We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
67
88
26
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
88
26
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach chairs boogie boards beautiful park hear the waves no elevator an older property watch the sunset the location is perfect coffee maker san diego charcoal poseidon ocean bbqs jakes surf americana
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018

We booked a king deluxe to be as close to the beach as possible. And we were literally 10 feet from the sand.

Del Mar Motel is a really hospitable place to stay, We got beach towels for the day as well as beach chairs and a sunbrella. Our room was spacious with both aircon and a ceiling fan. Though a bit dated, the room is well appointed and very comfortable.

We specifically liked to the Adirondack chairs overlooking the Pacific sheltered from the wind be really clean glass. Also, that the hotel is walking distance to the village of DelMar and right next door to outdoor beachfront dining.

The one surprising chootch...-- the advertised BBQs (and there were 4) all require a trip to the village for charcoal + no BBQ tools, utensils or accessories provided. Thus, we did not grill some fresh locally caught fish -- nor did anyone else. Perhaps, this could be noted on the hotel web site? Or better yet, provide small gas BBQ's that are easy to use immediately.

The Del Mar Motel is a truly on-the-beach location. Management was timely and efficient with all communication about our arrival. A shout out to Jorge (sp?) at the front desk who was a most hospitable and welcoming front desk manager.

Room tip: Rooms 145-147 are right on the NW corner of the property and have full and partial view of the Pacific.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HaljoHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

This hotel experience will transport you back to a time that is long gone.... You stay right on the beach at affordable prices and in a clean room. Nothing too fancy, but it is all that you need for a great stay and experience.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLNDSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

This motel is rustic and loud. They only have two beachfront rooms and neither one has windows facing the ocean. If you stay here don't get a room next to the parking lot you will hear the very loud beeping noise when trucks back up several times at night. This is also right next to the train tracks so you get startled awake about eight times when the train horn BLAIRS as they rumble by.

The public bathroom in the parking lot is nicer than the one in our room! The tile in our shower floor is extremely worn, the drain is broken and toilet seat is chipped, how do you keep that clean? Bring your own body wash! Their two cent green soap bars are horrid, smell like floor cleaner. Bathroom sink backs-up, really?? The sheets are rough, the lowest grade you can buy and the bed very uncomfortable. Furniture looks like it's from a garage sale, old and faded. The wall air conditioner is so loud you will want to keep it off hmmm good idea to encourage patrons to save energy. You hardly hear the ocean, even with the A/C unit off, very disappointing we couldn't hear the waves crashing at night. All this for only a $20 upgrade! $299 per night. Total rip-off. I wouldn't be writing such a harsh review if we paid around $160.

Think twice before booking this dump.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank SAS4USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

PROS: Great location off the beaten path on a nice long quiet stretch of sandy beach, right next to Jake's and Poseidon restaurants, right next to a community center and bluff park, BBQ grills and picnic table for guests,sheltered sundeck, use of beach toys and beach towels, a quaint older property, basic but clean rooms w/ room fridge and microwave, family style feeling and welcome from desk check-in staff, close to other small beach towns with lots of things to do, beautiful sunsets.
CONS: An older property with thin walls can get quite noisy during high season or lots of kids running up and down the outer corridor alongside guest rooms, gardeners start their work as early as 6:30am and very noisy, few rooms with an ocean view, only 2 rooms on ocean front on the top floor right by stairs that lack privacy from stair traffic, air conditioners looked so old and moldy that I would be very reluctant to use them, train traffic is very close and can also be quite noisy at times.
All in all, a very pleasant stay with plenty of conveniences close by and a beautiful beach almost right outside your door. Off season, this beach is a relatively quiet, relaxing place.

Room tip: No elevators so wheelchair bound guests are limited to the ground floor,
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank agstravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We had our wedding on the beach in front of the hotel and had the wedding dinner next door at Poseidon. Overall, it was all perfect. Only 8 guests so not hard to organize.

It's true that the rooms don't face the ocean, but right out your door is the beach! For $250 per night we got what we expected. Decent room and everything in good working order. Note there is no elevator to the second floor. No breakfast included. Valet parking is included. There is a protected (fence) common area with a charcoal grill that can be used by guests.

If you are planning an event like a wedding on the beach in Del Mar, no permit is needed for groups under 25 people. So nice! We just took over a patch of beach for the ceremony and made a reservation for dinner at Poseidon next door.

If you have not been to Del Mar, it is one of the best neighborhoods in San Diego to experience real SoCal beach life. Everything you need is in the small village just 2 or 3 blocks away. Restaurant choices, small shops, nightlife (such as it is) etc. The famous Del Mar Horse Track is less than a mile away. Write to me if you have any questions. As a local, I am happy to help.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews