We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,505)
Filter reviews
1,505 results
Traveller rating
722
408
217
96
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
722
408
217
96
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge front desk self parking shuttle service within miles free shuttle coastal kitchen fire pit san diego pool area horse races solana beach nice property freeway jennifer concierge fairgrounds
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1,505 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel renovations are great! Our room was spacious, clean & comfortable. Staff was very helpful. We have stayed here during race season so it’s hard to compare a hotel to a previous “busy” time. We used “HH points and money” to reduce cost but even still it was $300 for 2 nights in off season because of parking. But it was worth it! They do, however, need to improve their complimentary breakfast!!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cardscharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmina V, Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Cardscharlotte,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the service and cleanliness here at the Hilton Del Mar. Our team takes great pride in delivering great service to our guests and will be very happy to hear your compliments to them. Our management team here will be sure to review your comments regarding the breakfast and see what we can do to make improvements for our guests. We look forward to your return and thank you for staying with us as your destination of choice in Del Mar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Fantastic service, you can text the staff to reschedule the housekeeping staff and more. The complimentary shuttle is nice, though it only goes 5 miles. But if you want to park there it's 22 bucks a night.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Isaac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmina V, Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Isaac C,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the service here at the Hilton Del Mar. Our team takes great pride in delivering great service to our guests and will be very happy to hear your compliments to them. We look forward to your return and thank you for staying with us as your destination of choice in Del Mar.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Nice, clean, upscale lobby. Seems like a fun atmosphere during Racing season with adults wearing their fancy garbs and hats! You can walk across the street and be at the main gate of Del Mar racetrack. For my family, the pro was the pool area and the layout of the rooms. The resort is family friendly with deck games for the kids, a nice size pool, and poolside food service. On a gorgeous CA sunshine-filled day, this hotel has a fantastic set-up for kids and adults alike. For those who are Executive Level (I try to include remarks on Exec privs for those who have earned this benefit via far too many hours traveling for business!!), Breakfast buffet was plentiful and the Lounge hour was generous with small bites, snacks, and coffee service throughout the day.

Date of stay: June 2017
Thank charbytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmina V, Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Charbytravels,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay here at Hilton Del Mar. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the location and services to your liking. Our team here looks forward to your return the next time you are in town and I will be sure to pass on your comments and thanks to our Executive Level team.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

First off, I am a long time Hilton Honors member and have had excellent experiences at nearly all of their properties. The hotel lobby is lovely and the grounds are very nice. The staff were friendly and very helpful in helping us with dinner and sight seeing ideas. On to the room. The areas for the rooms seemed a bit dated dated and in need of carpet replacement. The bed was excellent. The A/C did not quite work. It was as if it would cool for a while and then just shut down. There was a plastic bag covering a vent in my room as well - I assume to protect my bed from leaks. I stayed two nights, and my room was never refreshed nor was there an offer for towels. Speaking of towels, they were very crunchy. None of this was expected from a Hilton property. Again, great staff but the rooms and housekeeping need work.

Room tip: This property is not in San Diego - it’s about a 35-minute drive from the airport.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shazzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmina V, Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Shazzee,

Thank you for the kind comments regarding the staff here at the Hilton Del Mar. We greatly appreciate the feedback that you gave regarding the room and public areas. Your comments will be reviewed by management at our next meeting to see on how we can improve these areas going forward.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Thank you Hilton San Diego Del Mar for an amazing stay. Your staff went above and beyond and I was always greeted with a smile and Can do attitude. The guestrooms were very clean and fresh. Thank you for a great weekend. I will be back.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank yolandasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmina V, Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Yolandasilva,

Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your stay here at the Hilton Del Mar. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to share your comments with our team here. Our staff looks forward to your return and we are grateful you chose Hilton Del Mar as your destination of choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews