living Space
Gillaroo House, Living Room, Russian River Getaway
Gillaroo House, King Bed, Russian River Vacation Rental,
Gillroo House, Master Suite, With Private Balcony
Gillaroo House, Guerenville Vacation Rental, Jacuzzi Tub
Gillaroo House, Large Master Bathroom, Jacuzzi Tub
Gillaroo House, Modern Vacation Rental, Internet Access
Gillaroo House, Sunny Balcony, Views
Gillaroo House, Queen Bed, Vacation Rental that Sleeps 10
Gillaroo House, 4 Bedroom 3 Bath Home in the Russian River
Gillaroo House, Perfect for Families, Dog Friendly
Gillaroo House, 4 Bedroom 3 Bathroom Vacation Rental
Gillaroo House, Lovely Guerneville Vacation Home, Flowers
Gillaroo House, Near the Russian River, Neighborhood Beach
Gillaroo House, Large Vacation Home with River Access Nearby
Gillaroo House, Exterior from Landscaped Yard, Fully Fenced
Gillaroo House, Ladscaped Yard, Wine Country Rental
Gillaroo House, Red Rose, Dog Friendly Vacation Home
Gillaroo House, Bird House, Vacation Home with Charm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Guerneville, Sonoma County, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kristi B
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice house for the Area- Good for large groups”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

10 of us stayed here this past weekend for a 30th birthday. For the Russian River/Guerneville area, the house is definitely on the nicer side. The exterior is cute and it is only steps down to a private little beach area. Kitchen is updated and there is a big nice fridge along with another one in the garage. Plenty of space in the bedrooms for all of us and the bathrooms were all nice.

Some of the cons/things to consider:
1. Very hot upstairs, even with the windows open at night (no fans/AC so recommend opening windows once it cools down at night!)
2. Furniture all seems to be from IKEA, and I think the beds/pillows are too. That said, not very comfortable but fine for a quick weekend trip.
3. Front door lock seemed to be broken. Was very hard to lock from interior and the other side door was tricky too. Felt a little uneasy with this.

That said, we would definitely stay here again for what it was. The people at the Rental Agency were super nice and helpful, and it was a pretty quick and easy transaction.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The size of the house and number of beds. Good location
Liked least: The issues with the doors/locking
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richa P
Oakland, California
1 review
“Spacious house, good location!”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Gillaroo house. It was very spacious, we had 8 people in our party and everyone had a bed to sleep in. The master bedroom is very beautiful. We liked sitting around the dining table. The kitchen is very spacious, well stocked with pots, pans, dishes. I would highly recommend it to others who have larger parties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Thank you for the kind words!
Gillaroo House is a perfect spot for larger families or traveling friends and we're glad you found it for your group! The kitchen was fully remodeled in the last couple years and with new appliances and lots of counter space, it's ideal for cooking together. Thank you again for sharing with future guests!

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJR_Presc...
Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the Russian River, Love the House”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Beautiful house, great kitchen (sharp knives even), kayak in the garage for our use, wonderful neighborhood, everything we could have hoped for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: None of it.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thank you for writing a review!

Gillaroo House is a great spot, super close to the river and the owners did a beautiful job with a recent kitchen remodel!

FYI: The kayak is not part of the advertised amenities and is only at the house temporarily.

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
san francisco
Reviewed 4 June 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jun 2013
Hello!
Thanks for the comments! We appreciate the feedback now and when you are at the house. We stock the house with an initial batch of supplies (like TP and paper towel, dishwasher stuff and more) and then folks can get more if they need more during their stay. We have a 24 hour Safeway and a great little natural grocery here in town.

I believe the pots and pan have been replaced since your stay, but we'll double check - they certainly take a beating much faster than ours at home! And we ask guests to do certain things (like pull sheets off the beds and start a load of towels and wash dishes) to keep the cleaning cost as low as possible. It's always a trade off, but the majority of the cost for the cleaning is doing the laundry for 10 people and sanitizing the house between guests.

We're glad you were able to enjoy the 3rd night free!

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing