We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
259
171
30
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
259
171
30
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view walking path second floor sitting area picture window can't beat the view whirlpool tub rooms are huge mile trail bottle of champagne bit dated glass beach upper floor floor room romantic getaway beautiful room crashing waves
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Overall visit good,wonderfull views,from first floor,(be aware footpath,cycle path between sea and hotel,not really just sea front.upgrades to first floor need to be sorted, room clean and bed comfortable,needs upgrading as rooms bit tired ,but for the price ok.

Room tip: Upper floor
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosalyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Booked for our Anniversary getaway the views and ability to open the door at night and fall asleep to the crashing ocean is awesome. These sights and sounds give the Very Good 4-star rating. The room was clean, put at some point it would be great for the owners to consider some upgrades to boost the comfort of the room. The sitting chair was so badly worn, the naugahyde was peeling off everything, and the dining chairs are broken down. The arm on one of the chairs was separating and offered a painful pinch. If I'm going to want to enjoy this spectacular view, nice seating would be nice. There was also a fee to use the safe....no biggy I guess but for what you pay here, I was a little taken aback. Another excellent thing is the walking path (Old Haul Road) that offers scenic walking. This is a lovely place, and I do recommend it. Some fixing up, would make this place 5-stars.

Room tip: Upstairs = better views
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mdpurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

This was our third
time at this at this Motel. The room is very spacious. Nice 2 Sinks. Fireplace and the view of beach and ocean is fabulous. Refrigerate, wine glasses and wine bottle opener in room. Can sit outside on Lanai. We love this motel and will always stay there when in Ft. Bragg. Only a couple negative things for us, Office closes at night, doesn't open until 0800. I am told they serve a breakfast at 0800 but we always have to leave before 0800. Would be nice to have a microwave and a clock/ alarm in room. Just can't beat the view!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We booked the King room with sitting area but luckily got upgraded to a king room with fireplace and whirlpool tub. The room was clean and well maintained and the whirlpool tub was awesome. My 4 yr son enjoyed a lot. The TV was on the smaller side. The Bed was very comfortable and had a direct view to the ocean. The patio was awesome as it have a excellent ocean view and you get patio chairs as well. There is a trail/walk way right behind the hotel. The wifi was a little spotty and mobile reception weak(may be coz we had T-mobile). The blinds on the Patio door was missing but since we were on the second floor it wasn't an issue. The breakfast was very simple with just coffee/tea, fruits, juices and some pastries. Luckily there was a Dennys closeby. The service at the lodge was very good and the front desk helped us with places to visit, suggestions for restaurants, etc. The location was pretty close to all tourist spots and the best part that stands apart is the ocean view. Really enjoyed our stay here.

Room tip: Go for the rooms on the second floor as the view is even better. The King rooms with Fireplace and Whirlpool tub would be the best
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janardhanan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

This hotel has an outstanding view of the ocean. There is a path that runs just in front of it and goes for quite a distance. We were fortunate to get lodging which had two separate bedrooms, however, while there was no door separating the rooms, they were laid out to where one was tucked away around a corner from the other which provided a little privacy. While we would have liked the top floor, all two bedrooms units were on the ground floor. The decor was o.k., but there was a leather-like chair in a corner that was totally bare of the leather on the edges and looked like it was 100 years old - this should probably been removed from the room as it did nothing but detract from the remaining decor.
Our first night there was warm and, unfortunately, there was no air conditioning. Since there were no ceiling fans, we had to borrow a couple of small oscillating table fans from the office. We could not leave the patio door open because there was a squirrel that kept hoping from patio to patio looking for an open door and probably food. So no laying in bed and listening to the ocean.
The picture window overlooking the ocean, as well as the glass panel in the patio door, appeared to have double paneled glass which had broken seals. There were moisture drops in between the glass resulting in partial view obstruction at times. The window shade over the window by the entry door on the opposite end of the unit was broken. So in order to get some ventilation I had to prop a clothes hanger on its end under the shade to keep it up.
However, even though there were a few negatives (which could have easily been fixed) all the staff were great, helpful and courteous. The rooms were clean and fully stocked. The 2-bedroom unit was ideal for my son, granddaughter and me.
We would not hesitate to stay there again, but not on the bottom floor since I don't like critters trying to get into my room, but I do like to hear the ocean surf.

Room tip: All rooms face the ocean. Opt for upstairs if you want to leave your patio door open.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inge K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews