We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (732)
Filter reviews
732 results
Traveller rating
436
228
54
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
228
54
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french polynesia polynesian culture large bungalow fish beautiful property authentic experience modern amenities spent two nights non touristy nice pool mini fridge outrigger canoe grocery store three nights lunch and dinner buffet breakfast first stop
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 732 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We stayed three nights in this property ,on arrival we were surprised that this hotel is only 3star as the first impression is very good however at the end of our stay it was obvious why it’s only 3star. The check in is efficient. But there is not a baggage service ,it’s up to the guest to find the bungalow and transfer luggage , the bungalows are however superb ,our s (109) was very spacious with a large patio overlooking the river both are appointed in a very attractive Tahitian style . The room has a large comfortable bed with medium quantity thread count linen ,a safe a fridge ,television which is height and angle adjustable via a remote control , a small work station and lots of storage for suitcases etc ,electrical sockets are slightly lacking for iPads phones and the like .The bathroom is equally spacious and attractive and was better than the 5star hotel we had been staying in previously , the towels and toiletries are only of average quality but the shower itself is superb with rain shower head and standup Jaquzzi .Housekeeping is standard ,the room was clean and had been well serviced on our return at the end of the day.We stayed on a half board basis , which is where things went a bit downhill , apparently the management think H/B is only two courses for dinner if you want a dessert that’s a supplementary charge as a couple who travel eight months of the year every year we’ve never encountered that restriction before , it has to be said however that the evening menu which is ala carte was excellent and the food what there was of it was very good .The breakfast however is absolutely awful it’s a buffet style as is the norm and was very limited in choice and quantity for example a small platter of fruit to supply 60 or so guests a small turine of scrambled eggs which quickly ran out and yet again a supplement charged for a very sorry looking hotplate of fish tthis in an island that is awash with fruit on every other tree and a sea full of fabulous fish , we passed on the breakfast for the rest of our stay. Service is as you would expect ,the wait staff are particularly pleasant .Externally the grounds are very attractive ,there is a small pool - they are a bit anal about towels - reception got cross when my wife exchanged a wet towel for a dry one without permission there is immediate access to the beach but entry into the ocean is not comfortable without sea shoes .in short appearances are sometimes deceptive the hotel is very attractive but the breakfast and aspects of the service are definitely only 3star

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin aryeh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

This is an excellent small hotel that is hard to fault and feels more like a 4 star than a 3 in many regards.

Bungalows are spacious with modern interiors but traditional exteriors and well designed with great bathrooms wiith walk in showets.All have a decking area with seating but those overlooking the lake also have their own sun loungers. The rooms are also well equipped with amenities such as air con, mini fridge, kettle, hairdryer and complimentary toiletries.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and you can use the guide at reception to help identify the different plants and flowers. There are also two small marae on site and an interesting little museum.

The on site restaurant is probably the best in the area and hotel guests can get good half board deals. Service throughout the hotel is excellent. For example, on requesting the use if an iron and ironing board they arrived within minutes.

We also liked the fact that this is a 'green' hotel with good energy and recycling policies and usage.

Our only criticism is of the pool / beach area which whilst functional, with plenty of seating and sunbeds, could be more attractive.

Would definitely stay here again and would rate as very good value for money for French Polynesia.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jasmine38Chichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

The Lapita Village has bags of character and makes for a wonderful place to stay in French Polynesia.

We really wanted an authentic experience on the islands, although, like many we also wanted a certain level of luxury. The problem is that a lot of the international standard resorts arrive at luxury but compromising authenticity. We've been around many of the resorts and some honestly feel like you could be in any good hotel anywhere in the world; especially if you are in your room. You could go for a local guesthouse but in this case you may not get the standard you want.

The Lapita Village is the perfect combination. There is a long and fascinating story behind its creation (which I will allow you to discover for yourself) but suffice to say that it is truly built in Polynesian style. Bungalows have been constructed with tradition in mind and do really give you the feel of being at one with tradition and nature. They've achieved this in quite a clever way without sacrificing the modern amenities you would expect from a 4 or 5 star hotel thus a level of luxury is achieved with the authenticity. Actually the hotel seems to be graded 3*, though, I think that's a nonsense as all thing considered it has the standard across all installations and services of 4* at the very least.

The bungalows are very large and spacious. Really high and impressive vaulted ceilings giving a further sense of space. The furniture is all high quality hardwood, bathroom with large marble basin and quality finishings. There's air-con if you need, though, we found the ceiling fans did the trick without need to rely on air-con.

There is a real feeling of tranquility around the resort. There's only around 30 units, all well-spaced out, lovely lush gardens, very peaceful. While the premium lake bungalows have a nice outlook from the terrace, we stayed in a premium garden bungalow and probably preferred it as you have plenty of shrubs around your terrace giving you a little more privacy. There is a nice little pool out on the front of the resort looking towards the sea and a good beach - one of the best ones on this part of Huahine.

The restaurant is absolutely excellent. Everybody has their opinion on French Polynesia prices. The hotel restaurant is not the most economical on the island but we didn't find it to be too expensive and without doubt the quality of the food and service was worth the price paid considering the other possible options. We ate one night at what is reputedly the best restaurant in the nearby Fare town, yes it was a bit less money but the quality was greatly reduced. The atmosphere, lighting and aesthetics in the restaurant are really lovely too.

We visited Huahine as part of a 4-island trip. All the islands are different and it is difficult to choose. We think Huahine is definitely worth being part of your trip as (a) it is really natural giving you a taste of 'real French Polynesia' and (b) your money goes further than on some other islands so it is very much worth it. The Lapita Village is really well-priced for what it is in the context of French Polynesia and as per what the majority of people who have reviewed the hotel seem to say, we think it won't fail to impress if you visit! We will be back!

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading to a premium room for the cost of a supplement as they are really huge and well appointed.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sg-Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

We had originally booked a different property on Huahine but after arriving, we found out they were under construction so we scrambled to find another place to stay. We rode our bikes by the Lapita Village and decided to inquire about staying there. Luckily they had a Bungalow available and quoted a very reasonable rate. We moved within a few hours and we're very glad that we did! The property is beautiful and looks like an authentic Polynesian Village. The restaurant, pool and beach area are spectacular, we loved enjoying afternoons there. The location is also great, you can walk up the beach to the town in about 10 minutes. We found the staff to be lovely and helpful and we enjoyed the historical museum off of the lobby, it was nice to learn about the history of the property, the people and the island. Huahine is a quiet, beautiful, special place and we cannot wait to visit again!

Room Tip: The deluxe lakeside Bungalows are huge and quite lovely but frankly the standard Bungalows are beautiful and quite large as well.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayTrip809689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

This resort has glimpses of being a truly special place. It’s a shame that it doesn’t quite deliver to expectations. Granted, Huahine should not be your first stop for a luxury stay in French Polynesia. The island is more of a rural boaters stop over: think Jimmy Buffet Tahitian style. The designers of this 3 Star resort did well to give the grounds the old island spirit complete with bungalows shaped like boat houses adjacent to a lake draped with water lilies....reminiscent of a Monet work. The kitchen staff also does a very nice job with lunch and dinner (breakfast buffet is average). That’s about where the elegance ends. I found the staff less than helpful (expect to carry your own bags and hope the front desk is actually manned by its single assistant when you need something) and the accommodations less than clean. Our friend’s battled wasps in their bungalow for three nights. We had a lizard in our room...which I wish would’ve dined on the bed bugs that bit my wife throughout the evening. This is a rural environment so perfection is not expected, but when I discreetly told the young lady checking us out about the bed bugs, I didn’t receive so much as a “terribly sorry.” Disappointing. A cleaner room and an AC that doesn’t sound like an aircraft reving it’s engines for takeoff would go along way to attract customers searching for an oasis in this rural paradise.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AzugaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews