We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caspar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jughandle Creek Farm and Nature Center
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We had a terrible stay in this place.
We were explained that we have to leave all the doors and lights open (no intimacy!!!) and then when a big group arrived, they were all over the place and we just didn't know where to be to find a little peace and calm.
What really bothered us is that we were not said it often happens that big groups book the place. So you SHOULDN'T go to this place if you want to spend a quiet or peaceful or relaxing time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank colocalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
There are newer reviews for Jughandle Creek Farm and Nature Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2010

we chanced upon this place and only spent one night there _ we were road tripping from seattle to berkeley _ but it was amazing. from the fresh lettuce and strawberries we picked ourselves in the garden to the wood burning fireplace to the piano in the living room, it was a really special experience. we had this huge old house to ourselves because the tourist season was winding down. it was incredible to pay less than 100 for the three of us and have the run of a beautiful massive old farm house. after a supremely restful night we got back on the road but made a stop at glass beach in fort bragg at the suggestion of our jug handle hosts. it was terrific. beautiful, majestic, fun.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

I am only a traveler, just wanting to share: If you want inexpensive lodging (around $40 per person/nite, kids much less) with cooking facilities in a historic farmhouse or cabin in view of the ocean (and a 5-minute walk away), this is the perfect place. Lodging includes the 2-story farmhouse, or separate cabins. Wood-burning stoves are the only heat (dress warm), but the showers are hot (in the main building only). There is even a simple campground. It's all a step above a hostel, as you have your own room. The kitchen has seen many big dinners and gourmet meals produced by visitors. As a single traveler, I've been invited to some delicious meals.

The Jughandle Creek Nature Center -- the reason this place exists -- hosts many kids learning about our environment, and how to preserve it. This is a gem on the Northern California Coast. I've volunteered to work around the place (even did repairs on an old barn), and that in itself was very enjoyable -- they even deduct a small amount from the cost of your lodging, but that, I think, should be kindly refused. They are non-profit, and every dime helps them to keep this wonderful place going. I've met many interesting people here, including many from other countries. And if you are staying for more than a couple of nites, you'll meet more people who arrive later. They have only a pay phone, no internet, no TV. Thank goodness. Their website is simple, but has rates & info www.jughandlecreek.org.

Of course, there is an abundance of sea life and animals (deer, turkeys, squirrels, etc.), redwoods, beaches, hiking trails and backroads (with friendly horses or farm animals) along this vast coastline; the city of Fort Bragg has supermarkets, movie theatres and excellent medical facilities, and the world-famous Botanical Gardens, along with the historic Skunk Train, that takes visitors by rail thru beautiful second-growth redwood forests. The old Point Cabrillo Lighthouse - restored beautifully - is nearby. Not to mention all the incredible State Parks (safe for now 7/09).

This is historic redwoods logging and salmon fishing country. You won't find all the 'big city' attractions or outlets, but there are plenty of art galleries and other specialty shops to browse in, along with some fantastic restaurants. And at the same time you might go to a Saturday breakfast at the VFW Hall or one of the churches, and get stuffed for 5 bucks.

And you'll enjoy the locals as much as they enjoy you. Don't be afraid to strike-up a conversation here. You'll likely go away with another warm memory. Wow! You'd think I'm crazy about this place!

Greg Bishop, California Native - Rossmoor, (Southern) California

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank konabish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Jug Handle Farm is located perfectly for exploring both Fort Bragg and Mendocino, nearly half way between them both.

The Farm is really a step up from hostel accommodation and reminds me more of European pension style accommodation. There are camping spaces available, a large room that sleeps 7-8 I believe, and then a selection of rooms that have either double or twin beds.


The farm house itself is beautiful, it's like walking into a little bit of history. You have use of a full kitchen with all the pots, pans and crockery you could possibly need. There's also a large drawing room area, a library and obviously you have your own room. You share the ground floor shower room and toilets. When I was there the house was not busy but if it's full be prepared to wait a few minutes for these facilities!

The managers ask that you bring a sleeping blanket or blanket with you for warmth as the historical building is not centrally heated. They provide sheets and towels and just ask that guests sweep their rooms when they leave. Hardly a tough chore!

The managers are so welcoming and go out of their way to ensure you have the information you need to enjoy your stay. The Farm's main function is as a nature education center and so there are full recycling facilities, composting and wonderful grounds. A major plus is the short and easy trail down to the beach.

There are no televisions, no computers, no internet access. There is a pay phone - cell phone reception was non existent for me. All of which was great for me but may not be to everyone's taste.

At a rate of $35 for the double room I had to myself, with all the facilities and the magical surroundings this is really the best bargain I have come across on the West Coast. Best of all, the money raised from accommodating travellers goes towards the nature project.

Just wonderful and I hope to be back sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank kttravel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caspar
7.0 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
10.4 km away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
5.4 km away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
6.2 km away
Surf Motel and Gardens
Surf Motel and Gardens
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
760 reviews
2.7 km away
Pine Beach Inn
Pine Beach Inn
#11 of 11 in Fort Bragg
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jughandle Creek Farm and Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jughandle Creek Farm and Nature Center

Address: P.O.Box 17, Caspar, CA 95420
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Caspar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Caspar
Price Range: €18 - €30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Jughandle Creek Farm And Nature Hotel Caspar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing