We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful winter break”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oare, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catherine...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful winter break”
Reviewed 21 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We were looking for a 5 day break somewhere quiet with access to good walking routes and this cottage popped up . After a long drive we arrived to a warm cosy space with some tea and biscuits.

The cottage is well equipped with a dishwasher, comfy sofas, a dining table and good WIFI (kind of important as there isn't much phone reception round the area). The beds were warm and comfortable and the bathroom clean. At night all we could hear was the river outside and on a clear night the stars were amazing. Absolute bliss and excellent value. The owners were also very friendly.

The tearoom, shop and pub are mostly closed for winter but that wasn't a problem and made everything quieter.

the directions the owner gave were perfect as the cottage is isolated and potentially hard to find. Id recommend a supermarket van delivery of food which we did and providing the instructions to the driver enabled him to find us as the nearest supermarkets are quite a distance away.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBee2014
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just arrived home after a weeks holiday in this cottage. Found the cottage in definite need of some TLC. The main problem was with the shower (no bath), it was very temperamental either too hot or too cold, due to lack of water pressure. We eventually found it better to shower when the cafe was closed and wasn't using water, (normally open between 10am and 5pm). The shower cubicle door kept coming off of its runners and one of the door knobs kept falling off on the inside of the shower cubicle. The toilet roll holder came of the wall a couple of times and needed permanent fixing. There were a lot of signs of cracking paint and damp in the bathroom and in the bedrooms cracking paint and definite signs of rising damp downstairs which made everywhere look tired and tatty. The downstairs has an interesting layout with the dining room table in front of the lounge sofas and the tv on the wall on the other side of the dining room table. There is a lovely large fireplace in the cottage just filled with an electric woodburner style fire, such a shame it wasn't a real woodburner. The cottage was clean and comfortable and always warm as the heating was on twice a day, possibly to keep the cottage dry and stop the smell of damp!! The cottage shares the front garden with the cafe during opening hours and felt that both the front garden and the area behind the cottage were in need of some tidying up. There is no washing machine which didn't matter too much to us but for a family of four I imagine it could be a problem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulujock
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous spot”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This little cottage is very special.. it's in a completely idyllic setting next to the river.. with a café and gift shop right beside you... sat each morning and ate my breakfast beside the river enjoying the peace and tranquillity... even after 4 nights it felt like home! Very pleased I was not camping in one of the nearby campsites as weather is never reliable and it's so cozy just to be indoors but have access to the beautiful Exmoor scenery and adventures!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
956KateR
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just come home from a short break here . First, the cottage , it is delightful , very roomy for the four of us plus two dogs , clean and cosy too . The location is wonderful , as long as you enjoy seclusion which we do , but remember to take what food you can , as the closest supermarket isn't close ! We had all we needed in the cottage , well equipped with good appliances . We didn't need a washing machine but I would imagine a family staying for a week or so, would really struggle without one . The garden is very pretty and shared with the café/pub next door but as the café closed every afternoon at 5 , the garden was then ours solely for the evening . However , whilst the café/pub closing at 5 didn't worry us at all , those arriving and expecting to have an evening meal could well be disappointed .There were lovely walks from the cottage , along the side of the river , it really was idyllic for those who enjoy the quiet life, but might not suit those who don't !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phantasma...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy comfort on Exmoor”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is my first review guys, I hope you like it? I think I've started with a corker.

This is a wonderful little cottage is in a Hamlet called Malmsmead, a couple of buildings at the start of the Doone Valley. We stayed at the beginning of June and it was lovely. Two cosy bedrooms, a large sitting room/kitchen and a bathroom with shower upstairs.

We visited Exmoor for the walking, my husband and I love to walk! The walking in the area is excellent and Malmsmead couldn't be a better place to start so many of the walks in our guide book.

When we got back each afternoon there is a pub next door that sells good sized meals for what I thought was a reasonable price. Also they have a lovely local ale that my husband became thoroughly enamoured with!

He would sit out in the beer garden whilst I cleaned up and I really appreciated the power shower (we've stayed on Exmoor before and found the plumbing to be a bit touch and go, but here it was great).

We did have a problem with our car half way through the week (alternator apparently??) but the owners were so helpful and found us a mechanic to come out and help us get it sorted.

One thing to note is that the cottage is in a small hamlet right in the middle of Exmoor. There's single track roads with sheep on them and the odd tuft of grass. There are cows in the fields and ponies on the moors, you may get muddy! If this doesn't sound like fun to you, then maybe give it a miss.

For us? We'll be back next year, and the next...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing