We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay for anniversary/birthday celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monarch Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2016

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the excellent valet staff, our stay here just got better. We were greeted by Monique with a glass of champagne. She was very helpful with some information on the area. We were checked in by Rigo who made sure we were taken care of with a very nice room. While waiting for our room, we had lunch at 33 North which is their bar/lounge. Hallie was a great server. Our room was not a suite, but was very larger and had a nice view of the ocean. Although the hotel is still undergoing some renovations and the pool/spa was not complete, we still had a wonderful stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ph69vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMBGM, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Dear ph69vette,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay and the kind words and lavish praise you bestowed upon our team - I will share your good feedback with our associates.

Our new Miraval Life in Balance Spa opened its door this past weekend and the treatment rooms along with the new retail store and the Spa Café look stunning. With the main pool & Grand Lawn to finish last, we anticipate all work to be complete by the end of May.

Thank you again and I hope we will have the opportunity to have you at our "Beach House" again soon.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

908 - 912 of 2,551 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2016

I would have given it a 5 but I realized that the rooms are not very sound proof. But if you put a towel under the door it really helps a lot. The property is undergoing a major remodel but that didn't matter at all. I love the rooms, the bedding, the bathrobes, the bathroom and especially the fact they give you a bathroom scale. The staff is amazing.

To eat there is very expensive - a 8 oz. coke is $3.00. So, they will tell you there is nothing in walking distance but they are wrong. Walk through the path along the golf course to Pacific Coast Highway and when you get there, head north. Up the hill is a shopping center. It has an amazing grocery store which has a wonderful deli and tables to eat there or take back to your room. You can eat for 1/3 of what you can on site.

In the same shopping center is an Italian restaurant called Stella's with an wonderful happy hour and wonderful food. We have eaten there three different times and never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Boisenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMBGM, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Dear Boisenb.,

Thank you so much for your positive review. We have fully re-imagined our resort and the five-star amenities focusing on the coastal & relaxed feel and blending in the signature St. Regis Butler Service and its culture to identify and position us within our area. By the end of May / beginning of June the renovation is complete, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming back in the near future to experience our final and new product .

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

My wife and I stayed for our wedding anniversary in March 2016, while the hotel is going through some remodel work it did not bother us as we were not planning on laying by the pool. The hotel is so clean and in first class shape. The restaurant was great with great wine and food. Fantastic grounds, easy and nice walk to private cove. A great lunch can be had right on the water. Go!!!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank westcoaster92067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMBGM, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear westcoaster92067,

We are honored that you chose to celebrate your anniversary at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming back to our "Beach House" on the Coast in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Our family spent the weekend and had such a nice time.
The service was excellent, friendly people, the Easter Egg hunt was great for the kids and the brunch was an amazing feast and we love the new restaurant it is beautiful. Thanks again for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rochelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMBGM, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear Rochelle L.,

I am thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful Easter Holiday with us. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to have you back to the Resort soon.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

My husband and I stayed at your hotel and were very impressed with the amenities and the Service. The St Regis is one of the best hotels to stay at & would highly recommend it. The pool was beautiful and not crowded and the Service is out of this world. We were celebrating our anniversary and the St Regis made our stay one that we will treasure. Our room was beautiful and looked out onto the beautiful gardens and pool. When going to the ocean, there are people to carry your umbrella and towels making it very easy to walk across the sand. My husband and I are planning another trip and will be staying at the St Regis. We have nothing but great things to say about this hotel and have recommended it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are beautiful. French doors opening to beautiful gardens and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMBGM, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear Debbie R.,

I am honored that you chose to celebrate your anniversary at our Beach House. on the coast. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
9.4 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
825 reviews
16.7 km away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
907 reviews
7.7 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
494 reviews
8.6 km away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629-4085 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: €242 - €679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA Five-Diamond resort overlooks the Pacific and offers private beach club access, with watersports, oceanfront golf, award-winning Miraval Life in Balance Spa, swimming pools, upscale dining, activities programs and more. Located in Dana Point, the resort offers easy access to a variety of Southern California attractions including Catalina Island, Dana Point Harbor, Laguna art galleries and events, Disneyland and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing