We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
1
2
1
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
2
1
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Good Local Access to Newport Beach Area, Best with a Bike 15-20 minutes to Beach on bike, 5-10 minutes by car without Traffic, Near Big Orange County fair Ground and Swap meet. Close To Orange Coast College. Very Close To pacific Coast Highway Rest rants.

Room tip: The Rooms Face the Freeway and The Main Street but were quite
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank protagonist2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Some people have these "standards' and are too finiky. If you are on a budget, it is OK as the rooms have been remodeled. Be sure you get one of those. It is right by Newport Beach Blvd. The owner is a miser who won't pay for anything. I have stayed there several times. The biggest problem is the Wi Fi doesn't reach more tham two doors down from the office. I had to bring my laptop to the office. There it worked fine. No bugs and clean. You are there to sleep period.

Room tip: Remodeled room close to front office for good WiFi reception
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank LGA1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night after attending a friends wedding in Newport beach and was not able to drive home. Just wanted somewhere to lay my head and wouldn't be too costly. The sand piper is exactly that. Old hotel and it looks the part. Plenty of parking and free wifi is nice. Room was pretty worn but for $45 I wasn't expecting anything fancy. They even have smoking rooms still, not too common these days. Again this hotel is nothing fancy and the price reflects that ( actually I'm puzzled as to how they have managed to stay in business.)
I gave the sandpiper a 4 due to my expectations not being very high. Would stay here under similar circumstances again

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DK_ninjaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Not good, not bad.
No bugs, no problems with the WiFi, the breakfast was OK (coffee and donuts, the coffee was OK, not good and not bad).
The room was cold at night. The bathroom and shower were tiny and old but still working. :)

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelicaAllshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This Motel was the absolute worst discusting place I have ever seen. The old manager!! SHE was very rude and unprofessional there was drug deal happening as we attempted to walk to our room. Dont not risk your safty at this hole!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews