We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT for romantic getaway!”
Review of Cayucos Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cayucos Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT for romantic getaway!”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

It was my birthday weekend with my husband. As for the quality of a B&B NO! The breakfast food on the 1st day was good, not great BUT day two was pre cooked beacon and jimmy dean sausage!! I don't even buy them let alone expect to be surved them at a B&B! Our top sheets had (3) rips in them. (Shame on the room keeper for putting them on) Oh don't look for those cookies every night, we only got them once. My husband and I love getting away, but will never go back here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whtlightning2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thoughtsarethings, Owner at Cayucos Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I looked up your email address and it stated that you stayed last year in October. I am again so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you did not mention your complaints to us way back then. As the owner I can assure you that I do not serve Jimmy Dean sausage and never have bought nor served it and have never personally eaten it our sausage is 100% natural and of the highest quality. As for the bacon it too is of the highest quality we do not pre-bake it I buy the bacon fresh and we do bake it in the morning at breakfast time in the oven on parchment paper as I do not like greasy bacon and have never had a guest complain that we bake it in the oven instead of frying it in a pan. I am sorry you did not like it this way. As far as the cookies go if you did not get your's delivered that would be disappointing and truly apologize for that. Our sheets our 100% Egyptian cotton and we laundry them here and also iron them and am sorry if you may have had a tear in them. My goal is for everyone to enjoy their stay here as this is my business and my goal is to please so again terribly sorry for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    33
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
234
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations! Very elegant, beautiful decor & fantastic amenities! Our suite (Paradiso) had two fireplaces, lots of room, king bed, beautiful shower & bathroom, jacuzzi tub and an oversize deck with an amazing view of the ocean. Gourmet breakfast looked more like a masterpiece! Cookies & milk in the evening were delicious, as well. The hotel is close to great restaurants, as well as Cambria, Morro Bay, The Five Cities and Paso Robles. Paradise for those who love both the ocean & wine country. Agree with the other reviews - Cayucos has it all, and you will not find a better place to stay than the Sunset Inn. We LOVED it! ~ Anya & David

Room Tip: All of the five suites are gorgeous! You can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We were very surprised at how nice the accommodations were. The room was large, very clean, and comfortable, and quiet. We had a wonderful time. The proprietor Lisa was absolutely charming and interesting to talk to. We highly recommend this Inn if you are in the Central Coast area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimc6655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Beautiful! Rooms are spotless, well decorated without over doing it, simply elegant. Very restful and relaxing. Breakfast, a 10+ for sure, presentation was almost as good as it was delicious and 5-6p Wine and Hors d'oeuvres were almost as wonderful as the company! Lisa and John are very gracious Inn Keepers and they make you feel welcomed and glad that you came. Location is perfect too, easy walk to great food and drink, plus cool shops and super antiques stores. The ocean is right there. You just can't go wrong staying here, well worth every penny! We will be back! Petra & Ron

Room Tip: All the suites are Ocean view, only one small room downstairs without a view or patio. We have also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm desert, ca
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is a true find on the central coast. Forget Cambria,
Cayucos has it all, and you will not find a better place to stay than the Sunset Inn.
Truly first class.

Room Tip: we enjoy the sunset room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talltreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.3 km away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
9.7 km away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
627 reviews
29.0 km away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
862 reviews
9.6 km away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
457 reviews
0.2 km away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Sunset Inn

Property: Cayucos Sunset Inn
Address: 95 S Ocean Ave, PO Box 151, Cayucos, CA 93430-1647
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Cayucos Sunset Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cayucos Sunset Inn is a welcoming, open building trimmed with beautiful flowers and hedges. We have a shaded patio in front for the guests to relax in. The patio opens to our quaint dinning area where we serve a free breakfast and hold a complementary wine and cheese hour. Our five rooms vary in size. Four are located upstairs with ocean view patios. The rooms open to a living room area with a television, electric fire place, and couch in the front. Through the small hall, the bedrooms have luxurious king size beds, additional electric fire places, and small refrigerators. Each of these four rooms have jacuzzi tubs and rain shower heads. We have a smaller downstairs room we offer as well. We are located in a small throwback beach town. Our building is about a block from the beach with ocean views up top. The Inn is located on the main road up from Cayucos's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cayucos Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Sunset Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing