We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Certificate of Excellence
West Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Everything about this hotel is average or a bit below. If you aren't desperate, choose another one. No elevator, beds mediocre, breakfast mediocre, not real close to the beach, and the fridge hadn't been cleaned out.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaybee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We really apologize if you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We respect your opinion and in fact, we have discussed all the concerns that you raised on your review. The next time that you will come here, you will definitely have a great time. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    116
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
100
88
49
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rooms in the hotel, which helped ease the pain of being in town during San Diego's worst weather in years, raining all day the three days we were there. Great breakfast selection for the space they have available, only a couple blocks from the beach, and walking distance to a multitude of great shops (Lou's Records, Ducky Waddles, and Pannikin were some fav's).

A bit out of the way from downtown San Diego, but great as a base for heading south to there and north to Temecula if wine's your thing.

I'd gladly stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InkedGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity of providing your accommodation needs.
Your positive review assures us we have made a good effort to ensure our guests are comfortable and have great experience in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

I spend about 40-50 nights a year in hotels across the nation, and this is the first time that I had zero complaints with the facility. The owners treated us like family and ensured all was perfect. They were quick to respond to all our requests. Closest easily accessible beach was less than a mile, there is one two blocks away, but, you have to go up alot of stairs. My only suggestion would be to add a business center and more pillows. But it is an econo lodge. good wi-fi- though.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyvenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am so lucky to have staffs that enjoy their job and cares about the guests that stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

Stayed for 15 nights while in town for a two week yoga teacher training and everything was perfect: 4 minute walk to Stone Steps beach through a quiet neighborhood, friendly front desk staff, free Wi-Fi that always worked, super, super clean room, simple breakfast, quiet room which overlooked a neighborhood with trees (all rooms have screens and double paned windows).

The in-room coffee maker, microwave and fridge in the kitchenette were very helpful during my long stay. It was great to have the A/C, though I only needed it three nights out of fifteen. I highly recommend this hotel for short/long stays. I stayed in a top floor, off street facing room and would recommend that to folks who are light sleepers as the trains run across the street BUT they stop around 9:30PM so it should not be an issue regardless of which way your room faces unless you like to take naps in the afternoon :-)

The best part: you can walk along Stone Steps and Moonlight beach to downtown Encinitas in about 20 minutes - that's a great way to get there without the hassle of driving and trying to find parking.

Even recommended this place to a fellow yogini in the training and she had a great stay as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleanairgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you very much for the heart-warming review on our effort to implement further improvement in the services we provide for all our guests. Your input showed we have sufficed quality accommodation well deserved by all our guests for giving us your business. And thank you so much in recommending our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Great location but the beds are awful. Dirty room. Wash basin located in main room so that you had to go out of the bathroom to the main room to wash your hands after using the facility. Offers weekly rates to local transients. No TV guide on TV or in room so was difficult to watch TV. Outlets difficult to use for computer. Refrigerator did not work properly. Would not stay here again ever!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jalee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to share your views about our Hotel. Reviews such as yours are most welcome and it motivates us even more to further improve our services that our guests have enjoyed over the years we are in the business. It is unfortunate that we never had the opportunity of providing the accommodation to your exacting preference but we assure you that we are as well most capable of providing flawlessly, superb quality of service to all our valued guests. We appreciate your time in sharing your views about our hotel. We look forward to another opportunity of providing accommodation to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
4.4 km away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.3 km away
Days Inn Encinitas- Legoland Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
#8 of 9 in Encinitas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.9 km away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach

Property: Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach
Address: 410 N Coast Hwy US 101, Encinitas, CA 92024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Encinitas
Encinitas Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing