We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,495)
Filter reviews
1,495 results
Traveller rating
618
495
186
100
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
618
495
186
100
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vue restaurant valet parking public park dana point harbor breakfast buffet per night valet service beautiful location ocean view self park king bed nice property adult pool room rate small balcony san diego business meeting
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,495 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

The rooms are nice, the lobby is also nice. The views from the hotel are quite amazing. It’s a wonderful property. The service is not what it should be for such a nice property. It is quite possibly the worst service we have ever had in a hotel. No one had any idea about anything. We asked for bocci balls to play on the court, and 3 people sent us in 3 different directions. The pool staff all seemed like high school students. I was called ‘dude’ several times. Cups and dirty dishes were lying around until we asked if people were sitting in these spots. The housekeeping service was bare minimum. They made the beds, left a few clean towels and that was it. They never took our glasses from the night before, left dirty towels on the floor. The floors in the room were never cleaned. Our toilet overflowed as did the other people’s we were with. They did come fix it. Food is mediocre at best and not inexpensive. I will speak to the manager (as we are checking out tomorrow) however, I do believe this is a management and training issue. We have stay in many hotels, all different types and I would not stay here again given the poor service. There are plenty of other places in the area. Go elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie A, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear Andrea,

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback about your recent stay at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott. As you can imagine providing highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I am very sorry for falling short of meeting your expectations. We have shared your comments with the appropriate department leaders to ensure this is an isolated incident.

Thank you for staying with the Laguna Cliffs and our apologies, again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I turned his business trip into an anniversary getaway. We loved this resort. Very comparable to a JW Marriott. The general service from the front desk to the valet was quick and friendly. The views of the Pacific are stunning. It’s a short walk to the beach. We did take down complimentary surf and boogie boards one day but were happy at the pool. Amazing pool service, and the most comfortable pool chairs I’ve ever enjoyed. The pool was the perfect temperature. Room was beautiful. Enjoyed yoga on the front lawn. I enjoyed being able to walk to dining and shopping. Housekeeping was a little below average (didn’t take away dirty glasses or leave new soap after taking the old), but it certainly didn’t affect our enjoyment of the stay. We are not big breakfast eaters so it was nice they turn the bar into a little coffee counter with muffins, yogurt, and oatmeal to purchase.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Meghan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Staff at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time at the pool and were able to take advantage of the amenities we offer. Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us! We are delighted to hear you loved our resort and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Again, Happy Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Laguna Cliffs Marriott seems like 80/90’s design. But the room facilities are quite updated. Big flat TV and toiletries are great. Restaurant has both indoor and outdoor seating with a great Ocean view. The food were ok. We enjoyed staying there very much.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Staff at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our updated guestrooms and facilities. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

This was a great spa resort for our weekend getaway. The price of the hotel was reasonable for the accommodations (we booked on Priceline). The valet was nice a quick on drop off, a little slower for picking up the car, but it wasn’t a terrible wait. The breakfast buffet was really good and had a good variety. The room decor was a bit dated (or maybe just not my taste), but completely comfortable and clean. We had 2 rooms and we were booked on different floors, that was a bummer. Room service was quick and the food was hot when it arrived in the room. We enjoyed everything at this resort except the massages in the spa.

We called to make reservations at the spa and they seemed very confused. They were unable to give accurate pricing when I booked the spa appointment. It was way over priced in the end. I travel often and the massages were more than I expected as not great. Additionally, when we arrived the young lady was very friendly when we checked in but the massages were suboptimal. My masseuse was not real friendly and my friend had the same experience. On the other hand, the lady who did our nails was amazing. She was super friendly and talkative. She was such a blessing to meet. She really made up for the masseuses. She had such a great personality and spirit. After all I’d recommend just getting your nails done and skip the massages.

Overall, I’d come back to this resort on my next Trip!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Amymd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Great Hotel in Dana Point/Laguna Area. Very nice, clean and friendly. Fun family pool with mini golf & pingpong. Smaller adult pool. Both with really good food n drink service. Spa Service available with seasonal specials. They have Kids program and hospitality suite with games. Walking distance to Doheny Beach and driving distance from Salt Creek n Laguna Beach. Free Summer Dana Pont Trolley up n down PCH from hotel to Dana point, Latern District, n Laguna. My kids love going down the PCH on the trolley at night to cool down!

Great food options at there 2 Vue restaurants! We all enjoyed our food and drinks!

Hotel has a Wonderful beach / resort atmosphere. We have stayed at 3 other hotels in the area including the Ritz. This is a good values and beautiful vacation spot.

If you got to Doheny you can rent essentials like chair, umbrella, toys, etc. Hotel had boogie boards, bikes, n small surfer boards. This beach does have rocks so do wear your aqua socks/shoes to safe ur feet. Great surfing.

Other great surfing is down the way. Salt creek has a great beach but it’s a drive and quite a walk down hill. Public parking just off Ritz Carlton Way. Sometimes you can pay a $1 per person on cart down/up. No rentals here but there is bathrooms and food.

If you are budgeting, things can add up very quickly. Parking is one expense. Another would be things like a refrigerator or a safe in your room. Little things like that you usually expect in a resort hotel room.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jodi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Staff at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our Laguna Cliffs Resort & Spa. We are happy you enjoyed your time at the pools and in our restaurants. We are also delighted you were able to take advantage of all the amenities we offer and utilize the easily accessed beaches.

We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking fees and will certainly take your comments under review. In recent parking surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking rates to be in line and are actually the most economical. Also, each guestroom is equipped with a safe, and refrigerators are available upon request.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your terrific review, and we look forward to welcoming you back for more trips to the beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews