We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to Detox/Cleanse in a beautiful environment”
Review of We Care Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
We Care Spa
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Reviewed 17 December 2015

The We Care Spa is a great place to go for a cleanse. This was just my third visit there in 20 years. I did the eight day/seven night cleanse and highly recommend it---hard as it might be to hold in there for eight days. I was amazed the result of what happened in the colonic in day seven---more than in the previous days, so much so that I added a final colonic on check out day. I have done the weekend cleanse there but that's more a tune up, helpful as it is (helped by really keeping the three and four days prior to your weekend to fruits and vegetables). I also did the liver cleanse too which you can easily add.

The folks who do the colonics are great. Couldn't recommend them more highly.

As far as the drinks and teas and protein mixes, supplements, (breakfast/lunch and dinner) you do them yourself...unlike some spas, no one here does it for you. You are given a pouch when you come with all that you will need for your stay and you use this as a stay throughout the treatment, supplement in their kitchen by protein powders, detox powders, detox mixes, teas, etc. plus a light soup at night.

What is also great about WeCare is the people who go there----amazing people from all walks of life from all over the world. When you're detoxing, you're a community, and trying to detox by yourself is hard, but in a community setting, it's much easier and it's hard at We Care not to meet interesting people that will make your stay go faster and be more fun.

We Care is situated on a large piece of property in Desert Hot Springs CA. If you love the desert, you should love the property and there are walking paths there for meditation, etc. etc. Of course, it's hotter than heck in the summer but I love the desert so I can work around that. And if you yearn for a bit of civilisation, you can be in downtown Palm Springs in 20 minutes (in fact I'd recommend going in for walking street night on Thursday in downtown Palm Springs)..

You can do yoga every morning, sometimes preceded by walks. And they offer different kinds of classes and lectures each day.

And there are some interesting talks and demonstrations. I particularly loved the cooking demonstration that Brigette does---showing the miracles of the Vita Mix, etc. etc. Two people led the cooking demonstration the week I was there but Brigettes was by far the most fun and interesting---try to catch hers if you can if you are there for the full eight days.

Like most places, some rooms are better than others. I had a room in the "Colony" which was very nice and had a great bed and super linens.

Although not billed as a weight loss center, I lost 14 pounds in my week at We Care (I'm a man---apparently men lose more).

And is it expensive? Yes, but you know that going in. I also go to a cleansing center overseas in Thailand and for the same price as a week at We Care, I can fly to Thailand, take a boat to a wonderful fasting center on a gorgeous island called Koh Phangan situated on a fantasy stretch of white beach, and do a weeks cleanse and fly back all for the same price----but is it as good as getting colonics from the folks at We Care? No. Not the colonic part. In fact, you do the colonics yourself. Ouch. Is it effective, yes, but We Care does offer fantastic services, even though the massage prices are definitely high and those add ons can add a lot to your bill above your base rate (one of the reasons I cannot give it a five star rating for value).

For what it's worth, I did do one cleanse one year at WeCare and stayed off site and came every day---but it's much nicer to live onsite and makes for better camaraderie versus coming and going.

And I do recommend trying to hold out for the eight day cleanse---or even the six day cleanse----the results are dramatically more effective, although the weekend can certainly set your mind straight again and purge you from some and habits and can only help. But you can also do a cleanse that ends on a Friday instead of a Sunday.

All in all, a great experience and I've left and have held onto my lessons, whether it be about what to eat, and how to eat, etc. and will return.

Note that sometime in 2016 they are probably going to go into construction mode (now there are 17 rooms I believe and they are going to double this---so you may want to inquire about this if you are sensitive to noise)

Room Tip: The newer rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTravelerAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

this is the nicest place ever. Went there for a detox with a friend and it was amazing. The staff was extremely nice and everything very professional. Recommend this place if you want to relax or have a detox.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Agnes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex K, Operations Manager at We Care Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2015

Dear Agnes S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to see that your experience was positive and relaxing. When you feel that it's time to detox, relax and re-charge, remember that our reservations team is only a phone call away.

We Care Spa team is looking forward to welcoming you and your friend back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

My older male cousin was so jazzed by this place I had to check it out. It's expensive.
I stayed from Sunday to Friday. Once I added on treatments I was well over 3k. Now mind you there is no food or booze or entertainment.
But what I did come away with was a clean body, new knowledge about food, my colon, the
way I eat and drink, things I can change if I choose to, and some silly stuff I would never do. But there is certainly all types of people there. From young college girls on up. Me. Woman both. People came the week I was there from Europe, New York, Arkansas, all over Cali and me from Phoenix. It's an intimate setting. Very well taken care of grounds. My room very nice. Very much so the desert. It is not a place of luxury. The staff could not have been nicer and Suzanna the owner is amazing. She is nearly or perhaps already 80 and so alive and well. She's so knowledgable about everything natural. I enjoyed listening to her most of all.
I'm not sure if I'll go back but I would certainly recommend it to anyone considering it. You will feel better and have a lot to think about. I lost weight and have a glow I didn't arrive with.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
Thank LocalTravelerAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015

We Care is very professional, organized and well-maintained health spa. I have wonderful memories of my stays at We Care dating back to the days when it was Susana's kitchen and she prepared many of the “meals” herself. For a decade I would visit from Ontario, Canada once sometimes twice a year for week long stays. The instructions given to clients advising them to prepare ahead is the best tip as well as to come with the right mindset that it is for detox… not major weight loss.
Some stays would be for as long as 10days and I would leave feeling completely refreshed and revitalized. My skin was glowing and my eye color much brighter than when I arrived. I learned to appreciate food, pray beforehand, slow down and really savor the meal in the moment. After my first stay, a planter’s wart disappeared from the sole of foot and I was a believer in colonics and healthy eating.
The variety of reading material available at We care, DVDs and lectures enlightened me to the power of the Colon cleanse. The small clientele, exercise classes, trail walks, guest therapists, caring staff, casual “homey” feel, grounds and tranquil setting all add to the appeal.
The basics that I learned, cookbook Healthy Living remains the standard for me in the quest for mindfulness in what I put into my body, and trying to be my healthiest self. On a We Care visit in 2003 I met one of my now dearest friends. Over the last 12 years, we still joke about the first time we actually sat down and enjoyed a meal together. At We Care, we only saw each other drinking out of a We Care mug and dreaming about food.
Getting older is inevitable, but aging is optional. Susana Lombardi the founder is the picture of aging beautifully and sets a high bar.
Due to the escalating cost of the week long stay and more commercial aspect, I haven’t been in several years but appreciate the emails for the last minute cancellations. My “deposit” is still on file and one day I hope to return. I look forward to Susana's new book. Namaste to all the readers of this review!

Room Tip: For the money & location...My favorite is the king bed room on corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Bcr8tve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2014

I came here for a detox weekend last month after a particularly stressful project at work. I live in LA so the drive is quick. Besides feeling completely energized and uplifted from the massages, juices and colonics, I was able to lose some weight and my digestion improved greatly - which I was also hoping would be a result of my detox. I was so impressed by the kind and helpful staff and the cleanliness and beauty of the facility. I felt taken care of and relaxed throughout my entire stay. If time allows, I will go back again after the holidays.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
4.9 km away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
591 reviews
7.4 km away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,246 reviews
6.5 km away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#16 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
492 reviews
4.4 km away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
126 reviews
7.5 km away
Sea Mountain Nude Resort and Spa Hotel
Sea Mountain Nude Resort and Spa...
#7 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to We Care Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about We Care Spa

Address: 18000 Long Canyon Rd, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Care Spa is a Holistic Health Spa & Retreat providing unique educational programs & treatments, designed for personal transformation for the care of human beings, enhancing mind, body & spirit, in a serene desert oasis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
We Care Hotel Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing