We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$199
US$175
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$252
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$346
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$391
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$150
US$144
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capistrano Surfside Inn(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$254
US$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$954
US$662
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,299/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,907)
Filter reviews
2,907 results
Traveller rating
1,972
495
213
129
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,972
495
213
129
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursebeach clubst regisstonehill tavernbutler servicebeautiful propertyturn down servicelobby barmain poolthe ritzkids poolpool stafffour seasonshigh endpool viewfive star hotelbottle of champagne
Filter
Updating list...
1,267 - 1,272 of 2,907 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2016

I would have given it a 5 but I realized that the rooms are not very sound proof. But if you put a towel under the door it really helps a lot. The property is undergoing a major remodel but that didn't matter at all. I love the rooms, the bedding, the bathrobes, the bathroom and especially the fact they give you a bathroom scale. The staff is amazing.

To eat there is very expensive - a 8 oz. coke is $3.00. So, they will tell you there is nothing in walking distance but they are wrong. Walk through the path along the golf course to Pacific Coast Highway and when you get there, head north. Up the hill is a shopping center. It has an amazing grocery store which has a wonderful deli and tables to eat there or take back to your room. You can eat for 1/3 of what you can on site.

In the same shopping center is an Italian restaurant called Stella's with an wonderful happy hour and wonderful food. We have eaten there three different times and never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Boisenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMBGM, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Dear Boisenb.,

Thank you so much for your positive review. We have fully re-imagined our resort and the five-star amenities focusing on the coastal & relaxed feel and blending in the signature St. Regis Butler Service and its culture to identify and position us within our area. By the end of May / beginning of June the renovation is complete, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming back in the near future to experience our final and new product .

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

My wife and I stayed for our wedding anniversary in March 2016, while the hotel is going through some remodel work it did not bother us as we were not planning on laying by the pool. The hotel is so clean and in first class shape. The restaurant was great with great wine and food. Fantastic grounds, easy and nice walk to private cove. A great lunch can be had right on the water. Go!!!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank westcoaster92067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMBGM, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear westcoaster92067,

We are honored that you chose to celebrate your anniversary at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming back to our "Beach House" on the Coast in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Our family spent the weekend and had such a nice time.
The service was excellent, friendly people, the Easter Egg hunt was great for the kids and the brunch was an amazing feast and we love the new restaurant it is beautiful. Thanks again for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view is beautiful
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rochelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMBGM, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear Rochelle L.,

I am thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful Easter Holiday with us. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to have you back to the Resort soon.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

My husband and I stayed at your hotel and were very impressed with the amenities and the Service. The St Regis is one of the best hotels to stay at & would highly recommend it. The pool was beautiful and not crowded and the Service is out of this world. We were celebrating our anniversary and the St Regis made our stay one that we will treasure. Our room was beautiful and looked out onto the beautiful gardens and pool. When going to the ocean, there are people to carry your umbrella and towels making it very easy to walk across the sand. My husband and I are planning another trip and will be staying at the St Regis. We have nothing but great things to say about this hotel and have recommended it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are beautiful. French doors opening to beautiful gardens and the pool.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMBGM, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear Debbie R.,

I am honored that you chose to celebrate your anniversary at our Beach House. on the coast. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip and was so impressed with the renovation. The property is stunning. We stayed a the Montage down the road a year ago and I would say the St Regis comparable, especially considering the price difference.

The restaurant was particularly outstanding, we had a beautiful view of the sunset with outstanding food.

At the end of March only the spa was under construction inside, the pools still had quite a bit to go. But the noise was not an issue considering how beautiful everything else was and they stopped pretty early in the afternoon.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
Thank mattrogerstx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMBGM, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear mattrogerstx,

Thank you for staying at The St. Regis Monarch Beach . I am thrilled to learn that you have had an exceptional stay with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

I look forward to having you return for many years to come.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews