We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Safe House

Welcome to The Safe House!
Remote, Private, South Facing, Beach Front Retreat Waiting For You!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Safe House!
Remote, Private, South Facing, Beach Front Retreat Waiting For You!
A view of the lounge, dining area and south deck The rear of the property from Ray Creek beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Welcome to The Safe House!
Remote, Private, South Facing, Beach Front Retreat Waiting For You!
A view of the lounge, dining area and south deck
The rear of the property from Ray Creek beach
A view of the lounge and dining area from the opposite aspect
The master bedroom
The second bedroom
The south deck (ready for some serious relaxation!)
View from the south deck of Ray Creek and the Sea beyond
Enormous and often dramatic skyscapes!
And sunset ...
After sunset ...
After sunset ...
Wildlife literally on your doorstep!
The screen between the kitchen and the lounge. Testament to some serious living! Try some yourself
Self catering in style
The legendary seafood platter and Colchester Rock Oysters at one of our favourite local haunts!
Colne Point. 2.5 miles of beach often deserted! Just you and nature!! Beachcombers Paradise!!!
Ship Ahoy! Rush hour at The Safe House ...
Sunset and silhouettes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
St Osyth, Clacton-on-Sea, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
12nat44
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 5 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Beautiful little hideaway.... tired looking but full of surprises... homely.. warm and perfect with the most spectacular scenery and views.. the only neighbours we saw were the adorable wild rabbits and birds...
An absolute hidden gem.
Everything under one roof. Warm welcome.
Definitely going again...if they will have us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2018
Hi Natalie
Lynne & l are delighted you enjoyed your Safe House Experience!
Thank you for your great review and looking after our magic little hideaway.
You are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise D
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So good, you want to keep it secret!”
Reviewed 11 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Fantastic to be at one with nature and the rugged coastline.
This is like home from home, it welcomes you and gives you a big 'CWTCH'.
The people who own it, are so helpful and patient, especially with a dingbat like me who had problems with the gate codes and key codes.
Its so good you want to keep it to yourself, a little hidden gem, a time capsule taking you back to gentele times.

My only gripe is the pothole road you have to navigate to get there, but somehow this leads to the mystery the first time you go there.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2017
Hi Denise
Thank you so much for your great review.
Lynne & I are delighted you had a wonderful time.
Your review encapsulates everything we feel about the place. It is one of Essex's best kept secrets!
You join a small, select group who know our secret and you are welcome back any time.
Thank you for enjoying and looking after our beach house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
John
Lynne & I are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Safe House. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review and for looking after our 'quirky' little place.
You are welcome to visit again anytime.
Thanks again!
With warmest wishes
Paul & Lynne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tyronem1
lpndon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for two nights yes it's peaceful but the views are not so great looking over mud slats. The accommodation is clean but very old and definitely not worth the price charged. We have since found another place better views, more modern accommodation and better priced.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X8778PPca...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking...Amazaing....Magical....Peaceful”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Perfect for myself, my husband and our 8 year old daughters....the chalet is so clean, comfortable, warm, well furnished and the kitchen is well stocked. Totally uninterrupted views from all angles...and never the same view twice! We loved exploring the beach and immediate local area as well as relaxing on the deck. Would highly recommend if.. like us, you enjoy peace, quiet and tranquillity, total "together" time, relaxing and unwinding without the everyday hustle and bustle of life. We wish we had found this little gem before now! Will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eeverything!
Liked least: Leaving to come home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that your experience at the Safehouse was perfect for you and we would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing