We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not come back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bacara Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would not come back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

For $375 per night which was discouted rate received room no view in dark cave like section with no wi fi no coffemaker unless you pay additional $10. Room well decorated but Walls paper thin heard conversations in next room until midnight and they change sheets every three days unless request and when we did they did not do it anyway. Beautiful grounds but dont walk on beach unless you want tar on shoes that does not come off or on bare feet Food expensive but good. Will not be back

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DArbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,271
    390
    234
    174
    132
See reviews for
493
912
46
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

Wonderfull service, wonderfull room and wonderfull food.
I don't know if I am in a good mood because of the vacation, but I really apreciate the hotel!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thanks for you kind comments. I am glad we added something special to your vacation.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I recently spent two nights here on business to attend a small professional conference held on the property. This is a lovely full service, rambling resort with spacious, comfortable, quiet rooms, exceptional housekeeping, and great service by the abundant staff. The location overlooking the ocean is hard to beat as are the views of the ocean. Food and beverages were top notch. Located about a 10 minute drive from the Santa Barbara airport. Conference support at meals and receptions was superb as were the meeting room facilities. They get it right. No need to leave once you are there unless you just want to get out and about. Next time I'll take a taxi rather than rent a car.

Room Tip: There is ongoing remodeling but no noise that I heard. You might want to ask for a room away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MovinOnAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thanks for your review of the resort. This is indeed an outstanding place to hold a conference. I am also glad to hear you enjoyed your banquet meals. In fact, that is one of the most outstanding things about Bacara. Our F & B Team is top notch! Whether you are dining ala carte or at a function, the food is simply out of this world.

We hope you will come back again to enjoy some personal time.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

It was my first time staying in Santa Barbara. I had to go up for a business trip. The hotel was amazing. it sits right on the beach and the views were spectacular. I slept like a baby with my window open, enjoying the ocean breeze. The staff were warm and friendly. The resort is large but it has a very intimate feel. I had planned on going into town for dinner, but the resort had everything on grounds. My meal was delicious. I highly recommend it. I will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Gorgeous, relaxing spa by the beach... The poolside cabanas are incredible... Reminiscent of golden years past. Great setting... Loved listening to the waves crash as we fell asleep at night. Excellent service well worth it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chhawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
19.9 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
20.1 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
20.5 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
19.5 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
25.8 km away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing