We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location-service ranges from good to horrid.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Del Mar Motel on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Del Mar Motel on the Beach
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Sunny Cal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location-service ranges from good to horrid.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

No internet-despite what their ad says. The guy at the front desk needs a refresher in Manners 101, limited ability to open windows for fresh air. Great location on the beach but no real view from the rooms. Patio seats near the sand are great with local part and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    74
    20
    19
    18
See reviews for
61
66
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
boston ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

I stayed at Del mar motel on the beach in June. I found the staff to be helpful . The housekeeping stafff kept the rooms clean and did so early in the day. The location was perfect and the beach was beautiful. Just what I was looking for . Just a short walk to stores and restaurants also. The only complaint I would have is the pillow were flat and not too comfortable. I would absolutely return to this motel and plan on doing so next year

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunkistBostonMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed here for two nights with my husband, three children and my In-laws. We loved everything about this motel. It is the only motel/hotel on the Del Mar Beach. You open your door and you are steps from the ocean. There are chairs and tables and even grills to eat ouside. In our room we had a small fridge and microwave which was so nice for breakfast. Even though this motel is outside it was very quiet at night and in the morning. Parking was also seemless with a large parking lot and only for those staying at the motel. We had an amazing time here, loved it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BonnieKokona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

This appears to be a vintaqe 60's style motel that has not been kept up. They falsely advertise WiFi when in fact their own WiFi bandwidth is so bad that my two iPhones and my Macbook Pro could not stay online for more than 20 minutes and then lose it. If you need WiFi for sure DO NOT STAY AT THIS MOTEL. And the TV gets about 8 channels. Mickey Mouse would be the key descriptors for this place. Zero beach views but if you want to surf and you dont care what the rooms are like then this is perfect. Has direct access to beach and a beautiful view with chairs and glass windscreen for excellent sunsets. It' a dive but that is what the prices reflect although you can get Clarion for 109. for two adults we paid 129 which came to 145 per night with taxes/fees etc. Management is not impressive as far as helping out with their WiFi problem giving me the wrong password for the Poseidon restaurant next door as a solution to Del Mar Motels WiFi problem.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radelowgittins, Director of Sales at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Del Mar Motel on the Beach.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful views and direct
access to the beach but am sorry about the experience you had with the
Wireless Internet.
I will ensure that your feedback is routed to our technical support.
We make every effort to ensure that our newly renovated Deck, Barbecue
area, lobby, rooms and internet access is in tip top shape.
I hope that you will look to stay with us again should you return to
the Del Mar area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Del Mar hotels

San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

This quaint little motel was clean and comfortable and the location was unbeatable. The "front" porch was a perfect place to relax, read a book and enjoy the incredible view of the pacific ocean. Wonderful restaurants and shops were also within walking distance. We loved staying here and would recommend it to anyone who has a love for the ocean!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suz1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
1.3 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
1.5 km away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
2.1 km away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Wave Crest Resort
Wave Crest Resort
#6 of 7 in Del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.0 km away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Mar Motel on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Mar Motel on the Beach

Property: Del Mar Motel on the Beach
Address: 1702 Coast Blvd., Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Del Mar Motel on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the sun and surf is our quaint boutique hotel located on the beautiful beach of Del Mar. With views so spectacular you’ll never want to leave.Relax and enjoy the soothing sounds of the Pacific Ocean from one of our 43-newly renovated guestrooms. Relish the breathtaking views from our newly enhanced beachfront sun deck, picnic & barbeque areas, where the rolling waves beckon you to the white sandy beach of Del Mar. Create unforgettable moments with a walk along the beach at sunset or an early morning jog with the waves at your feet.There’s nothing like the sound of the ocean to lull you to sleep, and there’s no better way to escape life’s challenges than a retreat to the Del Mar Motel on the Beach.Our Friendly Staff is Ready to Assist You! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Del Mar Motel on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mar Motel On The Beach Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing