We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 40th Anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weller House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Weller House Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Highland, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our 40th Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed 3 nights at The Weller House Inn in Fort Bragg and loved it. The old 3 story is charming and comfortable. Each room is very unique and has it's own bath. The breakfast's were incredible. One of the reasons we picked The Weller House was because it is in walking distance to the Skunk Train which we rode the first day. It also has an ocean view to the front of it. If you're planning a trip to Fort Bragg, this is the place to stay. The owner, Vivien, is a great host. I highly recommend The Weller House Inn.

Room Tip: Front rooms, 2nd floor are best view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    22
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
77
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We spent a Saturday & Sunday night at the Weller House. Bothe nights were quiet and peaceful. The Tuscany room downstairs was clean and the bed very comfortable, sleep came easily.

If you are looking for somewhere that is fast paced and driven, go somewhere else, perhaps Mendocino or?

Slow food is the perfect term for breakfast as the juice is hand squeezed and the eggs freshly laid by the chickens at the back. We were able to kick back and just enjoy the present without letting time get in the way.

The inn is perfectly situated for walking to old downtown restaurants and the fab brew pub.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We visited Weller House this past weekend and were blown away by the experience. Vivian, the innkeeper, was super flexible about our late arrival from San Francisco, even though I think we kept her up. The room we stayed in, The Lotus Room, was a bargain for the price and beautifully decorated. Weller House is conveniently located, an easy walk to downtown and to the beach. And I can't rave enough about the breakfast! Vivian prepared local, fresh fruit, out-of-the-oven bread, eggs any style, and baked me vegan scones the second morning of our visit when she found out that I was vegan. We would go back there in a heartbeat. (Also, if you're interested in Argentine tango, there's a great local scene and classes that are offered in the gorgeous ballroom on the third floor.)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

It was excellent, the food was wonderful and the rooms were nicely decorated and comftorable

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasgarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We came to Fort Bragg for a romantic weekend away just the two of us. When we arrived the innkeeper gave us a tour and then brought out two amazing cheeses and a bottle of organic white chardonnay. The room was clean and the bed inviting. The duvet was soft as a cloud. The radiant floor heating did take a bit of time to warm up but we set the thermostat and walked to dinner at one of the excellent local restaurants and it was cozy by the time we returned. The highlight was the big jacuzzi tub. There was plenty of hot water to fill it and relax. We slept dreamily and only wished that the windows had blackout shades in addition to the vintage lace curtains so we could have slept in. Breakfast was delicious - eggs, yogurt, organic jams, bagels, muffins - but my favorite was the coffee. Oh the coffee! Also the fresh squeezed orange juice. My only complaint with breakfast was that the nasturtium blossom garnish had a few ants. We got a tip from another guest about a beach to visit. Drive up Hwy 1 a couple miles and turn left onto Ward street. At the end park and walk to the right down to a secluded private beach away from the crowds. I also highly recommend visiting the Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens in August to see the spectacular dahlia garden in full bloom.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheezaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
2.0 km away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.5 km away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.5 km away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.9 km away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.7 km away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weller House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weller House Inn

Property: Weller House Inn
Address: 524 Stewart St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Weller House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1886 inn with ballroom, library, dining room, water tower observation deck, and gardens. Featured in the New York Times and Sunset Magazine. Nine fine guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, sitting areas, down pillows and comforters, Egyptian cotton sheets. King or queen beds, two rooms have private Jacuzzis. The water tower observation deck is the high point in town, great for whale watching and sunsets. Gardens with heritage and edible ornamentals (organic since 2008). The virgin redwood ballroom on the third floor of the main house is a unique and beautiful space, ideal for all sorts of gatherings. Weekly dance (FREE with LODGING): Monday FOLK DANCE CLASS, Tuesday TANGO PRACTICA, Wednesday WALTZ CLASS, Friday EAST COAST SWING DANCE, Sunday WEST COAST SWING CLASS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Weller House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing