We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveller rating
460
283
77
41
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
460
283
77
41
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews iron door saloon adjoining rooms claw foot rooms are small charming hotel old west small town yogurt oldest saloon the mexican restaurant yosemite national park visiting yosemite san francisco beds were comfortable queen bed road trip drive
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 874 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Beautiful period hotel with the biggest bed I have ever seen. A small place in a great little location ideal for Yosemite. We had room 7 which had a great en-suite. Check in was very, very laid back. Would definitely return

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ricwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelonyV5, General Manager at Hotel Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Thanks Ric. Room 7 is great indeed. We are so glad you liked the giant King sized bed. Its a perfect room for spreading out. We are proud to have en-suite baths in all our units for guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

Ok... for a couple we got a twin... 2 singles to be precise. But what a luvly little place. Out off the main route and twinned with the Groveland across the street. The hotel was clean and tidy bar the last occupants jean and shorts found hanging on the door. Built in 1918 it still has the charm but modernized to suit.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank johnforrestscott2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelonyV5, General Manager at Hotel Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Dear John,
Thank you so much for your review of your stay and you cheerful attitude about the less than romantic bed situation! We are glad we were able to accommodate you both and that you enjoyed your stay in Groveland. We hope you will visit us again and try out one of our romantic large rooms with a soaking tub (rooms 12 and 15) or couples shower (room 14).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Our car broke down in Yosemite and we happened to book a room in Hotel Charlotte while we waited for the car to be fixed. The hotel was cute and charming, and our room was clean and cozy. However, the best part of our stay was the staff. Everyone we met was extremely helpful, offering early check-in so we could store our bags while we went to the park, and giving us great recommendations. Carol in particular was even sweet enough to give us a ride to the mechanic the next morning to pick up our car! Overall, amazing stay and wonderful people. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone passing through!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank andrew54321805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelonyV5, General Manager at Hotel Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Andrew,
Well, we are sorry you found us because of a car problem, but happy you enjoyed your stay. We are so happy our great staff took care of you and made your trip a bit more easy. We are glad to have had the chance to share our small town hospitality with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The room was perfect. Very comfortable beds and nice, clean bathroom. My kids loved the clawfoot bathtub. Easy check in. We were late arriving and called the staff to notify them. They left directions for us to find our room and check in.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Charlotte. Our trip to Yosemite fell through a bit, due to the wildfires, but just staying at the hotel was a nice alternative. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the other places in Groveland, like the Mexican restaurant next door.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nilskappeyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews