We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Yellow Cabin

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Gingerland, Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
C_UK2013
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time at the cabin. The place is located in a quiet area surrounded by nature. The house has everything you need to stay. Excellent getaway point if you want to climb the mountain but also close to the nice white sand beaches of Nevis
You will need a car to get around but Tazel the homeowner will take care of everything

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria P
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our new home away from home!”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We had the best experience from the moment we were picked up by Striker in our rental car..shortly after we met Tazel and mentioned to her we had just gotten engaged and wanted to get married on the island on Sunday...(We arrived Thursday to the cabin). Tazel without hesitation took us under her wing and became our Wedding Planner. FIrst we checked into the Cabin and we were so impressed with the location...lots of donkeys,monkeys,goats making it for an interesting backdrop along with Nevis Peak ..What an amazing view...The house had everything and more of what you would need to make your stay relaxing and stress free. The back porch is where we spent many mornings and dinners...Tazel thought of everything...welcome basket-beers,sodas and wine in fridge upon arrival....Plenty of towels in the bathroom and the bedroom is so quaint and romantic with the mosquito net. We cooked a few times and used the grill as well , but there are many local eateries within walking or driving distance....This place is a great way to feel the local flavor of the island ..In addition to loving every aspect of the cabin...Tazel pulled off a dream wedding for us in 2.5 days...I could not believe it! One of the best parts was the long distance calls included..I was able to share the news of my engagement and marriage with my family.We arrived engaged to the cabin and left married....it would not have happened without Tazel and Striker. We miss them and the cabin so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medusa34
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nevis Nice!”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The previous reviews say it all. We spent two weeks on Nevis, staying here. Its location, a few hundred yards from Hanley's Road, down a track in leafy countryside is ideal if you wish to get away from it all, with no near neighbours. Yet you are within a short walk of the main road where on the corner you can get delicious BBQ chicken and pork, ice-cream and bakery. A big supermarket is a couple of minutes to the right. The view from the front, of Nevis Peak is magical, and from the back porch you can watch the sunrise over the sea. Colourful flowering plants in the garden are visited constantly by the hummingbird and butterflies. The cabin is very comfortable, it lacks for nothing. I don't think I have stayed anywhere before where absolutely everything has been thought of! The sitting lounge is nice for relaxing and the little kitchen has all that a cook needs! The availability of speedy Wifi is an enormous plus.
We made several trips to other islands, and each time we returned it felt like coming home.

Tazel is very kind and helpful and makes sure that your stay at the Yellow Cabin is a happy time. We hope to return.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are happy you had a great time and that the Yellow Cabin met all you needs. We look forward to you visiting us again in the future. All the Best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect escape location”
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Nevis and Yellow Cabin was a perfect escape for us. The Yellow Cabin is in a nice quiet location with donkeys, goats, and monkeys surrounding it. We drank coffee on the back patio every morning watching the animals roam about the area. The cabin is a great size for two people with a little kitchen so you don't have to go out for every meal. However, Nevis has some superb restaurants (pricey though) but one of our favorites is a little snackette at the corner of Hanley's Rd, walking distance from the cabin, called the Ginger Snap, with home cooking done by Laverne. Her food is splendid, the price can't be beat on the island, and there are great characters who frequent the place to talk to. The Yellow Cabin is an easy drive to Charleston, making a rental car required if you are staying there. The owners of the cabin also own Strikers car rental, which we rented from. We were picked up at the airport by Tazel, who drove us to the cabin, where our car was waiting. She showed us around the cabin, answered any questions we had, and checked up on us, making us feel really welcome. Tazel also recommended some good hikes for us. Overall, she made our rentals hassle free and stress free, exactly what two tired people needed to start relaxing on their vacation. The cabin overall was clean and comfortable, making it a perfect escape for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Back porch
Liked least: Chairs in the back porch could be more comfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northtoso...
kent uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect!”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Words cannot describe the wonderful time both myself and my partner had when we stayed at the cabin, we were there for ten days and we were both so sad to leave it and Nevis sigh.
It is literally a home from home and has everything you need to do self catering with a cooker and microwave. Full range of pots and pans although I meant to say to the fab TAZEL who looked after us so well that you need to be a tall person to easily access them! There is simply everything from a full range of cutlery and frying pans to a casserole dish. One word of advise, look in the cupboards before you go shopping to check what is already in stock. We bought some tin foil and there was already two lots of it in a cupboard! The whole of the cabin has mozzy screening! a fan and air conditioning in the bedroom which has a really comfy bed and a rather romantic mozzy net all round which gave a four poster bed feel to it.... so romantic! The veranda is where we spent our evenings when at home, turn the lights off and watch the fire flies flitting around ! The monkeys arrive usually between 7.45 to 8.15 a.m. they are noisey, destructive but sooooooo cute! you will love them, and they often sat on the front porch rails or jumped onto the roof of the cabin. We saw lots of wild donkeys so you have to keep the gates closed otherwise they and the roaming wild goats will eat away the incredibly beautiful garden. The lizards and butterflies come in all sizes and colours. I digress... back to the cabin. Photos on line do not it justice. The inside is a lot bigger than it looks on the outside. Largish lounge area, kitchen small but as mentioned fully fuctional. Shower has lots of lovely hot water. Plenty of towels supplied and our bed linen was also changed during our stay. Tazel and Mr Striker are both lovely, helpful and the hire car we had from them was great for travelling along the tiny rutted roads which are all the same when off the main road. Look out for goats, donkeys and the occasional pig darting across the road! We had cold drinks and fruit left for us. The supermarket, Best Buy is only a five mins drive away on the main road. We ate at Bananas and at the Botanical Gardens and at the Chinese in Charlestown at lunch times. and The Hermitage and Mango s next to the fourseasons for Dinner. Everywhere we ate at was fanatastic but the Mango had the edge for where is it situated. Try and book a table by the front overlooking the sea and where the lights shine out, the latter of which attacts Barracudas which chases fish also caught in the gaze of the lights.... flying fish competing for sheer attention with the flitting fireflies. Nevis a fantastically lush green island to holiday in and the The Yellow Cabin is the ideal base for visiting everywhere. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every thing!
Liked least: The ants ... trod on a nest of them in the garden. Ouch!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Thank you for such a generous review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We absolutely loved having both of you and look forward to you visiting us again. We tried to ensure that everything was perfect for your stay and from your review it seems like it was. All the best to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$80
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing