We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can fool people once!”
Review of We Care Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
We Care Spa
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I just came back from a weekend at the Canyon Ranch, which reminded me on another weekend I has spent in another spa - we care. What a difference!
While in Canyon Ranch - I have learnt so much in the many lectures, I learnt ZERO in we care.
The only "lecture" was done by a non-professional, who was trying to sell us Vitamix.
When I got my colonic session - I did not believe, the therapist inserted it herself inside my body! I remarked that it is a violation of the law in California. The woman said, she had heard about it, but the owner had her own rules.
I asked questions during this session, and the woman has no knowledge. She said, she was trained by the owner.
After the session, I needed to go to the toilets, but somebody was still there! I was shocked to learn that they have 3 colonic rooms, but only 2 toilets.
The soup made me (and other guests very gassy). I asked what it is made from, and got no answers.
The only time, they seemed interested to talk with me, was before I left. They asked me if I want to put a de[posit for my next time. WHAT next time? You can fool people once.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have been in detox spas like "Optimum" and when I tried we care, I had expectations.
Sadly none of it was met.
My room smelled badly and the corners were not clean.
There was no informative class, no medical experts.
The colonic therapist complained about the place and told me that they call it between themselves: "We don't care".
Another therapist tried to sell me all kinds of products (he said, he has another job beside we care) while I was getting a massage. It was so irritating.
They tried to sell us vibrating machines, mixers.
Unlike Optimum - nobody seemed to care if we are getting the right results. I didn't! I didn't lose more than 1 pound, which I regained quickly. And yes, I lost money, where I could have spent it in Optimum or other spas, and get education, meet my goals.
I asked to speak with the woman whom I had talked on the phone, when I first inquired and share my disappointment. Somebody told me: "She left the place. She had enough!"
So the only place I can post it is with TripAdvisor.
If you want to learn about detoxing, cleansing, wellness and get results and return for your money - this is not the place.

Room Tip: Some rooms like mine don't have windows: It is hard to breath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I read the other negative reviews and they seem superficial and ignorant. If you define or think of this as a vacation it is not going to meet your expectations. You will deeply cleanse your body and spirit and your mind if that was not your intention, then don't go here. The vibe is very peaceful where no one expect things from you accept to heal so if you don't want that, then don't go here. The people that work here are wise and caring and compassionate. On the other hand, if you want to do the deep work it takes to change habits, become less negative of a person, and lose weight and explore and get perspective and loopback to see where the root of your health, mind, body and spirit issues originated basically you can see your lifestyle and what is keeping your from transcending to what you want to do and how you want to live, then this is the place.It is a retreat in the true sense, not in the vacation sense of which it surpasses. It depends what and how you want to do it. The staff is Amazing. They do give you juices, apple,orange,aloe vera, as well as vegetable juices as well as vitamins and vitamin mixes. You are on your own time, no one is pushing so if you are used to just getting served and not being independent, then don't go here. No one pushes any products on you. I had to ask them when I wanted to purchase something. They have been around for 30 years and have a long standing client base. The rooms are comfortable and clean and people leave you alone to process your own thoughts and feelings and cleanse in an idillic environment, you don't want to leave. It is in the middle of nothing so it feels remote which is a true retreat. The pictures on the web are true to its reality. If you focus on the negative that's all you will see. I didn't care about the city because I never went there. I was focusing on me. It was a very safe place, it can get very windy in the desert like setting. I even ventured outside to go for a run and it was great with the Mts in the background. My advice is to go in with an open mind, you will be pleasantly surprised, its life changing if you let it be.

Room Tip: Do not miss the opportunity to truly heal.It is a life changing experience if you let it be. It gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Luci44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I took a mother-daughter vacation with my mom. She enjoyed the getaway from the busy, fast-paced, traffic lifestyle many experience in the busy life of LA. It's a convenient two hour drive getaway to a private secluded area. Although, it is hot during the summer they have a refreshing pool to relax and work on your color. My mother and I booked a massage and colonic and being this is my first time they were very understanding how worried I was to have a colonic. The girl was very comforting and reassuring that if I had any discomfort she would help ease the pain. My favorite part about it was the vegetable soup I love that stuff!! I could drink that all night with a little cayenne pepper and salt! Yumm!!! All in all it was a relaxing mother-daughter weekend. I would recommend it for someone who is looking for a private secluded quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Health_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have heard such mixed reviews about "We Care" ..
Not until I tried it (first and last time) - I understood how the reviews could be so different from each other ..
It is a run down place, which the word "Greed" is all over.
I had them pushing me again and again for more "Treatments" and "Private Consultations" - Most of them are done by none -professionals, and have zero information to give about wellness and health.
In fact - they tried to book me for 2 endemology treatments, two days in a row \: Any doctor would tell you, it may hurt you ..But these free lancers, who are all working on success fees and tips, didn't care about anything, but their next pay check.
When I did my colonic, I was shocked to learn that the only 2 toilets (though thee are 3 colonic rooms) were occupied..I needed to go to the bathroom so badly ..After all - they expect you to sit on the stool, after a colonic treatment, but I could not ..
They also nearly kicked me from the treatment room, because another client was coming ..
I asked about where I should relieve myself?? They didn't seem to care.
I was told that one of the guests simply relieved herself at the treatment room!
The room I had paid for was more costly: It was called "A Colony" - a bit bigger than the so tiny other rooms.
But I could not sleep there ,,
One of the colonic therapists, told me, that, it was actually a trailer ..
When I checked out, they tried to push pressure on me, to pat few hundreds dollars, for the next time.
Are you kidding me? Never again!

Room Tip: Avoid the colony rooms, with no windows ..It is so hard to breath there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
4.9 km away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
593 reviews
7.4 km away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,247 reviews
6.5 km away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#16 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
493 reviews
4.4 km away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
126 reviews
7.5 km away
Sea Mountain Nude Resort and Spa Hotel
Sea Mountain Nude Resort and Spa...
#7 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to We Care Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about We Care Spa

Address: 18000 Long Canyon Rd, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Care Spa is a Holistic Health Spa & Retreat providing unique educational programs & treatments, designed for personal transformation for the care of human beings, enhancing mind, body & spirit, in a serene desert oasis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
We Care Hotel Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing